We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Heversham Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Heversham Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 57: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A group of us stayed here while we went to a 50th birthday party in a barn nearby. When we returned in the small hours there was a power cut, so some rooms were without electricity and there was no running water at all. In the morning no one could have a shower and to flush a toilet you had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rebecca W
bolton
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Having been The Old Blue Bell its absolutely wonderful to see the place back to its wonderful glory. No expense has been spared on the building . The new managers are very nice people indeed and trying to find there feet .They are always polite and kind and have gone out of there way to be helpful.I think people should...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janbolton5
Lancaster
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Called in for a drink and to look at the renovation. A warm welcoming log fire. Very impressed with modernisation. It was nice to some of the original features had been kept. Even though there appeared to be a shortage of staff they coped well. Decided the following day to call in for Sunday lunch. Food was well worth the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo002
Leeds, England
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Have been staying with good friends this weekend, and although we had passed by on opening evening and got to have a good look round, we decided to sample the menu this evening, good pub food at a very reasonable price, very pleasant, chatty landlady and excellent surroundings! Well done on the refurbishment, particularly like the glass topped well, makes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evonoula
Management response:

Thank you so much for the review, your efforts and very kind supportive words are greatly appreciated at this time. Hope we do see you again soon.

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having frequented the Blue Bell (the Haversham Hotel's previous name) for many years I was really impressed with the renovation etc but dissapointed with the level of service offered by the new managers. I stood at the bar for TEN minutes on a Saturday night awaiting service but the landlord was involved in a conversation with a customer and made...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Ken S
Beetham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited The then as it was know ' The Blue Bell ' at Heversham every Saturday evening for dinner , The place needed doing up but the food ,the staff,the price, was good . Then the placed closed for renovations . So when it reopened we were looking forward to our first visit ,' But oh dear ' what...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Fellerman
Management response:

Not sure if you a friend of the previous landlord and lady hence asking for them to come back, but most customers find, that we as new managers, are completely dedicated to the running of the Heversham. You were given a choice of where to sit cannot see why that is a problem, we are not offering a tab service...

Morecambe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for a meal .Couldnt order off the menu. Staff member came with a piece of paper with about 5 meals that we could order from. had to pay with card before we ate and there was a charge for paying with a debit card. Ordered 2 pies and thay only had 1 so had to order something else. Was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet N
Management response:

Thank you for taking time to review us but on the day you came to visit us, we were offering pies and sandwiches to customers that had not booked a table such as yourselves. We do not offer a tab service and their is a 1.58% charge implemented by the hotel. We try to give all information upfront so we...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was almost put off coming to this delightful hotel by some of the reviews. I was delighted with the warm and friendly atmosphere and staff. Whilst there was an acceptable time to wait for the food to arrive, it was worth the wait! Very reasonably priced food, well presented and tasty! All good things come to those that wait....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

Thank you for your review your kind words and support at this time is greatly appreciated. We hope many more satisfied customers like you would take the time to review us so the public get a good idea of the tremendous work put into re opening the Heversham and all concerned who have made this project possible. We hope to...

Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

,,, lots of things not good with the ' Heversham ' Blue Bell * eg ,, just one choice of red wine ! !! ? * 40 minutes for very basic food to arrive ! prices are low BUT * no bar tab available ... even when ordering food and... + i could go on Super building ,,, tastefully re...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank miichael
Management response:

Please be aware that there have already been thousands of very satisfied customers through the doors of the Heversham who are delighted with the hotel, atmosphere and all on offer here. Yes one choice of each wine, no tabs as thats our policy, many places ask for customers to pay upfront, and there can be a wait for food if...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a shock when trying to book this hotel,to be greeted by the rudest man I have ever encounted. The hotel itself looked lovely, and I gather has been refurbished recently. I booked on line, then phoned a few weeks later just to check, also inquire about food available on Sunday evening. The first call was to a lady couldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Dickie T
Management response:

If you were not competent to complete a booking online, please do not take it out on the manager calling him the rudest man you have ever spoken to, when you are ringing up in the public bar when he is surrounded by customers waiting to be served, and tells you he cant help you, but will get back to...

5 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kendal hotels
4.0 km away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
416 reviews
9.9 km away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
9.8 km away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
925 reviews
7.9 km away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#6 of 15 in Kendal
610 reviews
7.5 km away
Lyth Valley Country Inn
Lyth Valley Country Inn
#7 of 15 in Kendal
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pub serving excellent quality value and value. Luxury en-suite guest accommodation located in South Lakeland. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Heversham Hotel

Address: Princes Way, Heversham | Near Milnthorpe, Kendal LA7 7EE, England (Formerly Blue Bell Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Heversham Hotel Kendal, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Heversham Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We have not stayed over so cannot comment but the rooms look very nice.”
 of 5 bubbles janbolton5, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“not sure didnt stop”
 of 5 bubbles miichael, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Can't comment on the facilities as we cancelled our booking!”
 of 5 bubbles DickieT_12, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you secure a booking before going !!!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles STM1969, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Camping in the hotel grounds would probably be the safest bet.”
 of 5 bubbles InnesT, 5 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5