We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Show Prices
#2 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,712 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,696: English reviews
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2015

This was a hotel which pretty much excelled at everything. But high on my list of plus points were the staff who were universally helpful, friendly and welcoming. The setting for the hotel is wonderful and the restaurant is well worth a visit. Food portions were perfect for us and the quality of the meal was excellent. We stayed twice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G_MacDonald_11
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with others. We hope to see you again soon Ben Mayou

Reviewed 24 August 2015

A nice hotel with large rooms, comfy beds but the showers are built for stick people. Neither myself or my husband are large people but we kept banging elbows on the shower walls, toilets on planes are larger than the shower. There were traces of mould in the shower also. No consideration is given to parking for hotel guests sometimes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Penewe
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Many thanks for your ‘Very Good’ review We do have many rooms with showers over the bath which can be requested at the booking stage. Sincere apologies for the cleanliness which has been addressed by Lorraine our Housekeeping Manager. I am pleased to report that we are in the process of replacing carpets in 36 rooms. In addition to this...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

Nice location, short taxi ride to Kendal centre (cheap as well)! Hotel is set in nice grounds with a lovely view and the beds are extremely comfortable!! Rooms aren't the biggest but nicely decorated!! Staff helpful, recommended a nice Italian called Paulo giannis(again worth a visit) Worth a stay if your in or around Kendal

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Solomon23
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are ideally placed as a base from which to explore the Lakes or for a night out in Kendal. Ben Mayou

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed over due to a friends wedding. I have stayed in the hotel before some years ago and to be honest I want really looking forward to it. We arrived quite early and we were able to check straight in. This was a bonus. The room was a standard size double but the quality of the finish was absolutely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank J80tdb
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

What a fantastic review! We certain strive for perfection but it is not easy to achieve with so many factors involved in a hotel operation! Without a doubt it is the fantastic team here at the hotel who are all passionate about the guest experience which make it all possible. I would highly recommend our 2 AA Rosette Greenhouse Restaurant...

Buckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2015

Arrived here last Saturday evening, 15th August . Parking was not possible near the hotel as there was a wedding function on but this was to be expected and we were soon able to find a parking space down near the entrance from the road. Reception were fabulous! Warm greeting and so helpful - clearly an accomplished employee and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kardu499484
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive assessment of the hotel and service at breakfast. We are very proud of our breakfast offering and it is great for the teams efforts to be recognised. I have tried to contact you to discuss your experience in Alexanders as I am keen to gain a more in depth understanding of the events which occurred...

Immingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2015

Really great stay = beds are comfy...and cant complain but we thought it was overpriced for a midweek double room....spent £42 on breakfast in addition to the circa 100 per night charge for what in reality is a very small room with a shower and a king size bed there is hardly room to walk around. We had a superior...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marceezee
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. August is a very busy month with the hotel being full every single day and our prices are competitive with the other four star hotels in the area. The £42 charge for breakfast would have been for four breakfasts (2 per day) and would have made the rate per night approximately £121 bed and breakfast....

Deddington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed two nights Monday to Wednesday. Overall we had a wonderful stay, the room was nice and the staff couldn't of done more for you! We ate in the restaurant first night, it was delicious although would say little bit expensive. There was only one thing I was slightly disappointed with and that was the swimming pool as I'm a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank haybish
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our 2 AA Rosette award winning Restaurant offers a daily changing three course menu for £28 with individually priced dishes for those just looking for one or two courses. I have passed your feedback regarding the pool to the Leisure Club team to investigate. It was pleasing to note that overall you enjoyed your stay...

Solihull, England
Reviewed 21 August 2015

Stayed here a few years ago on business but had an occasion to return for a few days holiday with friends. It was nice last time but since they have upped their game and had a refurb which is superb and the staff so friendly,and efficient it made our stay really nice. Breakfast is buffet style with a good selection...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Farthings
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

We are committed to continuously improving how we operate (which without realising can sometimes become all consuming!) It is therefore very rewarding to read that the positive changes and hard work are so apparent to a returning guest. Ben Mayou

Reviewed 21 August 2015 via mobile

We had not booked, but were offered a Dinner, Bed no Breakfast package. The room was functional, clean and the facilities satisfactory. At check-in, we were told that the hotel was very busy, but we could eat either in the Restaurant or in the Pub, which was a short walk away. The Receptionist did not offer to book us a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John F
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Please accept my sincere apologies that you were not advised to make a table reservation at check in. This is standard practice and as such this has been addressed with the individual concerned. The whole team take customer service very seriously which is apparent in the vast majority of reviews. We all make mistakes and please rest assured lessons have...

Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2015 via mobile

Discovered this hotel by chance on a recent visit to the Lake District. Very good facilities including a well equipped leisure centre and pool. Very clean throughout. Lovely breakfast. Great setting with well maintained gardens and ample parking. Staff were friendly and helpful. Will stay again when we return to the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip5B
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive comments. Remember to book directly next time you are planning to stay with us. You will be guaranteed the best available rates and also a choice of a complimentary newspaper, a £5 dining credit or 500 Best Western Reward points! Ben Mayou

476 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (187)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (70)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (254)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Balcony Room (30)
Viewed
Family Room (34)
Viewed
Indoor Swimming Pool (7)
Viewed
Luxury Executive Room (36)
Viewed
Luxury Executive Room with Garden View (42)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Standard Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.8 km away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
980 reviews
8.9 km away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
462 reviews
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
14.5 km away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,236 reviews
36.8 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Price Range: $161 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Garden view rooms”
barryw69, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get written proof of everything or you will be dissapointed, you may very well still even with that.”
545leet, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room at the front with views over the castle”
marcyNorthYorkshire, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stayed in room 143 lovely size and facilities”
  • Lovely room flooded with light
3nglish, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms are a fair walk with no lift access, so check with reception when booking if that would be a problem for you.”
paal48, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5