We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Travellers Rest Inn

LateRooms.comUSD 116*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Travellers Rest Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

437 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 434: English reviews
Start your review of The Travellers Rest Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Try the food , especially the steak and kidney pudding,all home made ,I had the home made burger with all the trimmings it was a good plate full beautifully cooked as was the wife's steak and kidney pudding, nice friendly staff good selection of local ale we would definitely recommend you try it 😊

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
Alicja Z, Manager at The Travellers Rest Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for this lovely review Andy. We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your meals at our Inn, your kind comments are much appreciated! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in the area and we look forward to seeing you again :)

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Four of us had Lunch. We all had either a ploughmans or meat platter. Food was really fresh and tasted wonderful. Good size portions and good value. Three types of cheese, half a pork pie, bread, pickle,plcalilly,mini scotch egg, thick cut ham and a salad. On the meat platter the sausage and terrine were particularly good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stanley066
Alicja Z, Manager at The Travellers Rest Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for this fab review! We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us, thank you for your kind comments :) We hope the rest of your day was just as good and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had 2 starters instead of a main. Home made tomato soup served with crusty bread. It was full of flavour. Followed by lime infused squid and prawns. The sea food had a wonderful thin and crispy batter? The service was excellent - friendly and professional. Overall an enjoyable experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anne3212015
Alicja Z, Manager at The Travellers Rest Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review Anna! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your meals and friendly service at our Inn and we look forward to your next visit :)

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just back from a 2 night stay at this wonderful inn. Superb location, walking distance to Grasmere. Awesome restaurant and food and the friendliest and easy going staff ever. Rooms are very newly refurbished. Very clean. Great views over the fells. Really lovely place. Will definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tinyevil
Alicja Z, Manager at The Travellers Rest Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for this great review! It's so nice to read your lovely comments on our staff and service, we're really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! Our rooms have been refurbished last month, thank you for your feedback :) We hope the rest of your stay in the area was just as good and we certainly...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Uncooked vegetables, cold food, meat so dry. Watery gravy. Terrible. And so expensive! Apple sauce with no taste. Had better roast for a fiver. Ruined our day really. Super fatty beef. Waited long for service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sabina N
Alicja Z, Manager at The Travellers Rest Inn, responded to this review

Hello Sabina, I'm so sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your meals at our Inn. I'm surprised you didn't mention anything to us at the time, we would have done everything we could to rectify any issues for you on the spot. If you'd like to speak to us about your experience, please contact me on 017687 73331 or drop...

Warminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I spent a week staying here on holiday to The Lakes. It was our fourth visit - the first in 1969 for our honeymoon. Lovely Inn with superb staff who made us feel so welcome. They were helpful, very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Rooms recently refurbished but "olde worlde" feel still retained. Room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
Switzerland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just down the road from our hostel, we at dinner here every evening for 4 nights, and we were never disappointed. We were a group of 14; each evening they served us quickly and always with a smile. The staff were delightful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jimpulcrano
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Called in for lunch after a morning walking. The place it's self is very nice and the staff are all pleasant however the food is horrendous, over cooked and over priced. How can you mess up a Sunday roast, well this place managed to do just that. If you want a quick pint after a walk call in but if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin V
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great Inn. This place serves great food in the traditional and cosy Inn. Upstairs the rooms are brand new. Clean, comfy. Would stay again. The road it is situated on does get very busy, so not the quietest place to stay in lakes. However this just meant we were closer to all places we wanted to visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dottytheadventurer
Alicja Z, Manager at The Travellers Rest Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for this fab review! We are so happy to get such positive feedback on our newly refurbished rooms, we're glad to hear you enjoyed the comfy beds and new decor. Thank you for your lovely comments on our food and service, we hope the rest of your stay in the Lakes was just as good and...

Reviewed 20 April 2017

We had lunch here last week - we ordered two sandwiches both came with dry stale bread, the tables were sticky and dirty sauces and cutlery was sent out to us - I would love to have had the chance to tell someone taht we were not happy but no one cared to ask or take notice of me when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
Alicja Z, Manager at The Travellers Rest Inn, responded to this review

Hello Sarah, I'm so sorry to hear about your poor experience at our Inn! This is certainly not how we want our guests to feel. As you can see we rarely get bad reviews and we really appreciate all the feedback we get. I can assure you we do care a lot and we are really disappointed to see that...

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
1.4 km away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,404 reviews
0.8 km away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,140 reviews
1.5 km away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.7 km away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
637 reviews
9.0 km away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#84 of 175 in Keswick
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located at the foot fo Helvellyn on the outskirts of the picturesque village fo Grasmere, The 16th century Travellers Rest Inn enjoys an idyllic setting in the heart of the Lake District National Park. The Travellers Rest offers an award winning restaurant with an extensive range of dished created from the finest local produce, a traditional bar lounge and delightful en-suite bedrooms with views of the surrounding fells. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Travellers Rest Inn

Address: Dunmail Raise, Grasmere LA22 9RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Price Range: $153 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Travellers Rest Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Travellers Rest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Travellers Rest Hotel Grasmere
Travellers Rest Grasmere
The Travellers Rest Inn Grasmere, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Travellers Rest Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Stockport, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Travellers Rest Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the front have marginally better view.”
Y3949CRdavec, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Corner Room 2 is at the front of the hotel and has a great view of Helm Crag.”
  • View of Helm Crag
Seasider50, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All being renovated.”
SimonD879, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I would recommend a room by the back as the views are lovely!”
  • Simply but effective! Our lovely room
  • View from the window
  • Our modern bathroom with light up mirror
  • Wardrobe and drawer space
lilimackintosh, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Back room over looking the fields as front rooms you may have traffic noise”
clairenew5, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
LateRooms.com
USD 116* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates