We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
24/12/2017 25/12/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Six Castlegate

    6 Castlegate, Cockermouth CA13 9EU, England
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    24/12/2017 25/12/2017
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Traveller (11)
    Room & Suite (12)
    Dining (3)
    Overview
    • Excellent95%
    • Very good5%
    • Average0%
    • Poor0%
    • Terrible0%
    Travellers talk about
    “leisure centre” (19 reviews)
    “b b” (83 reviews)
    “fresh fruit” (16 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Pool
    Restaurant
    Room Service
    Suites
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a ReviewReviews (197)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 196 reviews

    Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

    We arrived this weekend and were greeted by Sam and Matt and the welcome was amazing, they provide attention to detail in the rooms with chocolate touches and water. The superior room bed if I could I would of taken it home with me.... very...More

    Thank Kate J
    Reviewed 2 October 2017

    Excellent! Excellent! From the warm welcome, the comfortable bed to the first class breakfast. Sam and Matt are perfect hosts. The room had everything that we needed, with extra touches such as water and chocolates. The breakfast uses local ingredients, which shows. There is free...More

    Thank Englishpinkrose
    Reviewed 2 September 2017

    We were lucky enough to be able to return to Six Castlegate on our recent trip to northern England. I love the Georgian exterior, the entry hall with the stained glass window in the door and the high ceilinged dining room. We had loved it...More

    Thank SusanS_11
    Reviewed 31 August 2017

    Our second visit, Really lovely accommodation everything you need for a perfect stay including radox in the bathroom much needed after a long walk!! Matt and Sam are the perfect hosts and recommended some great places to eat. Georgeous breakfast which set us up for...More

    Thank jtierneyj4
    Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

    Cannot fault a single thing at 6 Castlegate. Stayed here two nights and so glad I chose this B and B. Owners are welcoming and delightful. Fantastic, tasty breakfast with local produce. Comfortable room with quality bed. I slept really well. Most definitely would come...More

    Thank Ann T
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Details
    • Price range
    • USD 111 - USD 120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 6
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Six Castlegate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Cumbria >
    • Lake District >
    • Cockermouth
    • Also Known As
    • Six Castlegate Cockermouth, England
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (11)
    Room & Suite (12)
    Dining (3)
    Hotel & Grounds (22)
    Bathroom (2)
    Nearby
    Nearby HotelsSee all 9 hotels in Cockermouth
    The Allerdale Court Hotel
    308 reviews
    .04 km away
     
    The Trout Hotel
    707 reviews
    .50 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Wild Zucchinis Bistro
    400 reviews
    .27 km away
    Honest Lawyer
    416 reviews
    .10 km away
    The Moon & Sixpence Coffeehouse
    81 reviews
    .22 km away
    Quince & Medlar
    257 reviews
    .03 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    J.B.Banks and Son Ltd
    144 reviews
    .03 km away
    Wordsworth House and Garden
    352 reviews
    .45 km away
    Jennings Brewery
    176 reviews
    .13 km away
    Cockermouth History Wall
    23 reviews
    .29 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Ann T
    25 August 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from Hashtagski | Property representative |
    Hi Ann, I've replied to you via booking. Best wishes, Samantha.
    0
    Votes
    RandSHowell
    10 July 2016|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from Hashtagski | Property representative |
    Hi, parking is at Cockermouth Leisure Centre, about 50m away from us. We provide you with a pass for your windscreen and you can park there free of charge for the duration of your stay. Best wishes.
    2
    Votes
    Jean R
    16 January 2016|
    Answer
    Response from Hashtagski | Property representative |
    Hi Jean, huge apologies for the delay in responding to your enquiry. We do indeed have a single room, the price is £55/night including breakfast. We also offer single occupancy of a double room for £60/night including... More
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "We love the king-sized bed room, Blencathra, and stayed in it both our visits."
    Read review
    "Book early to avoid disappointment"
    Read review
    "Book early"
    Read review
    "We were very comfortable in Melbreak on the first floor, good bathroom, quiet and very spacious."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing