We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all B&B in Cockermouth

Six Castlegate

198 reviews
Save
Traveller (11)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (3)
Overview
  • Excellent95%
  • Very good5%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“leisure centre”(19 reviews)
“b b”(83 reviews)
“fresh fruit”(16 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pool
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (198)Write a Review
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
187
10
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
187
10
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure centreb bfresh fruitgeorgian housefree parking passbiscuits and bottled waterquince medlarfirst ratelovely accommodationbrilliant breakfastfew minutes walkdelightful townquicheset us up for the daylovely bedroomstay longerperfect hosts
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My colleague and I were greeted by Matt on arrival a dark and cold night - we had booked an overnight stay to be on time for a business meeting the morning after. Matt was very welcoming, and the rooms were spacious, clean, warm and...More

Thank tagwiskay
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

We arrived this weekend and were greeted by Sam and Matt and the welcome was amazing, they provide attention to detail in the rooms with chocolate touches and water. The superior room bed if I could I would of taken it home with me.... very...More

Thank Kate J
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Excellent! Excellent! From the warm welcome, the comfortable bed to the first class breakfast. Sam and Matt are perfect hosts. The room had everything that we needed, with extra touches such as water and chocolates. The breakfast uses local ingredients, which shows. There is free...More

Thank Englishpinkrose
Reviewed 2 September 2017

We were lucky enough to be able to return to Six Castlegate on our recent trip to northern England. I love the Georgian exterior, the entry hall with the stained glass window in the door and the high ceilinged dining room. We had loved it...More

Thank SusanS_11
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Our second visit, Really lovely accommodation everything you need for a perfect stay including radox in the bathroom much needed after a long walk!! Matt and Sam are the perfect hosts and recommended some great places to eat. Georgeous breakfast which set us up for...More

Thank jtierneyj4
View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345640
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Details
Price range
USD 119 - USD 123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 119 - USD 123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (11)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (3)
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Bathroom (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ann T
25 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Hashtagski | Property representative |
Hi Ann, I've replied to you via booking. Best wishes, Samantha.
0
Votes
RandSHowell
10 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Hashtagski | Property representative |
Hi, parking is at Cockermouth Leisure Centre, about 50m away from us. We provide you with a pass for your windscreen and you can park there free of charge for the duration of your stay. Best wishes.
2
Votes
Jean R
16 January 2016|
Answer
Response from Hashtagski | Property representative |
Hi Jean, huge apologies for the delay in responding to your enquiry. We do indeed have a single room, the price is £55/night including breakfast. We also offer single occupancy of a double room for £60/night including... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"We love the king-sized bed room, Blencathra, and stayed in it both our visits."
Read review
"Book early to avoid disappointment"
Read review
"Book early"
Read review
"We were very comfortable in Melbreak on the first floor, good bathroom, quiet and very spacious."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite