We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Skelwith Fold Caravan Park

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Skelwith Fold Caravan Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 105: English reviews
Start your review of Skelwith Fold Caravan Park
 Click to rate
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just got back from 3 nights at Skelwith Fold with our touring caravan . On arrival the reception staff where very helpful and booked us in no time at all , they spent time explaining the different pitches etc then off you go to choose the pitch you fancy. The whole site was very clean and tidy and toilet block...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brian R
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from 4 nights on a "super" pitch. What a joy, such beautiful surroundings,and the approach through the beech , oak and bluebell woods was stunning. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the toilet blocks were immaculate at all times. We have caravanned in the Lakes many times but this was probably our best experience. We will return...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dickenvicken
barrow-in-furness
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just spent 2 lovely nights parked here in our motorhome The staff are helpful & friendly , over the phone & at reception /shop The grounds are kept to an excellent standard , tidy , clean colourful The woods nearby were in full bloom of bluebells , we saw deer there both days ! The kiddies play area ( empty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sistercath
SkelwithStaff, Front Office Manager at Skelwith Fold Caravan Park, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We're glad you particularly enjoyed all of the natural colour that can be enjoyed when we're in full bloom. To address your last two points in turn; Wifi around the park is not without it's frustrations for us as it is, as you observed, operated by an external third party company. Due...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Skelwith with our RV. And the staff could not have been more helpful or welcoming. A jewel of the lakeside area of Windermere, with every area of the park tended to with attention to detail. After speaking with other visitors on the park it was clear many people return time and again. So will we. We cannot recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oliver I
SkelwithStaff, Front Office Manager at Skelwith Fold Caravan Park, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are always happy to accommodate RV's such as yours. I think it's the first time we've had three RV's on the park at once though. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you back any time. Kind regards,

Scotland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We only stayed here for a single night heading home from Nottinghamshire to Perthshire, but wished we'd had longer. Site is large, but very well laid out and the facilities excellent and clean. Arrived late and in the dark, but were greeted outside reception and given a torch with a poop bag holder for our dog - nice touch. Didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked a 3 night stay here with my family as a surprise birthday for my mum! Site was beautiful and clean and no noise from screaming children despite being school holidays. We were on a premium site and had running water for our caravan. Well worth it. There's no designated dog walks but several paths around the edges of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sammie B
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just enjoyed a wonderful 5 night stay at Skelwith. As soon as we drove away from check-in, we both agreed that this is "how to run a camp site!" Thoroughly impressed with both the facilities and friendliness of staff. Website is easy to use and fuss free when paying online - We unfortunately had to cut short our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Francesca L
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Looked great in the pics, but when we got there they were very small pitches for touring caravans with an awning. No defined spaces between pitches for the majority, would not return. A real shame. Unfortunately trip advisor criteria of cleanliness, location and service means that you don't see the negatives of this site. Cleanliness was great, but there were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MariaWiltshire
SkelwithStaff, Front Office Manager at Skelwith Fold Caravan Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm very sorry and also concerned that you had issues with the space around you. I can't quite fathom the suggestion that the pitches were not clearly defined (we have very clear pitch markers) or from your picture whereabouts you were pitched? Our standard pitches are spaced out 9 metres and our premiums 10 metres...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2017

We were on a nine night tour of the Lake District and this was by far the most expensive site (£33.70 per night for VW Camper with two adults). All other sites were £19 to £23. We had to pay a deposit on the first phone call, then we had to pay the balance one week before arrival... all a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerry M
SkelwithStaff, Front Office Manager at Skelwith Fold Caravan Park, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback and review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay. To address your point about payment prior to arrival, this is something we only exercise during high season (by the way, the pitch would have been £26.60 outside of school holidays) to speed up the booking-in process. The last thing we want is a...

Reviewed 6 April 2017

Great site, now the kids are grown hubby and me get to do lots more walking and the walk into ambleside is lovely, loads of places to eat and drink. The walk from ambleside through troutbeck stopping in the mortal man great cider and food and then back to ambleside is beautiful. Back again soon

 Report
Helpful?
Thank phil b

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
2.1 km away
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ambleside
363 reviews
2.6 km away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
5.6 km away
Grand at Grasmere
Grand at Grasmere
#4 of 14 in Grasmere
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,645 reviews
1.7 km away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,178 reviews
1.6 km away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 23 in Ambleside
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Skelwith Fold is a unique and special touring caravan and motorhome holiday park - and a beautiful home-from-home for our guests. In the heart of the Lake District National Park we have 300 privately owned static caravan holiday homes. For touring and motorhome holidays we offer the highest of standards and facilities as one of the finest touring caravan and motorhome parks in the Lake District. For those wanting a unique couples getaway, our Hideaways provide the perfect retreat for a few days. But we're more than a caravan park; Our 130 acres are begging to be explored. There are plenty of paths to follow, leading to a wealth of discoveries, including our mystical tarn, sculptures and breathtaking views of the Langdale Pikes and surrounding fells. Although Skelwith Fold houses over 400 pitches it has the feel of a much smaller park - the various accommodation areas have been carefully and sympathetically set out in small woodland glades, settled amongst natural undulating features, creating a sense of quiet and intimacy. Even in the height of the season, the park does not have a crowded feel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Skelwith Fold Caravan Park

Address: B5286 Hawkshead Road, Ambleside LA22 0HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Number of rooms: 130
Also Known As:
Skelwith Fold Caravan Park Ambleside, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Skelwith Fold Caravan Park staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Skelwith Fold Caravan Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pay for Premium pitches so worth it and keep an eye out for deers!”
689sammieb, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The premium pitches are well worth it”
dogcollar, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Loughrigg area offers peace and quiet”
Alex1916, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not a hotel but a caravan/touring site. Recommend booking in advance.”
maswales, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“n/a - its a campsite”
  • View from edge of campsite - Langdale Pikes
HCHorsham, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5