We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Nanny Brow

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Nanny Brow
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

626 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 621: English reviews
Start your review of Nanny Brow
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Not long returned from our third stay and looking forward to the next. Having sampled The Samling and Holbeck Ghyll amongst others we now only choose to return to Nanny Brow. The rooms are warm, comfortable and beautifully furnished. The bathrooms modern and spacious. The views are wonderful and the grounds well kept with lots of room for a stroll....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PaulGosforth
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this review

As always its a delight welcoming you both back to Nanny Brow and we appreciate the time you have taken to write this review. We are all all blown away by your lovely comments and thrilled you hold us in such high esteem. Thank you from all of the team here at Nanny Brow.

Farnborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for two nights in the Brathay suite (12/13 Mar 17). We did not book in advance but saw the venue whilst travelling toward Elterwater looking for accommodation. Situated on a rise overlooking the dales toward the Langdale peaks. We were met by Olivia who took the time for us to view the available rooms and make a decision. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ian d
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay with us. Olivia was delighted to have received a special mention in your review and was thrilled lovely comments. We look forward to welcoming you back again. All the best Sue

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our second visit and will be looking forward to a third. We stayed in the Grasmere suit with stunning views and patio doors onto the gardens. The breakfast too was first class and staff friendly and very welcoming. Thank you for helping to make our birthday celebration special.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justinedmoore
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay this weekend. We are delighted to have been able to help make your birthday celebrations special. Its always a delight welcoming guests back to Nanny Brow and we all appreciate the lovely things you had to say about us. We have just had our surprise overnight stay...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely property and very well appointed room. Super breakfast with very nice staff and owners. It did rain when we were there - what are the chances?! Smashing trip out to the lovely cinema in Ambleside, which was a real treat and much better than our local Multiplex.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AnnieWR
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay with us. Sorry it rained but on the bright side at least you discover our lovely 3 cinemas. Zafferellis. Felinis and Zaffs by the park all run by a lovely family in the village. Im delighted you thought our breakfasts were superb. We look forward to welcoming you back soon....

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There was nothing wrong with our stay at Nanny Brow but we just didn't receive the experience we expected. The room is comfortable and the breakfast adequate but, I'm afraid, nothing out of the ordinary. Average really describes our experience which is disappointing considering the amazing location of the house and its unique character. A bit of a missed opportunity...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elaine M
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this review

We were disappointed to read your review after all the time Milly and I spent with you both and were completely bemused by your comments. especially the one about our breakfasts being adequate,It would of been nice if you could of spoken to us during your stay and our conversations with you so we could understand what we could do...

UK
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were drawn to Nanny Brow as it's an example of an Arts and Crafts house that you usually don't get to stay in. And we weren't disappointed. It was like staying in a museum , in the nicest possible way. We stayed in the Brathay room full of period features. The Robinsons have achieved the most fantastic period renovation....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KatePSUk
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and shared your loved of the Arts and Craft period with us. Its so rewarding for us when we receive such lovely compliments like this on our restoration. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. All...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed recently and just didn't feel the love. Must have caught Sue on an off day as wasn't particularly friendly more business efficient. Over £200 per night for a B&B with no special amenities and check out at ten with a precise time for breakfast of 8.30-9.15 Didn't provide us with the relaxed stay promised. Nothing to dislike apart from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joe M
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay. I'm sorry you didn't "Feel the Love" about Nanny Brow, and that you thought I was more business efficient than friendly. All I can say is perhaps you miss construed me and all the work we had done with your friends to organize your stay with us and meal out....

Notts Uk
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

This was a celebration weekend for my husbands 50th. We were made so welcome and everything was perfect. We have stayed in many hotels and guest houses in Cumbria and this was absolutely delightful. Our room, the food ,Sue and her team were all fantastic and made our weekend special. The view from our "Skelwith" room was beautiful. We will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hucklebugs
Susan_NannyBrow, Owner at Nanny Brow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. I'm sorry we didn't know it was your birthday until you mentioned it at check out, but I am delighted you enjoyed your selves. We look forward to welcoming you both back soon all the best Sue

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017

My partner and I stayed here again in January, pleased to be returning after a gap of nearly four years. Some further rooms have been renovated since then so it's bigger, though still feels cosy and personal. Just as good as we'd remembered. Millie and her colleague both friendly, efficient and helpful. It's a really beautiful Arts & Crafts house,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MartinC132
Susan_NannyBrow, Manager at Nanny Brow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here again and we are looking forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back to celebrate your birthday here! We very rarely have guests complain about noise, all the rooms are quiet. So im pleased there was no exception here. I hope...

lytham st annes
Reviewed 11 January 2017

My new husband and I spent a fabulous 4 night break here in the Loweswater suite. Stunning views, and we were made to feel so welcome. Beautiful arts and crafts house decorated to the highest standard. Wonderful breakfast - Sue the owner makes home made lemon curd and jams which are so tasty - and fabulous cakes which were a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anniej70
Susan_NannyBrow, Manager at Nanny Brow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your Mini Moon with us, it was lovely to meet you both. We are glad to hear you felt welcome and you enjoyed our homemade jams. The cakes are a lovely touch, especially when you have been out walking all day! We look forward to...

163 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (144)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
3.7 km away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
1,338 reviews
1.6 km away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,150 reviews
1.9 km away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,598 reviews
7.2 km away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 km away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nanny Brow sits on its own private crag, near Ambleside with views down the Brathay valley. Direct fellside access for walkers and only minutes from the stunning Langdale Valleys. A relaxing family home with excellent levels of comfort and service. Spotlessly clean accommodation, warm and spacious with individually designed rooms, friendly service and great breakfasts. Come join us and unwind…… ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nanny Brow

Address: Clappersgate, Ambleside LA22 9NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Price Range: $185 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nanny Brow 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Nanny Brow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nanny Brow Hotel Ambleside
Nanny Brow Ambleside, Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nanny Brow staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Dublin
1 month ago
7 months ago
7 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Nanny Brow staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Brathay suite - fantastic view of river and Langdale peaks”
 of 5 bubbles 581iand, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are different with an array of prices - check the website. Unsurprisingly, the more you pay, the better the room!”
 of 5 bubbles MartinC132, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go for standard room as good as any premium room in other establishments”
 of 5 bubbles garysA5601RH, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor suites have beautiful views and the benefit of sofas to situated look out”
 of 5 bubbles B6885TMjenc, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room with a view. It would be a shame not to.”
 of 5 bubbles Suzii1984, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5