We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all 14 hotels in Royal Tunbridge Wells

Salomons Estate

279 reviews
Save
Traveller (95)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (8)
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good27%
  • Average21%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“the main house”(27 reviews)
“golf buggy”(6 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Wheelchair Access
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (279)Write a Review
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
81
74
59
36
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
81
74
59
36
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main houseaccommodation blocksgolf buggyseparate blockinteresting museumlovely groundssingle roomreception staffcream teawedding venuewedding receptionfull englishan evening mealcooked to perfectionafternoon teastayed here for one nightfollowing morning
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 269 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked the same day about 3.00pm and then set off the 5-6 hour drive. Not impressed to receive a phone call whilst driving to inform me that the restaurant was closed and nowhere in walking distance to get food. The bar also closed. The rooms...More

Thank bryonycoram
Response from Salomons_Estate, General Manager at Salomons EstateResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear bryonycoram, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Salomons Estate. We are pleased to read you found the room to be clean. however we were disappointed to read that your experience did not meet your expectations and thank...More

Reviewed 18 November 2017

Cheap hotel which lacks facilities in the evening. You will need to eat before you check on or go out to eat afterwards. Breakfast was nice and the rooms were clean, although the rooms are not in the old building, they are in blocks of...More

Thank mrx1000
Response from Salomons_Estate, General Manager at Salomons EstateResponded 21 November 2017

Dear mrx1000, Thank you so much for taking the time to review Salomons Estate. Thank you for your helpful comments in regards to accommodation, these have been passed on to the team. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near...More

Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

Couldn't fault venue. However not enough bar staff and receptionists hit and miss! A lot of guests booked rooms but not in hotel but in outdoor block but not in context with hotel at all. They took a holding deposit of £50.00 which they assured...More

Thank Debbie W
Response from Salomons_Estate, General Manager at Salomons EstateResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Debbie W, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Salomons Estate. We are pleased to read you couldn't fault the venue. We would however like to apologise that your experience did not meet your expectations and thank you...More

Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Kent and Sussex are beautiful at this time of year and the surrounding area does not disappoint. The Salmons estate is pleasant but not the hotel I was expecting. Entrance to the old house leads to a nice reception area. The rooms however are 100...More

Thank Chris J
Response from Salomons_Estate, General Manager at Salomons EstateResponded 1 November 2017

Dear Chris J, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Salomons Estate. We are pleased to read you found the estate to be pleasant. We would like to apologise that your experience did not meet your expectations and thank...More

Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

Found Solomons on Late rooms. The price was excellent so I gave it a go. What a lovely place. Such helpful staff. The room was very clean and comfortable. The location is stunning. There is a Museum in the main house. The accommodation is behind...More

Thank John H
Response from Salomons_Estate, General Manager at Salomons EstateResponded 12 October 2017

Dear John H, Thank you for visiting Salomons Estate and for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. We are particularly thrilled to read that you found our staff to be so helpful...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345654
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Meeting Rooms
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Business Centre with Internet Access
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
USD 109 - USD 140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
USD 109 - USD 140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (95)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (8)
Hotel & Grounds (94)
Bathroom (3)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Julie G
4 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Ian J | Reviewed this property |
There is a wheelchair access ramp to the accommodation block. I was in the room next to it and the door slammed when people went in and out.
0
Votes
madzpalicia123
30 September 2017|
Answer
Response from joanneaReading | Reviewed this property |
It’s a buffet and I’m sure if you asked the hotel they could arrange vegan .
1
Vote
Roseann05London
9 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Salomons_Estate | Property representative |
Hi Roseann, Thank you for your enquiry. Yes, we do offer a Christmas Day lunch at Salomons Estate! This year we are offering a four course lunch at the estate. More information and menus are available on our website... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Don't - the rooms are a long way up a hill from the main house."
Read review
"You can hear everything so a room furthest from the main door is advised."
Read review
"Ask for a room away from the building entrance"
Read review
"Can't do that in case we need the same room again!!!!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite