We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Spa Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Spa Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

598 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 585: English reviews
Start your review of The Spa Hotel
 Click to rate
Bagshot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel was booked as a friend was celebration his birthday. The service excellent and food delicious. We decided to stay overnight but wish we could have enjoyed the comforts of this hotel for longer! A super large room with everything provided to make our stay trouble free. The use of the swimming pool, sauna and steam room were a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grannyhills
brighton
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed as a party of four, and thought the building was lovely, and full of character, also very well maintained. However, the staff in general seemed disinterested and miserable, with exception of he spa staff, who were at least pleasant and smiled. The spa has no Jacuzzi now. We arrived back at the hotel at 9.55 pm after a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
Spa2000, Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Firstly, I am glad to read that you found our building lovely, full of character and very well maintained. Secondly, and more importantly, I am sorry to see that you were disappointment with some aspects of your stay. I was especially alarmed to read your comments regarding the service you received and also the breakfast...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the hotel for a short stay over in Tunbridge Wells. The hotel is well maintained and welcoming. All staff are very friendly and hospitable making our stay easy and enjoyable. We travelled with a toddler and unfortunately were informed that there would be a £10 charge for a travel cot to be provided. This is unusual for this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z M
Spa2000, Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to see that your stay was enjoyable and that you found our staff friendly and hospitable. I am sorry you were disappointed to pay a small fee for the use of a cot; this is our standard procedure as stated on our website. I have passed your comments regarding the sandwich to...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Firstly the photos on TripAdvisor do not do this luxurious hotel justice.We had a wonderful experience from the time we walked into the reception area.Greeted by a helpful blonde who was very helpful friendly and chatty.Our room was extremely clean and bed very comfortable.Offering sparkling water or still on the bedside cabinets which was a nice touch as well as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for the weekend, as a Valentines treat for my hard working wife. Absolute loved it, beautiful hotel and grounds. Upmarket enough to feel like real luxury, but not snooty or unwelcoming. The staff were all so friendly and warm, this hotel has a genuine family feel that you don't get from huge corporate properties. Made very welcome by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M1lkman17
Wirral, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This a grand hotel that has been tastefully renovated and has a real wow factor. Public areas are relaxed and comfortable. Spacious bedrooms, with large comfortable beds. Food is excellent, fresh local produce, cooked to perfection. The roast Dover sole with samphire was delicious. Breakfast is served in the elegant dining room and is one of the nicest breakfasts I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you want a beautifully designed Spa.......with a range of warm pools, whirlpools, plunge pools, room to lounge and a beautiful indoor vista......then the Spa Hotel is not for you. However if you want a functional experience, with a decent massage, a good range of training machines, and a pool to complete a few short lengths, then the Spa will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a beautifully refurbished hotel with a peaceful and tranquil atmosphere. This was our second visit, we stayed in November and liked it so much we decided to return. There is a well equipped gym and the pool is lovely, very clean and warm. It could do with some statement plants and perhaps some striking pictures or decorations on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked to take my Granddaughters for a half term treat of Afternoon tea, on arrival we were seated in the lobby of the hotel seated on a settee with a coffee table covered in a table cloth, it was very difficult for the children aged 7 and 9 as they were unable to sit properly. The waitress was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
Spa2000, Manager at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to see you were disappointed with some aspects of your afternoon tea experience with us. I have passed your comments regarding your sandwiches to our Head Chef as this certainly should not be the case, I am glad however that the granary options were enjoyable and the white sandwiches were replaced. With...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just back from a Sunday/Monday package. Great room 221. great value. HUGE room with bathroom, beautiful grounds as part of thr package we had to spend £50 at the brassiere. TBH wasn't expecting much but the food at the brasserie was fabulous. Good vegetarian options. Lovely breakfast buffet and cooked breakfast but we were too full from night before to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim-Neil

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (135)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Royal Tunbridge Wells
1.4 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#1 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
787 reviews
1.0 km away
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
Smith & Western Tunbridge Wells
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
253 reviews
32.3 km away
Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Royal Wells Hotel
The Royal Wells Hotel
#6 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
198 reviews
4.9 km away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
1.1 km away
One Warwick Park Hotel
One Warwick Park Hotel
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This 18th century mansion is situated within 14 acres of beautiful gardens and grounds, just a short walk from the town centre. Facilities include 70 bedrooms, spa and leisure club, contemporary bar and award winning restaurant, ample free car parking and wifi. The Hotel has undergone significant, sympathetic refurbishment since it was purchased by the Scragg family in 2007 and is now the Hotel of choice in Royal Tunbridge Wells. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Spa Hotel

Address: Mount Ephraim, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN4 8XJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Royal Tunbridge Wells
Price Range: $121 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells
The Spa Hotel Royal Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Spa Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
KENT ENGLAND
over a year ago
Bromley, United Kingdom
over a year ago
12 days ago
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Spa Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Unless you get up early avoid breakfast, and if you do hope for the best! Don't use the bar.”
 of 5 bubbles E8351GEianm, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a high floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles zedehm, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Most of the rooms have been refurbished”
 of 5 bubbles markrC9363YA, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back overlook the grounds.”
 of 5 bubbles louises129, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All lovely rooms however one room at the end of the third floor had a pitched ceiling that might be awkward for taller guests.”
 of 5 bubbles H3378YJmarke, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5