We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kipps

Booking.comUSD 39*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Kipps
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

196 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 164: English reviews
Start your review of Kipps
 Click to rate
Northampton
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I booked myself and my 9 yr old in to Kipps for a night before a trip to Druidstone Country Park. The booking was for a twin room with shared bathroom. When we got here there had been an issue with our room but they had arranged for us to have a dorm room with en-suite to ourselves by 3pm,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LottieLumley
kippscanterbury, Manager at Kipps, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your lovely comments and rating. We are glad to hear you and your son enjoyed your stay with us, Hope you enjoy your day out at Druidstone Country Park Regards Kipps

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

As a solo female traveler, I was a bit nervous to stay in a bedroom with 8 strangers, but needed to do so to fit my college budget. I was pleasantly surprised to feel so safe and welcome there (despite not even being a backpacker!). The room (top floor 9 person) was quite modern and clean, showers had good water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmmaBuckeye
kippscanterbury, Manager at Kipps, responded to this review

Hi So nice to read your comments, and glad you felt safe as a solo female traveler, and also that you felt welcome. Thanks for staying with us, and hope to see you again for some more fresh cream tea :) or possibly one of our other free nightly events Regards Kipps

Augsburg, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago

We're a group of 24 students and 2 teachers from the south of Germany and we had different rooms (dormitories for the teenagers, single rooms for the teachers), all of which served our purpose more than we had expected... so I agree with what a customer had said before: don't be put off by the low prices and the word...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rubynet2017
kippscanterbury, Manager at Kipps, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for such lovely comments, and so descriptive too ! We are so happy to hear your group enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you an another group in the future Thanks for choosing Kipps Canterbury for your accommodation requirements in Canterbury Best Wishes Regards

Milan, Italy
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel is really nice: the common areas are cozy and well decorated, the kitchen clean and big enough, and it has a big garden on the back. Our room was a little cramped. We had the misfortune of sharing the hostel with a large group of people, for whom special arrangement had been made, which made nearly impossible for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaddalenaCocco
kippscanterbury, Manager at Kipps, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your comments and ratings We do try our best to accommodate a group and individuals when both are staying, but sometimes it can be difficult especially around meal times. But we will bring your comments up at the next staff meeting, and see if we can arrange it better for individual guests staying when a group...

Paris, France
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Kipps Hostel Canterbury is a good value for your money. Many thanks the staff for the warmth of their welcome. A very important time for our group that had done 500km from France. During the stay, we prepared ourself (for 47 persons) our meal in a lovely self-catering kitchen (certainly not sophistication). Till 23.00, we organized a musical enjoyment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamesrasoa
kippscanterbury, Manager at Kipps, responded to this review

Hi We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay We really enjoyed your group, the music you played and the songs you sung. :) and all of your dancing over the weekend. We look forward to welcoming your friendly and fund group to Kipps and to Canterbury in the future. Regards Kipps Staff

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Don't be put off by the low prices and that word "hostel" - I stayed in some quite frankly horrible hostels when I was younger, backpacking around; this is definitely not one of them (and we're no longer that young). We didn't see much of the staff because we only needed a place to sleep for a couple of nights,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John O
kippscanterbury, Manager at Kipps, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for your lovely comments, we are sorry we didn't let you know beforehand about the room change, sometimes these things happen last minute. we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and noticed all the good things about the Hostel, We do put a do not disturb /please make my room up sign in the...

Barry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I found the staff to be quite rude and preoccupied. The rooms themselves were ok but I thought my room was quite small. Breakfast was basic and nothing to write home about I found better options in the area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mmmoles
kippscanterbury, Manager at Kipps, responded to this review

Hi Its a shame you were not impressed. The other guests that stayed during the same time, rated us high, and really enjoyed themselves. Regarding Breakfast for £2.50 for a continental breakfast, I really do not understand our guests complain, when you can't even buy a coffee for less that £2.50, and you get so much more. Plus you do...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hospitable young staff in a nice old building. Every night they have a 'thing'. The 1 night I stayed the receptionist announced he'd be making a cake like his grandpa tought him for a cake & tea party. Very good matress in the bunkbed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Xander T
kippscanterbury, Manager at Kipps, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your Ratings and comments Glad you enjoyed the staff, and hostel and our nightly events Regards Kipps

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very close to Canterbury centre only a 10 minute walk. We had a lovely room which was clean and perfect for our big group. Nice garden and dinning room and very lovely staff. I would definitely stay again and would highly recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly R
kippscanterbury, Manager at Kipps, responded to this review

Hi We are happy to hear you had a nice time staying with us. Thank you for complimenting our bedrooms, dining room and garden (which is only half finished) come back soon, when our new pool table arrives, flowers are planted, and our BBQ is up and running Thank you for staying with us Regards Kipps

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As a person that doesn't usually frequent hostels (or write reviews..) I don't have much experience in this department, so I had my apprehensions when deciding to choose a hostel over hotel accommodation. I couldn't have made a better choice. The minute I arrived I was greeted with friendly staff, levels of organisation and hygiene that I have not experienced...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cabbage S
kippscanterbury, Manager at Kipps, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your really nice comments. We are glad you decided to choose Kipps over a hotel, whilst staying in Canterbury. We are also glad we exceeded your expectations. You are also correct, many of our visitors from the UK/EU and overseas return year on year. We look forward to welcoming you back to beautiful Canterbury and to...

89 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.5 km away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
0.9 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
413 reviews
0.9 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
5.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
695 reviews
0.9 km away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Kipps Canterbury, a Friendly Backpackers Hostel in Canterbury, Kent We are situated in a quiet residential area around 10 minutes- walk to the famous Canterbury Cathedral, Historic Town and Canterbury’s other main attractions. Set in a beautiful 130 year old town house, we offer a wide range of budget accommodation from dormitory rooms to single and double/twin rooms, - suitable for both groups and individuals. Our Friendly staff will welcome you to our award winning backpackers, including a Rose Award for recognition to services from Visit England Tourist Board and No.1 Rated on Trip Advisor. We offer excellent facilities at Kipps Canterbury, including :- A large fully equipped kitchen Free Fibre Wi-Fi throughout the hostel Large Countryside garden, with Pool Table/BBQs (Summertime) Large lounge with Digital TV/ PC/ Vending Machines/ Xbox and Wii Large Dining area situated in our conservatory with views of the garden. Buffet Continental Breakfast. Fully heated and hot water 24/7 Laundry and drying facilities (Chargeable) Free left luggage facility Dormitories – En-suite/ Free Lockers/ Towels & Bedding Private Rooms – Tea & Coffee Facilities/ Digital TV/ Towels/ Desk and Wash Basin. Kipps Canterbury is within easy walking distance of the City Centre, Canterbury East Train Station and the Main Bus station. Kipps Canterbury is an ideal base to explore the Kent Countryside known as the 'Garden of England'. Seaside resorts of Whitstable and Herne Bay are within easy cycling distance and for the more adventurous by foot.. A Short bus/ train ride will also take you to attractions like Dover Castle, Leeds Castle and to the Kent Coast We look forward to welcoming you to our beautiful backpackers and to our Historic City Please read hostel conditions. Photo ID is required on Check in (inc UK/EUCitizens) OPENING HOURS Check in Time: 2pm-Midnight. Please let us know if you are arriving after 2pm KITCHEN – Our Self Catering Kitchen is open daily from 08:00am-10:00am/ 02:00pm-10:00pm. At other times the kitchen is closed to allow us to carry out general cleaning and maintenance Dormitory Rooms – Rooms are closed daily from 11am-2pm, to allow us to carry out daily housekeeping and maintenance. The Lounge is open for you to relax in during these times. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kipps

Address: 40 Nunnery Fields, Canterbury CT1 3JT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Price Range: $26 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kipps 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kipps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kipps staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For me, the dormitory for 10 in the upper floor is the best one: an attic room”
jamesrasoa, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Send them an email directly, they are always very helpful and quick to reply. All rooms are quiet and clean.”
Strollingfrog, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Single room very comfortable.”
bitujones, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The back side of the hostel is quieter”
jcedeniosangucho, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 28 has a beautiful view on the garden.”
robinbL4069BD, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 39* /night
View Deal
PricelineUSD 61
Hotels.comUSD 57
Expedia.comUSD 57
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates