We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

ABode Canterbury

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
ABode Canterbury
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,713 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,654: English reviews
Start your review of ABode Canterbury
 Click to rate
Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a lovely hotel, right in the heart of Canterbury. It, thankfully, is not just another characterless, corporate, brown hotel like so many others. The room had a bit of character - wallpaper with antique animal drawings. The staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. The bar is smart and understated with a good, warm ambience. Breakfast was included in...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank RioLucy
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay at the hotel. Best wishes Declan

Montcada I Reixac-barcelona
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Excelent hotel for a business trip, and also for leisure. I came from London by train, and was also verey close to the station. Calm place, very spacious rooms, and excelent facilities, clean, tidy and excelent.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank javiert147
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments really pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. Best Declan

Frome
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The location and outward appearance is amazing. The standard room and bathroom are a bit small. The set up for Breakfast was impressive with smoothies in old fashion milk bottles. The Avocado toast was delicious! Theres a few inconsistencies which need tweaking for a quality experience.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sachag769
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments I am pleased that you had a good stay at the hotel. Best wishes Declan

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Well situated in middle of Canterbury and very close to Cathedral Confusion over our booking, had been booked in my name for my husband and I, but reception staff could not find our details but had a booking in the name of our son who had stayed there previously. Room 215, was clean and comfortable but had no hot water!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Josephine H
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments I am sorry for the confusion at check in. Regards Declan

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for two nights.Couldn't be more central in Canterbury.Didn't use the restaurant or bar so can't comment on that.Used the gym which was good.Plenty of cardio machines.Only bad point was that there seems to be a problem with the hot water.I had 2 cold/tepid showers.Disappointing really.Everything else was fine.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anselmo4217
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I am sorry for the issues with the water, we are upgrading the system over the next couple of weeks. Best wishes Declan

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Abode for a Friday evening date night special offer. The hotel room was beautifully decorated with a luxurious feel to it and the hotel itself is also very well presented. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the staff were warm and welcoming. The hotel is situated in the heart of Canterbury with everything you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your review delighted that you had such a good stay and thank you for your recommendation. Best wishes Declan

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited at the weekend for our anniversary. We had a nice greeting when we checked in and had the nice touch of an anniversary card and balloon in our room. The room was comfortable and in a great location to be in town immediately. We had a problem with hot water in the morning, however we were compensated for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miranda L
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, its always lovely when guests choose to celebrate special occasions at the hotel. I am sorry for the issues with the hot water we are replacing the system the works should be complete in the next 2 weeks. Regards Declan

London
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice hotel in the middle of Canterbury, a warm reception from front of house who upgraded us to a suite. The room was great, really comfortable and enjoyable. We enjoyed afternoon team in the bar but breakfast was a disappointment as service was slow, the plates were cold and the dull english was tepid at best. Overall though we had...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank V7532LPjoen
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry for the slow service at breakfast. Best wishes Declan

essex
Reviewed 1 week ago

We came to Canterbury especially to go to the County Restaurant in this hotel and so decided to stay at the Abode. We wanted an upgrade but they were all fully booked so we stayed in a "comfortable" room which was the cheapest. I asked for a nice room as it was our 20th anniversary and was told I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindsay l
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I am sorry that you did not find the room satisfactory. All the desirable rooms have standard double beds we do have king beds in all higher category bedrooms. The extraction does come on when the light is switched on in the bathroom. I am sorry for the maintenance issues, I checked the room following...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was central, clean, hospitable and staff couldn't do enough to accommodate us. The champagne bar was delightful with its open fire and warm staff. We will be back! The only thing lacking was food in the bar area, better vegetarian options and the noisy heater in our room which disrupted our sleep. However, minor things in the whole...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Archna1972
CanterburyAB, General Manager at ABode Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes Declan

282 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (229)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (138)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.3 km away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
1,070 reviews
0.1 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
394 reviews
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
255 reviews
0.4 km away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 17 in Canterbury
986 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
ABode Canterbury is a stylish boutique hotel that has been beautifully designed and refurbished, maintaining the old wooden beams and traditional fabric of an ancient and historic building while adding contemporary design features and modern comforts, with understated British style. With its central location, within the ancient city walls and only minutes away from Canterbury Cathedral (a World Heritage Site), Abode Canterbury is the perfect place to visit the city and enjoy the shops, historic sites and traditional architecture.There are 72 bedrooms, rated Comfortable, Desirable, Most Desirable, Enviable, Most Enviable and Fabulous. Bedrooms have been designed with a sense of luxury and relaxation so the guest can enjoy an ideal night's sleep, and wake up refreshed and rejuvenated. Bedrooms at all levels are well-equipped: trademark ABode features include Vi-Spring beds; luxury toiletries; personal DVD players and state-of-the-art LCD televisions. Some rooms have imaginative wet rooms and baths integrated into living areas; the Fabulous suite has a rooftop terrace with stunning views over the roofs of Canterbury across to the Cathedral.Michael Caines MBE and his talented team of chefs offer an incredible range of dining and drinking experiences, from superior room service or a drink in the stylish Champagne Bar to a pint and a pie or char-grilled fish or steak in the traditional Old Brewery Tavern. The Michael Caines Restaurant offers the ultimate dining experience, with delicious modern European cuisine accompanied by an exceptional wine list, served with professional yet not too formal style. ABode Canterbury is the ideal place for weddings, private parties, private dining and meetings, and any and all special occasions, whether for business or pleasure.We even have the facilities to make you feel absolutely fabulous. Why not join us for a workout in our well-equipped and comfortable residents' gym.ABode Canterbury, in the very heart of an ancient and historic city, is your home from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about ABode Canterbury

Address: 30-33 High Street, Canterbury CT1 2RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Price Range: $110 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Canterbury 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your ABode Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Canterbury Hotel Canterbury
Canterbury Abode Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from ABode Canterbury staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
SOUTH WEST
Romford, England, United Kingdom

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from ABode Canterbury staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“don't go for the comfortable range. its very basic”
 of 5 bubbles lindsaylewis, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We didn't stay in the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles sushanna, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“View to the high street have more charm as they take you back to the middle ages.”
 of 5 bubbles berenicewatersm, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 205 is noisy on a Friday morning when they do the bin/bottle collection!”
 of 5 bubbles SassSass, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“we got one of the larger rooms and the price difference is worth the extra payment.”
 of 5 bubbles Stavros17, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5