We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury

TripAdvisorUSD 84*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 84*
USD 85*
USD 84*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Innkeeper\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury
See the most recent reviews
Showing 90: English reviews
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Very good value with a comfortable and clean room and a splendid continental breakfast included were all positives. Staff service was also excellent although even they could not solve the problem of no wifi (due to inability of provider to provide a password). Hotel chosen on wifi availability as well as ample parking which was unfortunately temporarily not available at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CAAbcfc
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

Your feedback is what helps us improve so thanks so much for taking the time to leave your comments

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2015

Stayed here for a couple of nights whilst dropping our daughter off at the University. Rooms were clean although bathrooms had mould on ceilings, could do with a paint. Breakfast was continental, but full English was available for £6.99.First morning we had the continental, was pastries, toast , cereals muffins etc. Second morning thought I might have the English breakfast,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We really appreciate getting feedback from our guests as it means we can keep improving.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2015

We stayed two nights here while visiting friends and attractions. Great location. The staff are friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable although the bed was a bit on the lumpy for us. Perhaps they need to follow the Premier Inn lead and upgrade the sleep experience. Continental breakfast offering was adequate but seems to have reduced since our stays...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
Romford Essex
Reviewed 27 July 2015

Having stayed here a number of times we knew what to expect. A friendly welcome, excellent room and bathroom plus 2 good nights sleep. Would highly recommend for a stop over on the way to the ferries or eurotunnel or to use as a base to visit Canterbury & Kent's many attractions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank holidayfan55
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving us such great feedback. We’re really glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Old Gate Inn / Innkeepers Lodge for a weekend stay whilst visiting family. The Inn is easy to find, not far from the A2, and even though we arrived quite late on a Friday evening (just after 10pm, but check-in is to 11pm) they were just as welcoming as if we arrived at any time. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James W
Cambridge
Reviewed 15 June 2015

We stayed for 2 nights, and the price was ok for what it is. The room was comfortable enough, but looked like it could do with a bit of a care. The paint on the windows was coming off, so just a few little things would improve the standard. There is a free breakfast, but don't get too excited. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dominic M
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

Your feedback is really important to us, so thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

southend on sea
Reviewed 1 June 2015

we had previously stayed here for a weekend a couple of years ago for a family wedding and found it to be clean, friendly and excellent base for all local amenities. Looking for somewhere to stay for our 10th wedding anniversary we decided to head back here and spend some time sightseeing in the city. We were not disappointed. Spend...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank islizSouthendOnSea
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

It’s great to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. Thanks so much for sharing your feedback.

London
Reviewed 14 April 2015

Stayed for 1 night (Sunday) at the Old Gate Inn. Could do with a bit of a spruce up outside - but then you don't stay outside do you! Inside, lovely welcoming bar with a good selection of beers and plenty of tables. Really nice menu and the food was good quality, presented nicely and delicious. We paid the extra...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HutchLondon
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit to The Old Gate Inn, Canterbury and I have shared your comments with all the team. We have replied to you personally and look forward to taking care of you again soon.

colchester
Reviewed 23 February 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for weekend and had hoped for a bit more than a premier inn/ travel lodge experience. Room was clean but drawer front fell off onto my partners foot when we put clothes away. The shower tray filled up every time we had a shower and the side lamp bulb didn't work. Being 8 months pregnant the lack of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmColchester
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that the visit you made to The Old Gate Inn, Canterbury was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review.

Blackwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2015

Having seen the earlier reviews only after I stayed last night I wondered if I was in the same place!! I stayed overnight and the the room was excellent, very comfortable. I had a few pints at nght and a meal which again was very good. Breakfast this morning was also very good. I have travelled a lot and this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank raydenham725
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, It was good of you to take the time to leave your feedback following your visit to The Old Gate Inn, Canterbury.

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
2.9 km away
The Falstaff in Canterbury
The Falstaff in Canterbury
#13 of 16 in Canterbury
1,035 reviews
1.9 km away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
2.4 km away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#11 of 16 in Canterbury
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
The Duke Of Cumberland
1.0 km away
Renville Oast
Renville Oast
#1 of 2 in Bridge
20 reviews
4.5 km away
The Pilgrims Rest
The Pilgrims Rest
#2 of 2 in Littlebourne
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Of all the hotels in Canterbury, few have as many stories to tell as this historic lodge, which has been providing a warm welcome to travellers for almost three centuries.With nine comfy rooms and its own cosy pub serving a menu of hearty, freshly cooked food, it's the perfect place to enjoy some rest and relaxation. Although there's so much to see and do you won't want to put your feet up for too long.Canterbury is one of England's most beautiful cities, and its jewel in the crown is Canterbury Cathedral, which is a pleasant half-hour stroll from the lodge, or just five minutes by car. You can also explore the intriguing shops of King's Mile, take a ghost tour, visit Canterbury University or take a summer boat-trip along the River Stour.There's plenty to keep you busy further afield in Kent, like wildlife spotting in Blean Woods or a day at the seaside in Herne Bay or Whitstable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury

Address: The Old Gate Inn | 162 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Price Range: $110 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask about the stairs if you have limited mobility.”
Jude064, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The rooms overlooking the car park are quieter, colleague stayed on the side of the main room and said it was very noisy and didn't sleep.”
mollyvv, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the front are noisy”
linda012016, 19 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the back of the hotel - away from the main road.”
HutchLondon, 13 Apr 2015 | Read review
“As ever avoid the rooms on the road if a light sleeper.”
holidayfan55, 16 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
USD 84* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 85
LateRooms.comUSD 84
Priceline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates