We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Innkeeper\\
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury
See the most recent reviews
Showing 89: English reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights to attend a wedding. The location is excellent being just outside Canterbury. The room was very pleasant with adequate amenities, continental breakfast was included in the price so overall very good value for money. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Would recommend for those on a budget and ideal for a visit to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JillDouglas55
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

We’re glad you enjoyed your visit, thanks so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon.

rochester kent
Reviewed 28 May 2016

Travelling by car this hotel is placed within easy reach of the M2 and has a bus stop close by across the road for frequent bus service into Canterbury. Alternatively there is Park and Ride next door to the hotel. The staff were very good, as were the meals. The room was clean and spacious with a comfortable bed. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rochester604
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

It’s great to hear you had an enjoyable visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Greenhithe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 May 2016

We were attending a wedding at Winter Barn, when booking asked if this was close to the venue, we were told it was a 5 minute walk but it wasn't. It was a £10 taxi ride. But our twin room was adequate for 1 night. Luckily we were allowed into the room at mid- day, check in normally is 3pm.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank linda012016
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We really appreciate all the feedback we receive from our guests.

Oxfordshire, England
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed here before travelling from Dover to Calais staying in room 3. We were initially quite impressed considering the price paid as it was a big clean room (if a little tired) and the staff were very welcoming and friendly... However we both had a terrible nights sleep. The room was very hot and we couldn't open a window...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank YimYem
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We’re so sorry the room didn’t meet your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us so we can continually improve things for our guests.

Reviewed 1 April 2016

Very nice and friendly staff, nice room, unfortunately a bit noisy as it was in front of the main road (lots of traffic), but good experience overall. I would stay there again if I needed to go back to Canterbury.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AthenaDAC
Bideford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2015

We booked this hotel on Christmas Day for a 2 day stay commencing the following day so wondered whether we had been a bit hasty but it turned out to be an excellent choice. The location was very convenient - just off the A2 and a couple of minutes walk from the Park and Ride bus station from which you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maggies756
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback, we’re really glad you enjoyed your visit. We’ll make sure we pass your comments on to the team.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2015

Stayed here for 1 night with my husband and 2 children and sorry to say it was very disappointing. The inn could be so much better. We had a family room and although spacious unfortunately we didn't have a very comfortable stay due to the mattresses on both the double bed and pull out sofa being awful. You could literally...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 72dondon
Kingswinford
Reviewed 28 October 2015 via mobile

Stopped here for 1 night as i was working a mile down the road, i am so glad i didnt book 2 nights here!! The rooms themselves are nice and they are comfortable, but from 4AM onwards all you can hear is the birds singing outside, its asif there is no window to stop the noise, kept me awake so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JakeOrangeST
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2015

The rooms are very well set, warm and comfortable so I had a good decent night's sleep! The continential breakfast although good, but limited choices. Will definitely come back with my partner in December for the stay together with Christmas meal.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SmileyDes
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving us such great feedback. We’re really glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Very good value with a comfortable and clean room and a splendid continental breakfast included were all positives. Staff service was also excellent although even they could not solve the problem of no wifi (due to inability of provider to provide a password). Hotel chosen on wifi availability as well as ample parking which was unfortunately temporarily not available at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CAAbcfc
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Guest Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury, responded to this review

Your feedback is what helps us improve so thanks so much for taking the time to leave your comments

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.3 km away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
2.4 km away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#10 of 17 in Canterbury
284 reviews
7.2 km away
The Duke Of Cumberland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Renville Oast
Renville Oast
#1 of 2 in Bridge
14 reviews
4.5 km away
The Pilgrims Rest
The Pilgrims Rest
#2 of 2 in Littlebourne
119 reviews
4.2 km away
City of Canterbury B&B
City of Canterbury B&B
#8 of 81 in Canterbury
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Of all the hotels in Canterbury, few have as many stories to tell as this historic lodge, which has been providing a warm welcome to travellers for almost three centuries.With nine comfy rooms and its own cosy pub serving a menu of hearty, freshly cooked food, it's the perfect place to enjoy some rest and relaxation. Although there's so much to see and do you won't want to put your feet up for too long.Canterbury is one of England's most beautiful cities, and its jewel in the crown is Canterbury Cathedral, which is a pleasant half-hour stroll from the lodge, or just five minutes by car. You can also explore the intriguing shops of King's Mile, take a ghost tour, visit Canterbury University or take a summer boat-trip along the River Stour.There's plenty to keep you busy further afield in Kent, like wildlife spotting in Blean Woods or a day at the seaside in Herne Bay or Whitstable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury

Address: The Old Gate Inn | 162 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Price Range: $103 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Innkeeper's Lodge Canterbury staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask about the stairs if you have limited mobility.”
 of 5 bubbles Jude064, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The rooms overlooking the car park are quieter, colleague stayed on the side of the main room and said it was very noisy and didn't sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles mollyvv, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the front are noisy”
 of 5 bubbles linda012016, 19 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the back of the hotel - away from the main road.”
 of 5 bubbles HutchLondon, 13 Apr 2015 | Read review
“As ever avoid the rooms on the road if a light sleeper.”
 of 5 bubbles holidayfan55, 16 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5