We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sopwell House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Sopwell House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,022 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sopwell House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,009: English reviews
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Decided to book this hotel based upon the reviews... I was bitterly disappointed... How can they get away with charging these prices? The property: This hotel mainly caters for weddings and business conferences, they are not interested in individual customers and definitely not for families with kids. We arrived on a Sunday around noon, reception told us (really no pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Belgianlivingabroad
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I was saddened to read your review of your recent stay and please accept my sincerest apologies that we did not exceed your expectations It is clearly noted that check in time is 3pm as is customary in all hotels, furthermore it is on all confirmations our children’s pool access times, but I have taken on board your...

Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We were a group of 10 work colleagues who went to Sopwell House for lunch. The location and food were both very good. Plentiful selection of food bearing in mind that four of the 10 were vegetarians and they found plenty to eat. However, once we were seated it took forever for someone to take a drinks order, not at...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank ChipChopCharlie
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review of Sopwell House following your visit. I was, however, disappointed to receive your feedback regarding your lunch with your colleagues, and your detailed comments are very much appreciated and there are certainly some improvements we can make as a result of your comments, which I have passed on to the team to...

Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Went to Sopwell house for my birthday treat and experienced their Spa day. Had use of the Spa and had a wonderful buffet lunch. Managed to book a full body massage with Linda and I must say that it was one of the best that I have ever had. The Spa was really well kept and a very relaxing experience....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gregallen2016
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am pleased the whole team looked after you so well and I am very grateful for your fantastic review of your time spent here. Your review was a pleasure to read and I’m delighted you had the opportunity to sample the Spa facilities and enjoyed and relaxed on your birthday. We could not ask more than for...

Buckinghamshire, England
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Afternoon tea for 16 for a baby shower. The staff were extremely accommodating (they even carried a baby in his car seat into the area where we were seated!). Nothing was too much trouble. We notified ahead that there were dietary requirements and they were catered for without any trouble. Plenty to eat with lovely home made scones. The team...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diamond2904
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your four star review of Sopwell House following your recent visit for Afternoon tea. Your review was a delight to read and share with our dedicated team, I will ensure the relevant team members receive your fabulous comments and I hope we will be able to warmly welcome you back very soon. Thank you again,...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2016

It's difficult for me to write a negative review on a hotel because all of my experiences have always been positive. We flew in from the UAE for this. When we arrived we were keen to explore the grounds and gently asked if someone who was free would mind showing us around. In response, the young man on reception sniggered...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank Ranches5
St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2016

This is a very nice hotel set in lovely grounds about a mile from the centre of St Albans. We attended a reception here but were very disappointed with the bar service which was abominably slow and cards unable to be accepted.Drinks rather highly priced. Buffet lunch was very nice indeed with lots of choice and the waiting staff polite...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barry S
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely and rewarding review following your recent visit to Sopwell House. I am so pleased you enjoyed the hotel and the 12 acres of beautiful grounds surrounding us here and many thanks for your positive comments regarding the team. I was, however, disappointed to receive your feedback regarding the bar service in the Brasserie,...

Ely
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Very nice venue, lovely food and pleasant surroundings. Staff very nice and helpful. Didn't stay over but colleagues who did say it was very good. Easy to find but car parking on the day was tricky but there was an awful lot of day visitors so I think this would normally be fine.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank miszaku
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your five star review of Sopwell House following your recent visit. Your detailed feedback is very much appreciated and a pleasure to read and I am delighted the team looked after you so well. Many thanks for your constructive comments regarding the parking, we do make every effort to ensure there is ample car parking...

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

From start to finish... This place was truly wonderful! My partner and I stayed in the Primrose suite within the Mews Suites and the room was faultless. The private hot tub and shared hydro pool (which no one except us used) were a great touch! The spa was also amazing. My partner enjoyed treatments within a double treatment room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tashanna3
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your five star review of Sopwell House following your recent stay here. Your review was a delight to read and share with our dedicated team, I will ensure the therapists receive your fabulous comments and I hope we will be able to warmly welcome you back very soon. Thank you again, Warm regards, Derek Hiscoke...

Lancashire
Reviewed 26 July 2016

After driving a couple of hundred miles in heavy traffic, this hotel was the perfect end to a hard day. Having been given an upgrade to one of the cottages I could not fault the furnishings, the garden nor the outdoor hydra pool. I was so impressed that I would pay the extra room rate on my next stay. Spa...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sys987
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely and rewarding review following your recent stay at Sopwell House. I am so pleased you enjoyed the hotel and the 12 acres of beautiful grounds surrounding us here. I was delighted that you were given the chance to sample one of our beautiful Mews Suites. Thank you once again for taking the time...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We booked to stay at Sopwell House as we were attending a family reunion nearby. The hotel staff were extremely professional and helpful. Very comfortable room, excellent spa facilities and numerous dining options. Beautiful outside terrace and grounds to wonder in. There was a large wedding in part of the hotel, but we were not impacted by that at all....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
Derek H, General Manager at Sopwell House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am pleased the whole team looked after you so well and I am very grateful for your fantastic review of your time spent here. Your review was a pleasure to read and I’m delighted you had the opportunity to sample all the facilities. In the past couple of years Sopwell House has undertaken a substantial amount of...

522 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (454)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (253)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
9.9 km away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,656 reviews
2.5 km away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#4 of 9 in St Albans
540 reviews
1.8 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 km away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.1 km away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
8.2 km away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in 12 acres of tranquil gardens Sopwell House is a 4 star hotel in Hertfordshire and the former Georgian country residence of Lord Mountbatten. Once you enter this 'home away from home' our attentive staff, family friendly service and luxurious spa facilities will provide the perfect setting to your stay or event. Our Country House hotel enables you to escape from it all and is within easy reach of London, St Pancras National & International Train Station and Luton Airport. With 128 stylish bedrooms and suites including 16 soon to be completed Mews Apartments to choose from, exceptional service, delicious food and our opulent spa you'll find it hard to leave. As well as boasting 19 flexible function suites, Sopwell House has recently been awarded winner of the 2015 Conde Nast Johansens Awards for Excellence in the category 'Best for Meetings' recognising their outstanding contribution to the corporate and social world. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sopwell House

Address: Cottonmill Lane | Sopwell, St Albans AL1 2HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Price Range: $213 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sopwell House 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Sopwell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sopwell House Country Club And Spa
Sopwell House Country Club Hotel St. Albans
Sopwell Hotel Country
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sopwell House staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Sopwell House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Balcony Suites are the Best”
 of 5 bubbles D2675BPmarias, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Paid for a higher grade room, total rip off, 1st floor (134) just awful.. over looks a metal roof...definitely not worth the extra money!!”
 of 5 bubbles Helen10031970, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles annr0bins0n, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Excellent all round.”
 of 5 bubbles sagurney, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Mews room are just exceptionally impressive”
 of 5 bubbles NinaT9, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5