We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Westgate

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winchester
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Westgate
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 138: English reviews
Start your review of The Westgate
 Click to rate
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very friendly welcome. In fact found all staff to be friendly and accommodating. Nice comfortable room (room 8) with views over actual Westgate and down Winchester High Street. Bad experience on breakfast on first day due to problems in kitchen but completely satisfied on second morning. Good value for Winchester and excellent location. Recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rob h
General M, Manager at The Westgate, responded to this review

Good Afternoon guys, Thank you very much for leaving us your feedback, it really is appreciated as it helps us improve for the future. We really hope to see you guys again, you were a pleasure to have here. All the best & take care! Abby Jeffery Holding General Manager The Westgate Winchester

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have used the Westgate for lunch and dinner on several occasions when in Winchester and found it to be excellent, the service was always good, the quality of the food was very good and the portions were generous and not over priced. We will definitely go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johneugeneo
General M, Manager at The Westgate, responded to this review

Good Morning John, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us feedback, we really do appreciate it, it means all of our hard work is paying off. I will share this with the team, i'm sure they will be delighted to know that they are appreciated. Hope to see you again soon! Abby Jeffery Assistant General Manager...

Reviewed 19 January 2017

Stayed at The Westgate for one night while in Winchester for work. Received a very warm welcome from the staff. 'Comfy' room was a really good size with everything you'd want and a small desk to work at (though the desk lamp could have done with a bulb!). Wifi was reliable and a good speed too. Great size, comfy bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeeBatchelor
General M, General Manager at The Westgate, responded to this review

Hi There Lee, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review with us, it really is much appreciated! I do apologise that there wasn't a bulb in your lamp, i will address this straight away so thank you for bringing it to my attention.. I'm very glad you had a good nights sleep and again i...

Reviewed 18 January 2017

The recently refurbished hotel is ideally placed for anyone visiting the hospital. Staff are friendly and helpful and rooms well set out and comfortable. Only weakness is the phone reception, but friendliness and comfort made up for that! Made a comfortable alternative to larger chain hotels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen J
General M, General Manager at The Westgate, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Helen, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about us, we really appreciate any feedback as it helps us with training and addressing any concerns that our guests may have! I do apologise about the phone signal, it is a total nightmare but unfortunately that comes with the depth of the old walls.....

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 December 2016

A friendly and clean city centre bar with rooms decorated in the boutique style. The bedding and bathrooms were spotless. Coffee and tea making were provided, however the coffee machine and table were seriously dusty. The general facilities in the room were good, including a large screen TV with choices of channels. The bar downstairs was friendly and the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry L
General M, General Manager at The Westgate, responded to this review

Hi Terry I'm so grateful you took the time to write such a great review and am happy that you enjoyed your time with us. It is very rare that we get loud and intrusive customers but I guess that sometimes comes with Christmas in any bar so apologies for that. As for the coffee well yes that is a...

Alcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

I made a last minute booking at the Westgate, after searching through all the usual hotels for deals. I'd never visited before but what a very pleasant surprise. Great food, lovely staff and really cosy bedroom. Sunday lunch was particularly fab.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SAMAlcester
General M, General Manager at The Westgate, responded to this review

Hello! What a lovely review thank you so much! I'm ecstatic you had a gem of a time here and I hope to see you again. All my best James Moreno

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

We had a lovely weekend at the Westgate. The design of the pub and rooms is lovely. Really good quality finish, furnishings and soft furnishings. We were on the top floor and the wifi was very good. The location is excellent at the top of the high street in Winchester. Most notable are the staff who are absolutely lovely -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pie12
General M, General Manager at The Westgate, responded to this review

Hey there Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review and I am really happy that the staff looked after you well. They always love to hear it when people enjoy their time here with them! Hope to see you again soon. All the best James Moreno

Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2016

We stayed at the Westgate 1 night for the xmas market. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable.Coffee machine and kettle. Bathrooms spotless too. The food was very nice. The only disappointment was that we all ordered the rib eye, and we were told at only about 8.15, that there was none left....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lally53
General M, General Manager at The Westgate, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you so much for the great review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us for the Christmas market. Sorry that we had run out of steaks, that weekend saw the biggest weekend we had done since opening!! I do hope we get to see you again soon. All my best James Moreno

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Stayed for one night at The Westgate and is of very high standards. Opposite the Westgate is The Great Hall and military museaum. Within walking distant of town with a good choice of restaurants,cafes, bars and the cathedral. There is no parking at the pub, but literally 2 mins walk away is a multi storey car park, which cost £8.00...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 868mimi
General M, General Manager at The Westgate, responded to this review

Hey there A big thank you to you too! What a lovely review and I am so pleased that you had an excellent weekend with us! We all hope to see you again soon. All my best James Moreno

Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Choose Westgate as newspaper article rated it as a pub with rooms. Booked a 'Snug Room' reasonably priced but very snug. Young staff very presentable and friendly.Unfortunately the position of our room made it extremely noisy with the traffic, the fire alarm at 3 30am didn't help Food very average and a little overpriced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 305barbara
General M, General Manager at The Westgate, responded to this review

Hi Barbara Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and sorry it has taken me a while to respond. Sadly as we are on the high street if traffic is diverted the noise can carry on late. Also my apologies for the fire alarm, that was just unlucky. I do hope you will give us another...

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.4 km away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 km away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,619 reviews
3.9 km away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
0.7 km away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
713 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At the top of the historic Winchester High Street and a mere stone's throw from the legendary King Arthurs Round Table sits the redeveloped, prestigious and good-looking Westgate Pub with Rooms. Here at The Westgate we have gone further than just giving it a lick of paint... A short trot from the bustling city centre we strive to give every guest that walks through our doors the warm feeling of a home away from home. With a good old fashioned helpful bartender attitude, a funky, modern yet British pub kitchen and a light and airy vibe that continues throughout the pub and rooms. We hope you like what we have done as much as we do. We have created a versatile encompassment, ideal for all sorts of adventures that start, or finish, in Winchester. A place for work, rest, fun or families. Team Westgate really thought about the important things in life. A quiet drink, a good old fashioned knees up, romantic dinners, festive feasts, business trips and quiet getaways. This is a very exciting time in this corner of beautiful Winchester. The buzz surrounding the building during the work has been infectious throughout the city and now that we are open, we hope you feel we got it just right. Team Westgate look forward to seeing you and even more to welcoming you back time and time again. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Westgate

Address: 2 Romsey Road, Winchester SO23 8TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Price Range: $137 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westgate 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Westgate staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Manchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Westgate staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“"snug" rooms over very good value for money”
 of 5 bubbles helenj651, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I believe that the rooms are of a similar quality, simply a different size.”
 of 5 bubbles 467terryl, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Lots of steep stairs to rooms so not good if you have mobility problems”
 of 5 bubbles lally53, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Wifi very intermittent”
 of 5 bubbles 305barbara, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Comfort room on the 3rd floor was good and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles MRANDMRSM61, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5