We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
03/09/2017 04/09/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The Westgate

    2 Romsey Road, Winchester SO23 8TP, England
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    03/09/2017 04/09/2017
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    USD 122*
    View Deal
    Traveller (34)
    Room & Suite (21)
    Dining (2)
    Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
    689 reviews
    #4 of 13 hotels in Winchester
     
    Holiday Inn Winchester
    998 reviews
    #5 of 13 hotels in Winchester
     
    Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
    945 reviews
    #9 of 25 hotels in Southampton
     
    Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
    1,600 reviews
    #6 of 13 hotels in Winchester
     
    Overview
    • Excellent33%
    • Very good41%
    • Average16%
    • Poor7%
    • Terrible3%
    Travellers talk about
    “the pub” (22 reviews)
    “great hall” (10 reviews)
    “high street” (14 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Breakfast included
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Restaurant
    Suites
    Bar/Lounge
    Pets Allowed
    4.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Offers from The Westgate
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
    689 reviews
    #4 of 13 hotels in Winchester
     
    Holiday Inn Winchester
    998 reviews
    #5 of 13 hotels in Winchester
     
    Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
    945 reviews
    #9 of 25 hotels in Southampton
     
    Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
    1,600 reviews
    #6 of 13 hotels in Winchester
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (168)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 160 reviews

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    We stayed one night with some friends and really enjoyed it. The rooms are bright, contemporary and well decorated and very comfortable. We ate dinner at the pub and the food was good, served by eager to help and pleasant staff. The pub is situated...More

    Thank Ian W
    Management response:Responded 1 week ago

    Hi Ian Thank you for your review, we're glad that you had a great time staying with us and hope to see you again very soon! P.S. we are aware about the the communal areas, they are getting a spruce up soon! Thanks again Adam

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    It was refreshing to have a room with some character. Unfortunately the room smelled damp as the carpet had a large wet area (due to a leak) which had been covered by a large rug! The shower room lacked a shaving point and towel rails...More

    Thank Linda B
    Management response:Responded 1 week ago

    Hi Linda Thank you for your feedback. We always strive to provide a comfortable visit for our guests and are sorry that you found shortcomings in this during your stay. We are looking into the issues raised and hope to have them rectified very soon....More

    Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

    Stayed for one night with my husband for our anniversary just to visit somewhere different- we hadn't been to Winchester before. The location is great. 10 minutes walk from the station and at the top of the high street so very central. We arrived early...More

    Thank Catherine C
    Response from General M, Manager at The WestgateResponded 4 weeks ago

    Hi Catherine, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for offering some areas of improvement- any feedback is good feedback, as it helps us improve as a hotel! I will pass the notes on to the housekeeper about the room- normally we...More

    Reviewed 4 July 2017

    Just back from a 1 night stay on a Sunday in room 1. There were 3 adults in our room and it was a fair price. The double bed was seriously comfortable, but unfortunately, my mum's z-bed was not so!! None the less, we all...More

    Thank RachSB
    Response from General M, Manager at The WestgateResponded 4 July 2017

    Hi Rachel, Thank you for leaving such a nice review, I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you hope to return soon- It's lovely to receive such nice comments. I apologise for you z-bed not being as comfortable as you would...More

    Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

    Stayed at the Westgate Hotel with hubby for one night. Great location in the town for shopping and well located for the railway station, uni and hospital. Shame there is no parking, but the local car park wasn't far and is free after 6pm and...More

    Thank Castle_crazy_woman
    Response from General M, Manager at The WestgateResponded 4 July 2017

    Thank you for leaving such a nice 5* review, we love it when our guests enjoy everything that the Westgate has to offer! I'm glad your breakfast was worth the wait, it's all made fresh in order to provide the best breakfast we can, and...More

    Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
    689 reviews
    #4 of 13 hotels in Winchester
     
    Holiday Inn Winchester
    998 reviews
    #5 of 13 hotels in Winchester
     
    Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
    945 reviews
    #9 of 25 hotels in Southampton
     
    Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
    1,600 reviews
    #6 of 13 hotels in Winchester
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Breakfast included
    • Breakfast Available
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • USD 109 - USD 148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Suites
    • Number of rooms
    • 10
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Westgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • Hampshire >
    • Winchester
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (34)
    Room & Suite (21)
    Dining (2)
    Hotel & Grounds (23)
    Nearby
    Holiday Inn Winchester
    998 reviews
    4.05 km away
     
    Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
    945 reviews
    15.27 km away
     
    Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
    1,600 reviews
    .37 km away
     
    Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
    689 reviews
    1.53 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Brasserie Blanc
    968 reviews
    .30 km away
    Cote Brasserie - Winchester
    539 reviews
    .15 km away
    Tanoshii Fusion
    396 reviews
    .08 km away
    Loch Fyne - Winchester
    1,110 reviews
    .29 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    The Great Hall
    826 reviews
    .13 km away
    The Royal Green Jackets Museum
    171 reviews
    .13 km away
    Winchester City Museum
    151 reviews
    .42 km away
    Winchester Buttercross
    114 reviews
    .37 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    TopTapir
    20 January 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from 868mimi | Reviewed this property |
    Sorry forgot to mention the free parking is only on Sundays. Thanks
    1
    Vote
    bunnybunskins
    24 September 2015|
    Answer
    Response from helen s | Property representative |
    Hello. Sorry for taking some time to reply but I am on holiday. We don't have free parking overnight but the council car park Tower Street is free and is just 2 minutes away from us.
    1
    Vote
    John-E_Football
    22 September 2014|
    Answer
    Response from helen s | Property representative |
    Hello, yes we do have free wi-fi throughout the building but as it's an historic and quirky building reception can be a bit patchy in certain rooms. Hope this helps
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Room 10 is in the gods- try and get one closer to the pub!"
    Read review
    "Request a room on a lower floor (1st) if you have any mobility concerns with stairs."
    Read review
    "Old wood Staircases leading to the beautifully decorated rooms."
    Read review
    ""snug" rooms over very good value for money"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing