We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Winchester Hotel & spa

0.6 km from Winchester centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Worthy Lane, Winchester SO23 7AB, England
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,617 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Winchester Hotel & spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,595: English reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2015

we were in Winchester for my granddaughters wedding the hotel was Quite good, the rooms were good and clean with all the usual refinements of a hotel of this standard. All the facilities were good and the breakfast was adequate, it is a little disappointing however that is of a buffet style, you would perhaps expect a hotel of this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roy M
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for your review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa. Whilst we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay we are sorry that you were disturbed by our Emergency Evacuation. Whilst these are (by their nature) very rare at the hotel we do put the safety of our guests at the very top of...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2015

Went on a "Superlative Sunday" deal which was excellent value for money. The hotel itself is very nice and all the facilities reflect the 4* status of the hotel. We were offered a free upgrade to our room, which was a brilliant unexpected surprise! Pool was great and very clean and the gym is much bigger than usual hotel gyms....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for your WONDERFUL review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and are delighted to note that you will be staying with us again in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Paul Eaves General Manager

Hampshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2015

We had a fantastic two nights stay beautiful room, staff lovely and friendly, made our stay special ( wife's birthday ) food so good, the breakfast best we have had in a hotel, the spa,s swimming pool and staff was a great end of a day site seeing, well done Winchester hotel not only recommend to friends and family but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irene M
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for your GREAT review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly pleased to note that your special occasion went so well. Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your Wife`s Birthday celebration. Paul Eaves General Manager

Reviewed 7 September 2015

I have to say this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in for customer service, food and value! We stayed on the Super Sunday deal and its such a fantastic deal! The food alone was worth what we paid for the whole stay. The restaurant staff (one guy in particular - he was a young tall guy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate A
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your LOVELY review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us overall and hope to welcome you back again very soon. Paul Eaves General Manager

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2015 via mobile

Had a great stay here for two nights recently. Fantastic service in the restaurant, we had lovely meal. the rooms were clean and tidy and the bed was comfortable, we didn't use the spa but the facilities looked great. would definitely recommend to friends

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ella93x
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your FANTASTIC review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much hope to see you again soon. Paul Eaves General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Went on a 'Friday Feeling' deal. Easy check in, lovely room, spa was very nice, evening meal was good and staff were lovely. Breakfast was also very good. It's annoying that you have to pay to park but that is becoming the norm with hotels and it was clear that this was the case before we booked. Could have done...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steph C
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your SUPER review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us overall and hope to welcome you back again very soon. Paul Eaves General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

On arrival at the hotel we were informed that our room had been upgraded & a bottle of proseco waiting for us as we were there to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. This was a wonderful surprise. All staff we met - from reception to bar to restaurant to housekeeping were warm, friendly, polite & professional. We enjoyed lovely drinks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sinead F
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your GREAT review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa. We are so pleased that you allowed us to share your 10th Wedding Anniversary celebrations and hope that you will spend many more with us in the years to come. Paul Eaves General Manager

Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed here during Bank Holiday weekend and it's a very nice hotel with a lovely sized room. We had an Afternoon Tea in the restaurant which was well laid out although maybe a bit more savoury items would have been nice (personal preference, I am aware) but overall it is good and plentiful. The pool is on the small side...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelTruthWales
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your LOVELY review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa. The team will be thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and on behalf of the whole team we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Paul Eaves General Manager

Pittsboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Please read my profile for my biases. Despite the sometimes cheeky replies from management, I really enjoyed this hotel. I travel a lot for business, and the average business hotel in the UK tends to be clean but basic. This hotel surprised me in a number of ways. I was here for a week, and since I don't like living...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sortova
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your LOVELY review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa. The team and I are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Paul Eaves General Manager

Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We had a nice stay at the Winchester Hotel for our friends' wedding. The room was clean and in decent condition; bed was very comfortable. There was some painting work going on in the corridors, which wasn't great, but presumably will be finished soon. The breakfast selection was very good, with good hot food options, and lots of pastries, fruit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PompeyRob
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel & spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your recent review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us overall and hope to welcome you back again very soon. Paul Eaves General Manager

202 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (137)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.7 km away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.9 km away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
990 reviews
3.8 km away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
1.2 km away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
712 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Winchester Hotel and Spa is a calming base from which to explore the beautiful historic City of Winchester. The hotel offers attentive, friendly and professional service, coupled with sophisticated interior styling throughout. Ample onsite parking is available (chargeable). ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Winchester Hotel & spa

Address: Worthy Lane, Winchester SO23 7AB, England (Formerly Winchester Moat House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Price Range: $142 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winchester Hotel & spa 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Winchester Hotel & spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Winchester
Winchester The Hotel
Winchester Hotel
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Winchester Hotel & spa staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from The Winchester Hotel & spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lift available.”
 of 5 bubbles 490dm, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother”
 of 5 bubbles travelster582, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't go for cocktails, a very short walk and a couple of nice places.”
 of 5 bubbles cantonap, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If there is a function on, obtain a room away from the entrance, where the smokers congregate, it can be noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles Y8259PAdavidc, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Quieter Rooms”
 of 5 bubbles triggeruk2017, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5