We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ashurst Campsite

Save
Traveller (94)
Room & Suite (7)
Pool & Beach (1)
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good28%
  • Average8%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“train line”(25 reviews)
“toilet block”(22 reviews)
“happy cheese”(19 reviews)
Free Parking
Free Wifi
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (248)Write a Review
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveller rating
108
71
20
21
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
108
71
20
21
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain linetoilet blockhappy cheesenew forestgreat sitehorses and cowssite rulespitched our tentcamping tripfree roamingco opqueens birthdaylocal pubtoilet and shower facilitiescycle hireopen grassfriendly site
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a short break and was beautiful! Toilet block was cleaned regularly and staff were lovely! Me and my boyfriend camped under trees next to the train line but didn’t cause us any disturbance, as stops running over night, Would defiantly stay again!!

Thank scarlett s
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyed our 4 days of camping here though it was raining most of the time. We found a lovely pitch under the trees which gave us some privacy but was still within striking distance of the toilet block. The children enjoyed playing with others...More

1  Thank annelkondon
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

We booked in en mass in tents and caravans for a big birthday celebration. The campsite is amazing, sharing the space with wild New Forest ponies and cattle. We got loads of helpful advice from the reception from where best to situate our large group...More

1  Thank JaneTess31
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We had a great stay at Ashurst. The shower/toilet block was very clean and well maintained. It was very quiet after about 10pm at night which meant everyone could get a decent sleep. There was lots of uneven ground and thus waterlogged areas which meant...More

Thank Kimmyhem
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We are experienced campers, and this is by far the worst campsite we've ever stayed at. The site itself is beautiful, however our experience was ruined by nonsensical rules. On arrival we were read off an enormous list of rules - FYI Ashurst, all you...More

Thank murphy3sa
View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345650
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Details
Details
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (94)
Room & Suite (7)
Pool & Beach (1)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Mrmyke00
31 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Mike W | Reviewed this property |
Yes but you have to pay 20p.
0
Votes
Charlotte D
9 June 2016|
Answer
Response from James A |
Stoves and BBQs running on gas or charcoal are allowed. No wood fires are allowed, due to the large risk of the fire spreading. So this means no campfires. Hope this helps!
1
Vote
Anna B
25 February 2015|
Answer
Response from James A |
This is a campsite, so there are very few facilities other than toilets, showers, and the washing up area. So unfortunately, no kettle.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Good pegs, and stay to the west of the shower block"
Read review
"Loads of choice on the campsite."
Read review
"You choose your pitch so the earlier you get there the more choice you have."
Read review
"local access to public transport"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing