We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Novotel Southampton

Traveller (314)
Room & Suite (123)
Dining (28)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The Novotel Southampton is located in the centre of Southampton. Located Opposite West Quay shopping centre and close to the Cruise terminals, Our hotel offers complimentary Wireless through the Hotel. Visit the nearby National Motor Museum, the New Forest national park and the Cathedral City of Winchester then relax and enjoy our restaurant, room service, bar, indoor heated swimming pool, gym and sauna. Onsite pay parking (£10 per night).
Read more
Property amenities
Room service
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Spa
Banquet Room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Sauna
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Safe
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
86Good for walkers
Grade: 86 out of 100
41Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
11Attractionswithin 0.5 km
2,037Reviews
378Photos
54Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 600
  • 824
  • 422
  • 114
  • 77
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ideal for a stay prior to a cruise from Southampton. Reception staff very friendly and accommodating. Rooms very comfortable and an excellent breakfast. Out of the 3 hotels sharing the parking space, would always prefer this one. Far superior. Restaurants nearby for
Read more
Response from Patrick_Le_Henaff, General Manager at Novotel Southampton
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Jean, Thank you for your review, It's always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. I will share your comment with the team We hope to see you soon. Kind regards Giulia Spedale Guest Relations Novotel Southampton
Read more
Everything is average or mediocre wouldn't say it was a good hotel. There was definitely the "omg theres children" atmosphere from some of the staff. Even though the children behaved immaculately. Won't be booking again luckily it was only one night as we wouldn't have stayed
Read more
Response from Patrick_Le_Henaff, General Manager at Novotel Southampton
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, Please accept my apologie if you didn't feel welcome with your children. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience. We hope to see you soon, Kind Regards Giulia Spedale Guest Relations Novotel Southampton
Read more
Nice Hotel. Good value for money. Lunch in the bar was excellent. Dinner was very good. Breakfast excellent. Parking an extra £10 per 24 hrs Room clean and tidy Excellent location for the Theatre. Did not use the gym or spa
Read more
Response from Patrick_Le_Henaff, General Manager at Novotel Southampton
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Andrew, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We are so pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again soon. Kind Regards Iwona Kowalczyk Guest Relations Novotel Southampton
Read more
We stayed at the Novotel Southampton as a pre cruise stopover. The hotel is conveniently located for the main train station, cruise terminal and various shops and local eateries. Our Superior room was clean, comfortable and perfectly functional for our short stay. The free WiFi
Read more
Response from Patrick_Le_Henaff, General Manager at Novotel Southampton
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Roger, Thank you for your kind review of your stay with us at Novotel Southampton. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Kind Regards Iwona Kowalczyk Guest Relations Novotel Southampton
Read more
I have been traveling to the UK for the past 9 years now and it was the first time that I needed to be over in Southampton over on my birthday. to my surprise I receive the best treatment ever and totally un expected from the Novotel hotel staff. All of them have made my
Read more
Response from Patrick_Le_Henaff, General Manager at Novotel Southampton
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Keith, This is such a wonderful review so thank you for taking the time to leave it. Myself and the team were so pleased to hear that we have left a positive mark on your stay. We aim to provide a top level of service to all our guests and its lovely to hear that on this occasion we succeeded. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind Regards Iwona Kowalczyk Guest Relations Novotel Southampton
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
our room
The usual comfy bed and sofa offering
Nice bathroom although the mirror wasn't heated and steamed up after my shower
Plenty of facilities in the Executive room
PreviousNext
12345625
They did not have any shuttle when we stayed. Most people took a taxi to the port and it was a reasonable option because it was close to our ship. If you don't know which pier your ship will dock at when it comes in, then your choice of hotels is tricky because the 2 pier areas are more than a mile apart. One is about a mile away from this hotel, but the other is at least 2 miles away. Princess and Cunard docked at the pier farther away when we were there the first time, and Celebrity docked at the closer pier when we were there the 2nd time, but that was still a mile walk from the hotel. The coach station (National Express) was about 2/3mi away from the hotel. We walked from the coach station to the hotel without a problem, but had wheeled luggage we could easily handle. The train station was the closest to the hotel, BUT it was across a major road that didn't have direct access points to any crosswalks to the hotel. In fact, the walk from the train station was just as far as the National Express station because the exit points out of the train station routed you (without shorter options) to the only crosswalk for the road, which was AWAY from the hotel. Only then could head back toward the hotel. It should also be noted that only 1 platform from the train station exited directly to that crosswalk. The other platforms required you to go up and over the tracks (via stairs, no escalator), then back down to the sidewalk that exited the station to the hotels. With luggage, this could be sporty if you pack heavy (even with wheeled luggage).
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi just wondering if the TGI Friday’s is still close by? Thanks
Yes, just 100 m away
1 vote
Show all answers
Do any of the rooms overlook the cruise ships ?
Yes depending on which side of the building you are on.One side you can see berth 106 clearly and on the other side of the building you can see the majority of the berths. Best to get a room as high up as possible.
1 vote
My room had both and it wasn’t a special suite. All rooms have their own bathroom, and the fridge is a mini-fridge.
1 vote
Show all answers
The cost is in fact £8 per day. The car park is safe and easily accessible. You may even see you vehicle from your room window depending on your room location. It’s worth the money for the security & convenience.
0 votes
PreviousNext
12345611
"Avoid this hotel and book ibis next to this hotl"
"DO NOT book this hotel!"
"Noisy guests latein corridors and poor noise insulation"
"Would definitely choose the 4th floor on the south side as these rooms are really lovely and spacious."
"Executive rooms were in a quieter location of the hotel, but I think any location would be good."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
USD 88 - USD 253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
novotel southampton hotel southamptonaccor southamptonsouthampton novotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSouthampton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
121
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing