We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mayview Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mayview Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 35: English reviews
Start your review of Mayview Guest House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I've stayed in a few B&B's before and this one is excellent. Much preferable to the chains and cheaper. Good value, great breakfast and amazing location. 3 mins into the centre of town. Would stay here again anytime!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niparat S
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Clean and cheerful B&B with a great atmosphere. Really enjoyed the company of the lady running it Noopin. Very helpful and sweet. Would highly recommend this place. Also incredibly close to the city centre

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked this guest house but when we turned up was told it was full and we'd been put in a different guest house across the road. Not what we booked and paid for ! This is false advertising and I wouldn't have chosen where we were put !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cuddog12
Lee F, Owner at Mayview Guest House, responded to this review

Hi, We are sorry you we're moved to another guesthouse, we accept this as our mistake. There was a problem with our channel management software and an overbooking occurred on our channel management software (something we have rectified now), rather than cancel your reservation we tried to accommodate you somewhere else. Please accept our appologies Kind Regards Lisette

Province of Avellino, Italy
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If I have to book a room in Southampton again, for sure I would not book there again. I Had a reservation but unfortunately at the last moment I could not take my fly, so i canceled my room the same day of my arriving, they should charge me £43 for my cancellation at the last moment but they CHARGED...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TAVOR_21
uk SW
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked this place last minute for a night before our cruise. Lovely young chap helped us in with our cases to our ground floor twin room. All beautifully clean and fresh. Nice size flat screen tv on the wall and shower room with loo en suite. After a very comfortable night we had a very filling full English breakfast on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fuzzylogique
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Booked this guest house for one night (thankfully) when we visited Southampton for a show. The outside of the building looked well kept but the front door and hallway looked shabby. Bedroom was listed as a triple but only two single beds - room was a nice size and decorated ok and two single beds were comfortable. We were in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cathy C
Lee F, Manager at Mayview Guest House, responded to this review

Hi, We're sorry about the smell in the room, there was works being carried out at a neighbouring property and they damaged our drains. We have rectified the situation now and there are no issues. Apologies this spoiled your stay. Best Lee

Lemesos
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Good comfortable bed and pillow; good location as well. Heating was working only on the towel rail in the shower; extra heating was added in the room but used to work only for a couple of minutes and then it stopped. Continental breakfast and breakfast room very disappointing. There is no lift and therefore I had to carry my luggage...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 222LIA
Reviewed 20 November 2016

we were in the top floor twin room, very warm and bright with own shower and toilet. Very clean and lovely breakfast, walking distance from station, theatre and town centre, cannot fault the staff. Free Wi-Fi as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

Amazing stay and MayView Guest House in Southampton. The lady who ran it was such a lovely lady and went out her way to make us feel at home. Rooms were awesome and beds so comfy! Also makes a superb English breakfast

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
Reviewed 13 November 2016

We stayed in this B&B and enjoyed the experience. The owner was very welcoming and helpful, the room was very comfortable, although very small and the whole place was very clean. We stayed in a garden room (room 2). The rooms itself was small, with a double bed against the wall with just enough room for a bedside table. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark N

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.7 km away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
430 reviews
0.7 km away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
665 reviews
0.1 km away
City Park Guest House
City Park Guest House
#14 of 43 in Southampton
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Polygon Villas Guest House
Polygon Villas Guest House
#20 of 43 in Southampton
88 reviews
0.0 km away
Abbey Lodge
Abbey Lodge
#32 of 43 in Southampton
26 reviews
0.7 km away
Fenland Guest House
Fenland Guest House
#17 of 43 in Southampton
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Mayview Guest House

Address: 30 The Polygon, Southampton SO15 2BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Price Range: $61 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayview Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Mayview Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mayview Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Newcastle

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Mayview Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“do not book there”
 of 5 bubbles TAVOR_21, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“i heard the rooms 4 and5 are best because of ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles , 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Had a look at all and they were all great”
 of 5 bubbles 348marion, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose another place to stay!”
 of 5 bubbles maryellen1210, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Do not go for 'basic room' as suspect this is the ground floor room we had.”
 of 5 bubbles neilg789, 27 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5