We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Abbey Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 70: English reviews
Start your review of Abbey Lodge
 Click to rate
Silsden, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights recently. The beds were so comfy but that is all. We had a 300 mile trip and we're going to be late for check in because of bad traffic on the m6...we rang to let them know and the person who answered said you cannot check in past 9 with us fair enough so...

1Thank alexkay1507
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

We paid £63 for an ensuite room no breakfast which is at the budget end for the area. The location is fairly central to Sourhseas Albert road with various pubs and restaurants. It was clean but the shower and bathroom small and not all rooms have ensuites. The check in is limited and not particularly customer orientated and parking is...

Thank dr7575
Eversley, Hants
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Only stayed for one night at short notice and rated against the very competitive price. Booked through hotels.com and got a very competitive price; good communication from the owner and friendly welcome. No frills with shared showers and toilets, but a sink in the room to freshen up. Very clean small attic room with a comfy bed.

Thank Michael J
Loveland, Ohio
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Pros..clean sheets, nice cookies, comfortable bed. Cons:everything else. Loud neighbors, paper thin walls, spotty wifi, run down neighborhood, and a proprietor who was grumpy. Not a good experience. I should have paid more attention to the negative reviews...were spot-on my experience.

1Thank jrblust
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Just stayed here for two nights, £130 per night. Nice welcome when we arrived, the guy was very polite. Turns out his wife (I presume) was quite the opposite. On the first morning she woke us up as she had to check if the toilet was blocked, as others in the place had been. Sure enough it was. She the...

3Thank Rkid12
AbbeyLodge, Owner at Abbey Lodge, responded to this review

I'm not surprised that you have neglected to mention what actually happened the night before, when you and your friend arrived back from the Victorious Festival - very much the worst for wear from drink and or drugs.Your friend passed out in a stupor in the front porch, blocking the entrance and I had to get up at 3 am...

Bideford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016

I booked this last minute for a business trip. it was clean and tidy and the staff were very welcoming. It is well situated and a short walk to local amenities, IE Pub, fast food etc. I did have to share a bathroom, but there was a sink in the room. WIFI coverage was good in my room.

Thank Mark G
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

Myself and my work colleague checked into the abbey lodge on the 15th of this month (August) after reading all the reviews on this site were a little apprehensive on wether to stay here , anyway please take no notice of any of the bad reviews at all! It's absolutely perfect, amazing clean comfortable bed and breakfast, the host Mike...

Thank Bebb54321
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We stayed one night in graduation week so the price was relatively high for what it was, I assume for this reason. The places we have stayed before were all booked out and this was one of the few left. Now I know why. When we arrived there was nowhere to park although to be fair this was sorted later...

Thank TheWrights72
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2016

We had a very comfortable king size bedroom with lots of very nice extras, even a digital clock on the bedside table. Lots of choices for drinks and toiletries and a two very nice bathtowel swans on our bed on arrival. All good, would stay again. Margaret.

Thank margarethannant
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewed 12 June 2016

I regretted disregarding the negative online reviews and comments immediately upon meeting the extremely rude woman as we arrived. They have a late afternoon check-in. We wanted to leave our bags and tour Portsmouth during the day. Instead we were very sternly scolded for showing up early, and told if we wanted service we should stay at an Inn!! Once...

1Thank Russ F
AbbeyLodge, Owner at Abbey Lodge, responded to this review

You arrived at 1030 in the morning when we were stripping and making beds and cleaning the rooms. There was no way we could let you leave your many large bags as there was no space. If rooms are ready we will, of course check guests in; but in this instance we had only just started. If you had planned...

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (10)
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.5 km away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
0.4 km away
Somerset House Hotel
Somerset House Hotel
#9 of 38 in Portsmouth
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#25 of 38 in Portsmouth
849 reviews
0.5 km away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 38 in Portsmouth
672 reviews
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Abbey Lodge

Address: 30 Waverley Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: $72 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Abbey Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Abbey Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front room was brighter”
 of 5 bubbles suemullins, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room at the back. Dont arrive after 9pm”
 of 5 bubbles Andiymac777, 25 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Choose en suite”
 of 5 bubbles launay2015, 22 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Budget single has a sloping roof so may not be suitable for a tall person.”
 of 5 bubbles REVAP1886, 5 Apr 2015 | Read review
“We chose double bed room. It was perfect”
 of 5 bubbles 439tam_sb, 21 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5