We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Florence House Hotel

Booking.comUSD 84*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 84*
USD 84*
USD 84*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

688 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Florence House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 663: English reviews
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed for one night to visit friends and it was a perfect. Well situated, clean and a lovely gastric pub. The staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough for us. Would definitely go again or try the other boutique hotels in their chain.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CheltenhamRMB
Reception1113, Public Relations Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest: Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Call us if there is anything we can help you with. We are looking forward to welcome you soon again and introduce you other rooms in a different hotel in detail should you be interested. Thank you and take...

Knutsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Pleasant small hotel in side street, not far from the front in Southsea. Helpful and friendly staff. Excellent breakfast. Clean room with very comfortable bed. No outlook from room, and parking can be difficult.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizX3760MX
Reception1113, Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - we are glad you liked the location, staff and breakfast. I'm afraid we do not advertise or offer views from the hotel as we are in a residential road however the sea is just an easy 2 minute amble away. Parking is free and a mix of on and off road readily available just...

Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Lovely weekend visit to this Southsea boutique hotel situated close to sea front. Room was clean and nicely decorated. Staff were very friendly, attentive and easy to deal with. Breakfast was great too. A longer stay would have been good. Bed was comfy but the only drawback was the man in the room upstairs was a heavy snorer and kept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank intothefireuk
Reception1113, Public Relations Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! It was so nice meeting you! Please give us a call next time you are planning on coming to Portsmouth and we will be happy to welcome you again!

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2017

We enjoyed our beautifully decorated superior room during our one night stay at the hotel. The room was much better than our last stay at a a bigger hotel in Porthsmouth; the staff were very good and looked after us very well. And we were really pleased by the breakfast, all the things you would expect from a cafe these...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophie P
Reception1113, Public Relations Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sophie: We truly enjoy providing an amazing "home away from home". It means a lot to us your review as we always want to be the very best! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Disappointed with the room for the £180 I paid , not what I would class as a superior king size room! With a view of a brick wall. Parking maybe free. But permit in side streets. Had to drive around for a while to find a place. Area, ok. Staff excellent. Food good. Clean. Stayed in lots of places for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
Reception1113, Front Office Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Julie. I'm sorry to read of your disappointment however do need to clarify that the room booked was not a Superior but a regular King room. We do indeed offer free parking on the road however this is normally no more than 30 seconds - 1 minutes walk away from the hotel so not an...

London
Reviewed 29 March 2017

After a blip caused by a 3rd party booking site we were offered a room at the Florence. We were upgraded to a better room even though it was not the hotels fault. We usually stay in a 'chain' hotel but I was not disappointed with the Florence. Do book directly with them though as some rooms are on high...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayess51
Reception1113, Public Relations Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Dear Guest: Thank you so much for your kind words - we very much appreciate your comments which we will pass onto the staff. Thank you for also commending our Gastro Pub, we are glad you enjoyed your visit. Thank you very much again! Please do not hesitate to contact us in advance for next visit. All the...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

Lovely hotel-standard rooms very functional-clean - just it a bit on the small size. However, we viewed the superior rooms and have booked one of these for our next stay! Very good GastroPub affiliated with hotel and just a minute walk away. Nice change from the impersonal corporate hotels and so good to be served by staff who care!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
Reception1113, Public Relations Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jan, your nice comments and your loyalty is well appreciated and you are exactly right, for your next stay we suggest to book a room in the Superior category, where the rooms are more spacious! We are looking forward to welcome you soon again! Many thanks for your lovely review and take care!

Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

There were 8 of us who stayed last week and I must say the welcome and how we were looked after during our stay was excellent. Agata and the team took great care of us and escorted us to our rooms to show us how everything worked and where everything was. We drank and ate in the bar and gastro...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia N
Reception1113, Public Relations Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julia: Thank you so much for your kind words - we very much appreciate your comments which we will pass onto the staff. Thank you for also commending our new Gastro Pub, we are glad you enjoyed your food too! Thank you very much again. Please do not hesitate to contact us in advance for next visit. All the...

Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 March 2017

We liked Florence House so much that we can recommend and will return. Three nights was the length of this stay to celebrate an anniversary and visit the naval dockyard. Things that we liked: 1. Very friendly, efficient, and professional staff, clearly well trained - Agata set the tone by her welcome, showing us to our room. 2. Superb breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank malcsaville
Reception1113, General Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience of Florence House Boutique Hotel and thank you for choosing our Hotel! It was nice meeting you and we appreciate your review and kind words. We appreciate you passing on your recommendations which we have communicated to our Operations/Maintenance manager. We have a new pub manager starting next week so I am sure he...

Reviewed 17 March 2017

Wow, what an amazing hotel in the heart of Southsea. I had contacted the hotel in the week as we knew we would be arriving late morning and we just wanted to make sure we could park and leave the car for the day. We were greeted by Agata who could not have made us more welcome, (remembering from the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nikki K
Reception1113, Public Relations Manager at Florence House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nikki: Thank you for leaving such a glowing review of The Mercer Collection. It was an absolute pleasure to welcome you on your Anniversary Celebration. I'm thrilled to read all your lovely comments on the attentive staff, breakfast, décor... I'm delighted you thoroughly enjoyed your special stay with us. Please get in contact next time we can help you...

232 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (31)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (134)
Viewed
Beach (1)
Viewed
Executive King Room with Shower (26)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Small Double Room with Shower (23)
Viewed
Superior Room with Bath and Shower (24)
Viewed
Superior Room with Shower (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.9 km away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
627 reviews
0.1 km away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,096 reviews
0.1 km away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 38 in Portsmouth
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 km away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 km away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#5 of 38 in Portsmouth
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Florence House Hotel, part of The Mercer Collection, is a unique boutique style hotel. The intimate arrangement creates a friendly atmosphere. The hotel is housed in an Edwardian residence that has been restored to create a beautiful blend of old and new. We have seven rooms ranging from doubles, to superior doubles and suites. All of our rooms are completely different in style, and offer something to suit everyone whether your taste is contemporary, antique, or vintage French! We have an on-site A La Carte Restaurant The Kitchen Southsea and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Florence House Hotel

Address: 2 Malvern Road, Portsmouth PO5 2NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: $120 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Florence House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Florence House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florence Hotel Portsmouth
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Florence House Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Knebworth Herts

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Florence House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You can choose traditional or more modern style rooms, but all rooms, and we had six within our party were gorgeous.”
marckingman, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“From our experience top floor offered superb comfort and space plus nice view.”
Melvin2910, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Room on first excellant”
colette487, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for an executive room”
hamlynprice, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had room 2 and the couple we went with room 5 both a very good standard and on different floors”
trishdelbridge, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 84* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 84
Hotwire.comUSD 84
TripAdvisorUSD 84
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates