We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

918 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 887: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Portsmouth
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

My second stay at this hotel and still nothing to complain about.. Appearance Overall appearance could do with updating but I know this is being addressed inside the building, with the restaurant and and bar area having major work..I look forward to seeing the final makeover Room My room as always was clean and fresh and I was lucky enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Queeniex H
Coelbren, Neath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed at this hotel in February 2017. The hotel car park is tight and generally full so finding a space is not easy. That said, it's free which is a bonus. Despite some major refurbishment in the bar and restaurant areas, this hotel is well worth a stay. It has excellent leisure facilities and the room was as good as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a nice hotel, in a great location with good views from high floors. It has easy access to the seafront, the harbour and Gunwharf Quays. Also a nice pool, jacuzzi and sauna to use at the end of a busy day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne749
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Yvonne749, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. Thank you for all of your positive feedback regarding location and our leisure facilities. Guest satisfaction is extremely important to us and I will pass on your kind comments back to the teams. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A short easy walk from Old Portsmouth, and in quiet location, this hotel is doing well for it's guests in the middle of an internal face-lift. Very helpful staff and quick efficient service. Do not be put off by the temporary dining room- it was fine for both dinner and breakfast. If this is a problem for you, there are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CMT-JWT
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear CMT-JWT, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. Thank you for all of your feedback, without it we wouldn't be able to continually improve our standards. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel location and hopefully made the most of all what Portsmouth has to offer. I am pleased...

Bavaria
Reviewed 1 week ago

This Hotel has refurbishments going on at the moment. A new bar/restaurant I believe? There was no mention of this on booking! Our room was rather unclean. The bathroom was not clean under the sink area. Skirting,etc neglected.There was thick dust on the Skirting next my side of the bed.I won't bore you with photos.It looks like the sheets are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teajay
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Teajay, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent stay. I will pass on all of your feedback regarding the cleanliness of your bedroom to the Head Housekeeper and General Manager so please accept my apologies for this. We do have soft...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Early one as we were apart 14th. Hotel made it special because of that. I'd give it 10/10 for that. Lovely 😊 weekend with love of my life. Great room, service and staff service. Top room, comfort, view, service. Thnx for everything. Xxxx

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alan8498
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear alan8498, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. What a lovely review! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a lovely Valentine's Weekend. Thank you for all your positive feedback regarding great room and service. I will pass on your comments back to the...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here on Friday 13th as was attending a work party. The whole experience was dealt with very professionally. From check in to check out. Good quality food and drinks and not over expensive to. The room was a nice size with a comfy bed. Would recommend this hotel for a stay in the city easy access to all the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil101066
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Neil101066 Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. What a lovely review! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your function and thank you for all your positive feedback regarding your stay. I will pass on your comments to the General Manager I am sure he will be thrilled. Customer...

Merthyr Tydfil, S Wales
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One night stay on business. Room was spotless on arrival but I was disappointed to find a stain on the bedding when I lifted the quilt to get into bed. Otherwise I couldn't fault the room really other than it being compact. The shower was fantastic and I enjoyed a swim in the pool. Breakfast was great and check out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glamlad
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Glamlad, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your positive feedback with regards to breakfast and pleasant reception staff. Please accept my apologies for the stain on your bed I will make sure the Housekeeping Manager is made...

Exmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived and were efficiently checked in. Strangely we were asked to pre-order the evening meal which seems unusual for an A large Carte restaurant. We were shown the menu to choose from, which as we were in an Executive room (with appropriate price £125 for D, B & B) we were told enabled us to choose anything from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Paul C, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. Thank you for all of your feedback, without it we wouldn't be able to continually improve our standards. I am pleased to hear that you had a pleasant and efficient check in as customer service extremely important to us. I will pass on...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for two nights as had business in the area and hotel was booked by company. Location ok but parking limited. Check in experience was a bit slow. Double room was small but bathroom was nice considering size. Hotel is a little tired and seems to have had a cosmetic makeover. Staff were friendly and breakfast was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MMB1954
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear MMB1954, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. Thank you for all of your feedback, without it we wouldn't be able to continually improve our standards. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your positive comments with regards to our newly refurbished bathrooms. We are...

146 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
0:41
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
6.5 km away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,117 reviews
0.8 km away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
#12 of 38 in Portsmouth
731 reviews
1.1 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located near the seafront in Portsmouth in the heart of Hampshire within easy access of the M27 MotorwayOnly a five minute walk from Old Portsmouth where you can spend a nautical day discovering the famous Historic Dockyard and ships HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and the Mary RoseThe leisure and shopping destination Gunwharf Quays near the Spinnaker Tower is set on the waterfront and minutes from the hotel with designer label stores, cinema, bowling alley, comedy club and numerous bars and restaurants. Port Solent is one of the south coast s most impressive marinas with shops, restaurants, bars and a cinemaThe hotel consists of 165 en-suite fully air conditioned bedrooms, Spirit Health Club, Academy Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and Lounge AreaThe excellent accommodation has all the comforts you would expect from a first class hotel including interactive TV's with movies and Play Station Games and high speed internet accessThe facilities include Restaurant, 24 hour Room Service, Lounge and Bar Area and complimentary use for residents of the Spirit Health Club with gym, indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. The hotel has 9 conference and training rooms and can accommodate from 2-150 delegates in the fully air-conditioned Academy Conference Centre with wireless internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffee. Accessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free (terms and conditions apply)The hotel has limited onsite parking but can supply permits for in house guest for the ample parking surrounding hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Address: Pembroke Road, Portsmouth PO1 2TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: $120 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Portsmouth staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
5 months ago
London, United Kingdom
Telford, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Portsmouth staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a sea view”
  • What the...?
 of 5 bubbles Bender_B_Rodriguez, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Sixth floor for best views and executive room perks.”
 of 5 bubbles marinerCoventry, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All very standard, go cheap and eat elsewhere.”
 of 5 bubbles Plashfacker, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Park early to get a space, and avoid trees laden with seagulls.”
 of 5 bubbles BerkshireTravelHog, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room on the upper floors 429/529 amazing views!”
 of 5 bubbles S8063OQmariaa, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5