We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Duke Of Buckingham

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Duke Of Buckingham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

581 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Duke Of Buckingham
See the most recent reviews
Showing 558: English reviews
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Both rooms were in the adjoining cottage. Our room was a family room and was clean and comfortable. Check in no problem. Bathroom very small and only a shower. No bath. Again very clean. Room very quiet although we could hear people moving about above next morning. We paid more for the rooms this time, but the location was just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jeanetteyardley4
Sarah T, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we really appreciate it.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017

We stayed at this accommodation for one night. Arrived in the morning and were able to leave our luggage as check-in was not until after 3pm. When we did return we had a considerable problem checking in. We were given the keys to a tiny single room when we had booked a twin. The girl at the desk said that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lilo-Elaine
Sarah T, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we really appreciate it.

Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Staff were lovely and room was standard but clean. First night we heard footsteps above us the second night was terrible. Heard every conversation next door and unfortunately also heard them during their intimate time! Had to call the night number in the end but had a sleepless night. Would not stay again due to the lack of sound insulation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
Sarah T, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we really appreciate it.

Modbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We spent one night at this pubhotel in old Portsmouth whilst helping our son move out of his shared accommodation in Southsea. The price was almost too good to be true but it did, in fact, prove to be true. For less than £50 we had a very comfortable and quiet room in an adjoining cottage. Yes, the rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhilgS
Sarah T, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your wonderful review and great score. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards Sarah Templeton General Manager

sussex
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Generally the hotel is good. The room was very clean & tidy. We stayed in room 5 & found the room and the bathroom quite small. The wall to the adjoining room is thin & you can hear all what is going on & what is being spoken. I recommend eating at the adjoining pub, great quality food, huge portions...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wannagoawaytoday
Sarah T, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your wonderful review and great score. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards Sarah Templeton General Manager

Winchester
Reviewed 9 February 2017

The room was large and clean, and nicely warm on a freezing night! The windows are double glazed so no street noise. The receptionist was very helpful and kind. A very enjoyable stay! Definitely stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca R
Sarah T, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your wonderful review and great score. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards Sarah Templeton General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

We visited friends in Portsmouth and we're staying in room 9 with our 7 month old baby. The room is quite small but absolutely fine and the cot provided was much appreciated. We were given a parking permit for our stay which was a godsend as parking can be tricky round there. Our only issue was with the group of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annabel D
Sarah T, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, we are very sorry for the noise disturbance caused to you during your stay with us and We really appreciate your feedback. Kind Regards Sarah

Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Treated very well and any questions were answered. Staff were very polite and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Lovely pub next door with discount too. My favourite hotel in Portsmouth.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence T
Sarah T, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we really appreciate it.

Hampton, New Hampshire
Reviewed 2 February 2017

I booked for myself and my family to have a meal out on boxing day this year .We were not disappointed at all so friendly and a warm welcome the food was amazing , cooked beautifully we very much enjoyed our self's . so I booked again for my sons 18th birthday yesterday and once again amazing food the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank noahbh
Cowes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2017

On arrival the staff were helpful, confusion with check-in times and meant I had to wait 2 hours however was just a misunderstanding. Once we were checked in getting showed to our room which was down an alley way....to see we were entering a garage! Yes a converted garage, I was not made aware of this through booking, however we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Char480
Sarah T, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate your feedback.

116 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
2.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
1.0 km away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,428 reviews
2.4 km away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
596 reviews
1.7 km away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the heart of Old Portsmouth and surrounded by a wealth of sea faring history, The Duke of Buckingham offers the perfect destination. Our Stylish accommodation with FREE parking is perfect for a short break or longer stay. We are just minutes from the beach and bustling harbour with Gunwharf Quays, HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and Portsmouth`s Historic Dockyard all within easy walking distance. We very much look forward to welcoming you and helping to make your stay in Portsmouth a great one! Please note - We do not serve breakfast ... more   less 

Additional Information about Duke Of Buckingham

Address: 119 High Street, Portsmouth PO1 2HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: $75 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke Of Buckingham 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Duke Of Buckingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Duke Of Buckingham Hotel Portsmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Duke Of Buckingham staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Duke Of Buckingham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“some rooms don't have private bathrooms”
 of 5 bubbles , 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I believe not all rooms have ensuite facilities so ask if you want one!”
 of 5 bubbles Anniebooker, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask about size”
 of 5 bubbles RussYYZ, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in adjoining cottage better than in the main hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles jeanetteyardley4, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Take ear-muffs to reduce noise from the other guests”
 of 5 bubbles Lilo-Elaine, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5