We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Imperial Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Imperial Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Imperial Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 163: English reviews
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

We were visiting our daughter in Stroud and were looking for an overnight stay. We found the Imperial on Trip Advisor and having read previous reviews decided to book a room. The car park is quite small as it says on the hotel information so it is best to arrive early, we were not able to check in straight away...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alexander W
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

I was in this hotel for two nights with a couple of Friends. When we arrived the staff was so helpful with us giving us all the confirmation about our hotel stay. They served us a really nice full english breakfast cooked in the moment, It was wonderfull because we didn't know that the breakfast was included. The rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Diego D
London
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

For those using public transport, this hotel is ideally located just across the road from the station. I stayed here three nights while walking part of the Cotswold Way. Staff were friendly, room was fine, breakfast was OK. And the local Wetherspoons is just round the corner!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IanCLondon
Reviewed 20 October 2016

The hotel offers clean rooms, a decent full english breakfast and a a delicious Thai menu.Very good location next to the train station. I received a welcome letter with a detailed information about all the hotel services. The staff were very friendly and I will come back again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rubén D
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

We booked for a weekend break via the internet. There is free parking and a Thai restaurant downstairs. The location couldn't be more central. The room was clean but small and noisy. The general decor was dated. Having said this, we would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steven P
Nailsworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

The downstairs ladies loos at The Imp are perfectly clean but the smell is awful. The ventilation does not work and the "solution" seems to be to use highly scented air fresheners whose fragrance builds and builds to a thick stale odour. Surely it's not too much to air them properly

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gill W
Lakshman G, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gill W, I am sorry to hear that you came to our hotel to use the toilet and went straight to tripadvisor to post such a review. We have checked our guests list and you didn't even stayed with us. Please note that from this week onwards, downstairs toilets use will only be for guests and customers use. A...

Rotherham
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed for business last Monday night, easy to find and I could park outside. They have a Thai restaurant on site but Monday's they're closed. The bar also shut at 9pm! In fact there's not much open in Stroud on Monday evenings. We had a good nights sleep in spite of some noise from a boiler room (or something) next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed one night for the Stroud festival in August. Great location very central every thing an easy walking distance. Friendly and helpful staff and service,a good breakfast,extra very good sausages delivered on request with a smile.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank simon e
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the Imperial for one night, very friendly and accommodating staff. Room and bathroom were large and very clean. Comfortable beds. Excellent breakfast with all types of cereal, fruit, juice, tea & coffee and English breakfast. Very close to the town centre and station. Would go back and also highly recommend..

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank VARNE S
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2016

On parking the car at the hotel car park, I was a bit taken aback to be confronted by an elderly lady next to an adjacent car demanding to know if I was staying. I replied I was and she went away contented. After locating my companion who had travelled separately I discovered that Reception was a few leaflets and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mick F
Lakshman G, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mick F, We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Regarding your incident , we do not ask our guests in the car park whether they are staying or not as we have 24/7 cctv cameras and we take the car registration plate at check in. The management in our premises is very young...

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stroud
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
2.5 km away
Bear of Rodborough Hotel
5.1 km away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
3.7 km away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
232 reviews
13.5 km away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#20 of 21 in Gloucester
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Food & drink at the hotel
Thai Royal Orchid
Thai Royal Orchid
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Imperial Hotel is situated in the centre of the Cotswold town of Stroud amidst beautiful countryside views. Recently renovated with bright, modern furnishing, The Imperial Hotel was once a coaching inn and was built over 300 years ago. It still retains many period features throughout the hotel. All 21 rooms at The Imperial Hotel feature private en suite bathrooms, TVs, hairdryers, and tea and coffee-making facilities. Full English breakfasts are available to guests each morning. The Imperial Hotel Thai Royal Orchid Restaurant serves a traditional Thai menu. The hotel also offers a range of wines, real ales and single malt whiskies. Stroud is situated in the Cotswolds surrounded by beautiful countryside, rivers, streams and wooded valleys. Stroud Railway Station is immediately next to The Imperial, and the nearby M4 motorway is easily accessible. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: Station Road, Stroud GL5 3AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud
Price Range: $118 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, SpeedyBooker.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Stroud
The Imperial Hotel Stroud, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Imperial Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for rooms with views. I love baths and always get a room with a bath and a window that opens.”
 of 5 bubbles 779faridas, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No comment”
 of 5 bubbles MickF511, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I don't know what other rooms and floors are like so cant comment ,as I always stay on first floor ,and sleep through anything ..LOL”
 of 5 bubbles merryweather6213, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Corner rooms eg 106 have four Windows so although on the north side it's a light room.”
 of 5 bubbles jaybea68, 9 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Book via ukescapes. Great room deal offer.”
 of 5 bubbles edithc904, 8 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay