We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Porch House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Porch House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

459 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 458: English reviews
Start your review of The Porch House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Was going to stay here for the night but all the rooms were taken so we stayed across the road This place does food until 3 and then again at 6 It has a great atmosphere but you have to wait a long time to get a drink which is fine but the staff doesn't acknowledge you and just looks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anita E
ADavenportJones, General Manager at The Porch House, responded to this review

Dear Anita, Glad you came over but we'll make sure you're served a little quicker next time. Hope to see you back soon. Very best wishes, Alex

Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The rooms are just amazing, we stayed in a feature room, it was magical. Clean and well presented, quality bedding, bottled water, coffee machine, stand alone bath with super products. Spotlessly clean. Highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay S
ADavenportJones, General Manager at The Porch House, responded to this review

Dear Kay. So good to read your comments. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Very best wishes, Alex Davenport-Jones

Cornwall
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our fourth visit..Arrived Sunday and sat outside in the sun until our room was ready. Stayed in room 6 which is a lovely room looking over the front of the building,great shower huge bed and very clean throughout. Staff were very polite and very welcoming. As we were only staying the one night we decided to eat in the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cornwall54
ADavenportJones, General Manager at The Porch House, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, I'm thrilled you came back a fourth time and we very much hope to see you back for a fifth visit soon. Thank you for such kind words and taking the time and trouble to send them through. Warm regards, Alex Davenport-Jones

Reviewed 1 week ago

For a cozy, historic inn experience, I recommend a stay at the Porch House. But plan to have dinner someplace else in town. Our shower didn't work in the first room (no water pressure), so we got moved the 2nd night to a wonderful room (#8), with vaulted ceiling, its own staircase, and a large, comfy bed and clawfoot tub....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathy H
ADavenportJones, General Manager at The Porch House, responded to this review

Dear Cathy, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write in with your review and I'm glad most went well. I'll certainly take your comments on board about the food and tables and rest assured we'll react accordingly. Very best and hope to see you back soon, Alex

Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great stay at the Porch House, helped by a very hot spring day and very attentive staff. We were allocated our room early as requested in order to change for an afternoon wedding nearby. Our room was beautiful with a super king sized bed, and a short flight of stairs up to the bathroom. No separate shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Forburg
England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good quick service. Lovely, characterful building. Food was okay. There was a lack of vegetarian options (only one main course option). The vegetarian tagliatelle starter stated on menu that it had Parmesan cheese which is NOT vegetarian! It is made using calf rennet. I recommend this is changed on the menu, or an alternative offered. We asked for no Parmesan...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank agpk
Sugar Land, Texas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had evening meal in the pub one evening around the fire and it was just great! The restaurant was fully booked (you might need to book in advance to eat there) and they kindly sat us around the fire in the main bar area. We shared it with a few couples and a gent with his two large dogs asleep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephenwr
Macclesfield
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went for dinner. The dining room was lovely and we were looking forward to a lovely meal. Unfortunately the food was greasy and so was disappointing. The prices were appeared to be £2 dearer than the menu outside the building

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SUE L
UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room 8 excellent, staff friendly, lovely ambience. The evening restaurant meal was disappointing with lack of choice on the main course menu with three meals unavailable although the starters were excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GLWUk
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a meal here on our trip to the cotswolds, stopped for lunch here, both had the burger and chips and it was fantastic, beautiful little pub and great service too. Was a beautiful sunny day so got to sit outside in the garden at the back which was lovely. If i ever return to stow i would definitely eat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amylouise26x

174 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (164)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.0 km away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
155 reviews
0.2 km away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
298 reviews
1.4 km away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,372 reviews
0.2 km away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
307 reviews
4.2 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Public House. Dining. Luxury rooms. Steeped in history, The Porch House is thought to be the oldest inn in England, with parts of the building dating back to 947 AD. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Porch House

Address: Digbeth Street, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1BN, England (Formerly The Royalist Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: $154 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Porch House 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Orbitz, LateRooms, HRS and Agoda so you can book your The Porch House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Porch House Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Porch House staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Porch House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you can afford to splurge a bit, request room #8 or a similar room.”
  • Room #8
142cathyh, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The town is not over busy so all rooms should prove quiet enough.”
clivecornwall, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask about size if you have children or dogs.”
_dotcollier, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Haven't rated the rooms because we didn't stay here.”
534ians, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We only had a meal so no idea about the rooms!”
anthonybG2760LS, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5