We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Lansdowne

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Lansdowne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 194: English reviews
San Diego, California
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were traveling with friends and looking for a comfortable B & B in a good location in the Cotswolds. Our 4 night stay was perfect! Excellent location for walking to pubs, restaurants, museum and shops. The beds were comfortable with plenty of pillows and comforters. There was a desk which was very convenient so as not to have to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aj082015
Bexley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We recently stayed at this B&B but came away with mixed feelings. Unfortunately our room was not one of those that had been refurbished, which has made me only give a score of 4. The room was clean, but woodchip wallpaper, an old light shade and furniture did not fit with the ambience that the hotel was trying to create....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wheelers30
Lansdownevilla, Owner at The Lansdowne, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback which is always welcome and appreciated. We are sorry to learn that you were somewhat disappointed with your room, we try extremely hard to make all our guests as comfortable as possible.shame you did not discuss this with me while you were staying. You are correct though the rooms and your room are very clean...

Stockport
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Perfectly positioned in Bourton, just a short walk from everything that you want to see and do. The Lansdowne is beautifully appointed and Anthony & Cheryl go out of their way to make the place look terrific and fill you up with good breakfast food to have a full and busy day. But therein lies a problem. They go out....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank musicman56
Lansdownevilla, Owner at The Lansdowne, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and feedback which I have read with interest. Yes the Lansdowne is as you say centrally located in the middle of the cotswolds 2 min walk to bourton and well positioned for surrounding cotswold villages and towns. Thank you for your compliments regarding our interiors which we will continue to upgrade in 2017always appreciated. Glad...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Me and my girlfriend had the luxury of a rare child-free weekend, so I booked The Lansdowne after seeing the reviews on Trip Advisor. The Lansdowne has a check-in period between 3 and 6pm. We were travelling on a Friday night from Bedfordshire, so asked if we could check in slightly later than 6pm and they were more than happy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee R
Bury Lancashire
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Lansdowne. We had requested a ground floor room and that is what we got - brilliant. The room was very comfortable with a huge bed which gave us a fabulous night's sleep. The breakfast was excellent with fresh fruit, pastries, cooked meats, cheese, cereals, juices which could be taken...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SusieQBury_7
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Lansdowne for two nights and would agree with all the comments regarding the breakfast it really is superb ,but we found found the room a huge disappointment.We were given room 11 situated on the third floor which is one of the rooms that have not been refurbished.This room is small and dark with very out-dated furniture...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Stephen B
Lansdownevilla, Owner at The Lansdowne, responded to this review

We are very sorry to learn of your disappointment regarding the room. You are correct the room has not been refurbished as yet we are working on this, however to say the room is outdated is a little harsh, this room has all the same amenities, is clean and comfortable the same`as our refurbished rooms have to offer an exceptional...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I stayed for a weekend and we're very impressed with this really cozy, clean and charming B&B. The breakfast is all you would want - fresh fruit and different hot options. A very late check in was accommodated for us and the owners Anthony and Cheryl are very friendly and had great recommendations for things in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taggart D
Dorking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice comfy room, very friendly and welcoming hosts and a good breakfast, what more could you want! Enjoyable two night stay whilst down for the races and would be very happy to return when we are back in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bgtravellers
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We recently had a double birthday so decided to go with our expectant daughter and son in law to our favourite getaway, boughton. We were unable to stay at our usual b and b, so decided to book The Landsdown. Wot a great choice. The rooms were comfortable, spotlessly clean and in a great location only minutes walk from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barry p
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came to this place for a romantic break for my birthday. We had very nice welcome from the lady owner. The whole place is very modern, tastefully stylish and immaculate, they really do look after the place. Our room was amazing, it had a 4 post bed and a great pink chair. The breakfast was divine, I had the full...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luthfur2k

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.6 km away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
639 reviews
0.6 km away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
493 reviews
1.6 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
924 reviews
2.3 km away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
984 reviews
0.7 km away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#4 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Lansdowne (formerly known as Lansdowne Villa) is family owned and is run by Anthony & Cheryle. It is situated at the quiet end of the main street and is a 3 minute level walk to the centre of the village of Bourton on the Water. All 12 rooms are en-suite and offer either superking, kingsize, double or twin beds, we also have 2 single rooms. They all have tea/coffee making facilities, TV, hair drier and are centrally heated, most of the rooms have baths as well as showers. Some rooms have space for travel cots but please check with us before making a booking. A full English breakfast is served in the relaxing atmosphere of our dining room and includes a range of cereals, yoghurts, fruit teas & coffees. We also offer a continental selection which includes pastries and fresh fruit. All guests have a key to come and go as they please, there is plenty of off-road parking and Wi-fi is available throughout the building. Check-in is available between 2 & 6pm (contact us if you wish to check-in outside of these hours and we will do our best to accommodate). Check-out is by 10am but we do our best to be flexible with prior arrangement. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lansdowne

Address: Lansdown House Lansdowne, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2AR, England (Formerly Lansdowne Villa Guesthouse)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range: $96 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lansdowne 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Travelocity so you can book your The Lansdowne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Villa Guesthouse Hotel Bourton-On-The-Water
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lansdowne staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Lansdowne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Off street parking is available”
 of 5 bubbles aj082015, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask to stay in one of the refurbished rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Wheelers30, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“First floor.”
 of 5 bubbles musicman56, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 is on the ground floor next to the front door so very easy access to the outside.”
 of 5 bubbles SusieQBury_7, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you don't like climbing stairs ask for 1st floor”
 of 5 bubbles Badgergirl66, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay