We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pelham House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pelham House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

733 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 726: English reviews
Start your review of Pelham House
 Click to rate
Lewes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A potentially beautiful hotel with a fascinating panelled dining room is ruined by lack of attention to detail. There does not appear to be any top down management, and our lunch was spoiled by unnecessary slip ups. The three of us - all female - ordered scallops with pancetta for our starters. But the pancetta failed to arrive , and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheard15
Daniel R, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review

Thank you for your very informative and constructive review of our hotel. I am sorry to read your review of our hotel. Whilst we always do our very best to ensure that every experience with us is a pleasant one, sometimes we do miss the occasional point, something that we aim to rectify as soon as we are made aware...

Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Myself and my wife wanted an afternoon tea for our wedding reception. We made enquiries with Leanne, who was very helpful. We were very happy with the price of the afternoon tea. We booked it with ease. We went with prosecco and then pimped it with our own syrups. We had a few people with dietary needs and these were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ukfirl8
Daniel R, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel and congratulations. I am pleased to see that your wedding reception afternoon tea was a pleasant one. We aim to provide the best possible experience for anyone coming to Pelham House Hotel and I am happy to see that your event was one as such. Should you be looking to organise another...

Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is a hidden gem just behind the main road at the highest part of the town and accessed down a narrow, one way side road. The staff are well presented and polite. The walled garden at the rear of the property is beautiful and a sun trap when the weather is nice. Our room was situated up a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Graham L
Daniel R, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review

Thank you Graham for your review of our hotel The team here at Pelham House Hotel are the pride of our hotel, we hope offering a service that truly is second to none. I am sorry however to see that your bathroom was not up to the same standard. We are steadily aiming to bring all of our rooms to...

Wicken
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I smiled when I read the review the previous reviewer about the Bloody Mary scenario - I was there when that happened. It was exactly as he said. I left without a drink because it was so bad! I was ripped off over dinner. £120 for B&B and for £30 extra dinner was included. I paid £150. When I got...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PlumBailey
Daniel R, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel I am sorry to see that your stay with us did not match the standard that we try to reach for every guest who stays with us. I do thank you for your criticism however, as comments such as yours allow us to address problems and have them looked at and righted...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had booked for Sunday afternoon tea as a reunion of 4 school friends and as it was a lovely day sat in the garden. We had been aware of the negative comments on Tripadvisor but had been assured by the staff by email in advance they they would ensure that our visit was pleasant. The sandwiches were more suited...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jo M
Daniel R, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review

Thank you Jo for your review of our hotel. I am sorry to see that your afternoon tea experience was not to the standard we hope to offer with every visit to Pelham House Hotel. We are constantly looking to improve and address any issues with Pelham House Hotel, so should you find yourself here again I hope that your...

East Sussex
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Popped in for a quick drink prior to gong onto a nearby restaurant. OMG what a mistake but certainly entertaining! My wife asked for a Bloody Mary whereupon the bar attendant promptly announced he didn't know how to make one and that he didn't normally do bar work! After trying to explain the necessary ingredients, my wife ended up making...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank BullyBeefBill
Daniel R, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review

Thank you for our review of our hotel I am sorry to see that your experience with us was not to the standard we hope to offer with every guest who visits Pelham House Hotel. We are constantly looking to improve and address any issues with the hotel so welcome your constructive feedback. Again I extend my apologies to you...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The good points:= Lewes is a beautiful town Close to the high street Near the station The room we paid over £100 night for was a converted garage which meant that anyone over 6 foot could look through the window and see us lying in bed. The outlook gave us a panoramic view of the car-park. The breakfast was OK,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank paulvwalker1
Daniel R, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review

Thank you Paul for your review of our hotel. I am sorry to see that your stay with us at Pelham House Hotel was anything less than the high standard which we hold ourselves to. Reviews such as yours are, whilst disappointing to read, welcome as they very much allow us to take the constructive criticism and improve as a...

Oxfordshire, UK.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had high hopes of this hotel but were left quite disappointed with our Pelham House experience. Firstly, Lewes is a lovely place to visit and the hotel is perfectly located in the centre of the town and within easy reach of a multitude of great pubs & restaurants. There is also a rather nice impressively manicured garden 5 mins...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Chris-the-Stokie
Daniel R, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review

Chris, I have just started as the new General Manager of Pelham house and would like to thank you for your very informative and constructive review of our hotel. As I have just mentioned on the previous review I have responded to I am currently progressing around our rooms and public areas to ensure that issues such as what you...

Wimborne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for a three night break in a Executive Double/Twin room with dinner bed and breakfast. The car parking is limited and you must book car parking when you originally make your accommodation booking. Check in was straight forward and we were issued our key for room 9 on the first floor. There is no lift at Pelham House...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Howie30
Daniel R, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review

Thank you Howie for your very informative and constructive review of our hotel. I am sorry to read your review of our hotel. Whilst we always do our very best to ensure that every stay with us is a pleasant one, sometimes we do miss the occasional point, something that we aim to rectify as soon as we are made...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A pretty building in a lovely town. We checked in and were told breakfast was extra despite our email confirmation saying it was included. We got it sorted but this was hassle we didn't need. We were given a room right at the top of the hotel - a long flight of stairs after 16 miles on the south downs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DougShaw1
Daniel R, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review

Thank you Mr Shaw, for your review of our hotel. I thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Pelham House Hotel. We are about to start to redecorate the corridors and the stairways and have plans in place to redecorate the bar & lounge areas in the coming months. I will get my maintenance team to have...

146 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (136)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:59
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.4 km away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#5 of 8 in Lewes
361 reviews
0.1 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#7 of 8 in Lewes
914 reviews
3.7 km away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#4 of 8 in Lewes
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 km away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Lewes Town Centre
10.1 km away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Pelham House Restaurant
Pelham House Restaurant
Cuisines: British, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pelham house offers 31 individually designed bedrooms that blend the best of modern fittings and comfort whilst preserving many original historic features of the building. All rooms are fitted with contemporary handmade oak furniture, remote controlled TVs, phones and high speed data points and have en-suite baths or luxury showers, a range of natural toiletries and comfortable beds with crisp white linen. Most bedrooms overlook our pretty south facing garden, framed by views towards the South Downs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pelham House

Address: St. Andrews Lane, Lewes BN7 1UW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Price Range: $143 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelham House 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pelham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelham House Hotel Lewes
Pelham Hotel Lewes
Pelham House Lewes, East Sussex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pelham House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Southampton, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Pelham House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room overlooking the garden (although I expect that will cost extra) as they should be quieter.”
GrahamL767, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Refuse to have the converted garage rooms - justawful.”
PlumBailey, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
paulvwalker1, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you book a parking space prior to arrival!”
Chris-the-Stokie, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pay for a garden room or ask for one facing south.”
Howie30, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5