We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Ship Hotel

Agoda.comUSD 103*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 119*
USD 103*
Great Deal
USD 105*
USD 105*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,047 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Old Ship Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,004: English reviews
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We had stayed here previously and they maintained the great service we remembered. Lovely breakfast with a view. Warm front-desk staff. The room was slightly noisy (bad insulation at the window), but we did have a partial view of the Pier, so that was great. Really clean and comfortable otherwise. Would definitely come visit again!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Madalina Carla M
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madalina Carla M, Thank you so much for your amazing review. We are delighted to read you had such an enjoyable experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Enrica, Guest Relations

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016

This is a hotel with a historic past, old but nicely refurbished and comfortable. We had a short break here and would certainly visit again. We had a first floor room and there was a warning that it can become noisy outside at night. Brighton is a city that never sleeps, but we did not experience any disturbance. Our dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glynn t
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear glynn t, Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Enrica

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016

I stayed at the Old Ship for 2 nights for a conference. I stayed in a King Room and the room was lovely and spacious too. Service was friendly and fast. I had breakfast delivered to my room both mornings and the food was great. The only downside is the noise. I was in a room that overlooked a street....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank staceycav
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear staceycav, Thank you for your great review. We are glad you had a lovely stay and we hope to welcome you back to the Old Ship Hotel for your next visit to Brighton. Kind regards, Enrica, Guest Relations

Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

We visited this hotels restaurant and we were extremely happy with the service we received. We chose the 3 course option for £22.95 per person and the choice was lovely. The service was excellent and food was served in good timing. Will definitely visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chrissiescott
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chrissiescott, Thank you very much for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed your meal and we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Enrica, Guest Relations

Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Just stayed the one night but I would definitely stay again. Upgraded to the King room and I'm so glad I did, such a gorgeous room, nice and spacious. Lovely hotel, lots of area in the bar, great terrace to sit outside and enjoy a cocktail. Check in was smooth and efficient, slightly wooden, but very polite. We ate in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisamoconnor
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lisamoconnor, Thank you ever so much for your amazing review. Glad to read you had such a lovely stay. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Enrica, Guest relations

Milton, New York
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Very warm helpful welcome from reception, nice clean ,comfortable stay, good location, we didn't eat here but on our first night's stay decided to have a drink in the bar, was rather disappointed with the service, two members of young staff were present but were too busy putting glasses away to either acknowledge that we were waiting and being as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R7269KBmarias
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear R7269KBmarias, Thank you for reviewing The Old Ship Hotel. It was great to learn, that you had received a warm welcome from the Front of the house team. Our Food and Beverage team has members of staff, which are support team members, I am really sorry if they have not explain this to you. All your comments will be...

Stokesley, Cleveland, UK
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Stayed for the Bank Holiday as we were visiting family in the area, we found the hotel to be in a great place, close to the sea and shopping areas etc. Upon arrival we were greeted by a nicely decorated public area and friendly and efficient staff. But sadly that's were the hotel charm ended, we were placed in room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shello
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shello, Thank you for your review. All comments mentioned will be shared with the team, and where ever possible improvements will be made. Thank you and kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations

Fontvieille, Monaco
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Nice old fashion type of hotel-nice and helpful staff - We had a vey comfortable sea view room recently refurbished I think- As we wanted a quiet evening we choose the bed&Breakfast + dinner deal - we were asked to book , but I think this is for the convenience of the staff as the restaurant had only 5 tables...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mireandy
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mireandy Thank you for your review I am sorry you were not happy with the starter but so pleased you enjoyed the rest of your stay We hope to welcome you back again soon. Regards Paul Wright General Manager

Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel many time and it is the perfect location to visit Brighton the rooms are very nice we great sea views the staff are very friendly and professional the breakfast choice is amazing the outside area is perfect for a evening drink

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve H, Thank you for this amazing review. We hope to welcome you back to Brighton on your next visit. Kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations

North Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Old hotel needs a refurb,room 506 side room overlooking skips,overflowing rubbish bins,noisey inside car park at end of street, hotel lift the slowest I"v ever been in needs updating.shower worst ever old Victorian ,useless ,,beds uncomfortable ,old bedroom furniture ,winston Churchill stayed here ,he would be ashamed to see it now ,it must have been new when he stayed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Terry B I am sorry you were disappointed with your review. We have made the hotel opposite aware of your concerns over their skips. We have cheaper wines available and check our pricing regularly against the competition. Though I appreciate you can buy in a supermarket cheaper but other costs need to be factored into this with a hotel....

917 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (627)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
Room/Suite (156)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (68)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (262)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (226)
Viewed
Accessible Guest Room (32)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Double Deluxe Room (Sea View) (32)
Viewed
Double Guest Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Superior King Guest Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)
Viewed
Twin Guest Room (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,031 reviews
0.1 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
1.3 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.9 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,132 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#11 of 44 in Brighton
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $130 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#8 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Ship Hotel staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Ship Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go to Premier Inn or other similar brand. If not ask for high room in the east wing”
RhysB515, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Stunning views to the front of the hotel but very noisy”
AllyeB, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra and get a sea view room if you are staying for any length of time”
marjthomas, 18 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on seafront can be very noisy, rooms at side are quieter and lovely decor (mine had a seaview as the window protruded!)”
frexibubble, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“Sea-view rooms are rather warm”
kevinl807, 12 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
USD 103* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 105
Hotels.comUSD 105
CancelonUSD 119
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates