We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Ship Hotel

Save
Traveller (859)
Room & Suite (485)
Dining (74)
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good39%
  • Average21%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“sea view”(265 reviews)
“sea front”(226 reviews)
“ceiling fan”(44 reviews)
Free Wifi
Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (2,504)
There are newer reviews for The Old Ship Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
2,446 results
Traveller rating
671
928
528
192
127
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
671
928
528
192
127
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewsea frontceiling fanbox of chocolateslovely hotelcar parknoisy at nightearly hourssuperior roomshort breakideal locationpublic areasthird floorbrighton seafronttwo night staybreakfast was excellentlovely room
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
261 - 265 of 2,446 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

We visit the Old Ship almost monthly now and arrive on a Sunday so we can take advantage of the afternoon entertainment. Kelly G especially stands out. She is not a singer who stands on the spot and purely sings, she puts on a really...More

Thank Bar M
Response from Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship HotelResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Bar M Thank you for your great review. We may well have Kelly back when the weather is forecast dry. Regards Paul

Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

A lovely central location but the Hotel is very tired and in need of an overhaul Having had a drink in the bar after 11.00 a guy appeared claiming to be a security guard and demanded to see room keys Far too aggressive and believes...More

1  Thank David C
Response from Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship HotelResponded 16 October 2017

Dear David C Thank you for your email I am sorry you found the security guard too aggressive and this has been passed on to our security company. Interesting that you say breakfast is half the price next door. A full breakfast with coffee in...More

Reviewed 14 October 2017

We stayed on the most expensive weekend of the year for a treat and were sadly let down. Over £800 for 3 nights room only, treating ourselves, and £75 to park the car seemed excessive but we care for our car so said what the...More

1  Thank jeff h
Response from Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship HotelResponded 15 October 2017

What a shame you felt the need to write this review. You notified us over a week from departing the hotel which our CCTV does not store for this time. As explained this would have shown who may of damaged your car if it even...More

Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

So I stayed here with the wife for my birthday recently. Plenty of friends booked additional rooms too. We had an awesome deal for a 3 night stay and it was so cheap that I was a little apprehensive; especially given many of the rival...More

Thank Munki113
Response from OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship HotelResponded 15 October 2017

Dear Munki113, Thank you for your review. It's lovely to learn, that you enjoyed your stay with us and would return. Would be great to welcome you back. Kind regards, Olds Ship Hotel Team

Reviewed 12 October 2017

I booked a one-night stay from 11-12 October in a Standard Double Room. The room I was originally assigned was at the far end of the hotel overlooking a nearby rear/side lane and the block's skip bins. It hadn't been occupied in ages, smelled musty...More

Thank Richard B
Response from Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship HotelResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Richard B Thank you for your review. Your first room was 235 which is internal to the building and does not overlook bins and when you were moved reception have logged that you were happy with the move. I am sorry you were disappointed....More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Brighton, United Kingdom
See all 43 hotels in BrightonSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Room Service
Restaurant
Beachfront
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Meeting Rooms
Dry Cleaning
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Details
Price range
USD 75 - USD 323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Suites, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
USD 75 - USD 323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Suites, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (859)
Room & Suite (485)
Dining (74)
Pool & Beach (6)
Amenities (35)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (4)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
263396
11 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from OSHGuestRelations | Property representative |
Dear reviewer, All bedrooms have hair dryers located usually in the middle draw of the dresser. Kind regards, Old Ship Hotel
0
Votes
frank g
6 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from hillagnes | Reviewed this property |
It's first come first serve. There is Ncp quite close and another if you go to west street then first left. Still the same price but signing is good
0
Votes
Helen5584
22 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from OSHGuestRelations | Property representative |
Hello Helen5584 , Buffet breakfast is £14.95, if pre-booked on check in discounted price is £10. This is an amazing value, as this includes tea/coffee, hot buffet and continental breakfast as well. Kind regards, Phil Duty... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"sea rooms available"
Read review
"side rooms ar very noisy"
Read review
"Rooms to the rear would be less exposed to road noise, although there is no view."
Read review
"We had a very nice sea view room"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing