We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Ship Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,991 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Old Ship Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,951: English reviews
Kempsey, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We were overbooked by Mercure hotel and relocated to the Old Ship Hotel on arrival. We didn't know what to expect but we're very pleasantly surprised. Our new venue was so much better than the Mercure!!!! The staff were very p!easant and made us feel very welcome and special after our bad experience with the previous hotel. Our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susan B Thank you for your great review. Next time you come to Brighton please choose us Regards Paul Wright General Manager

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Stopped off for a quick liquid refreshment on the way to the hotel we had booked. Sat in the seats on the front and watched the traffic go by. Service was prompt and attentive. Could do with some parasols over the couches for shade though as it was quite hot in the full sun.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank manxshaun
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear manxshaun Thank you for your review We have a number of parasols outside but as some guests like to sit in the sun some chairs are not under them. Great feedback though for us. Many thanks Paul Wright General Manager

Spain
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

This was our first visit to The Old Ship hotel. We were travelling with friends for a one night stay. Our first impressions were very good. The car parking attendant was very helpful and, despite us arriving at 10.30 am, he was happy to accept us into the car park. The Receptionist was equally helpful. He offered to store our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean-in-Spain
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jean-in-Spain Many thanks for your great review and constructive comments. We hope to see you again soon. Regards Paul Wright General Manager

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed at The Old Ship hotel for 2 nights on the weekend. Was greeted with a nice warm welcome at reception and all staff were very friendly. Mentioned we were staying for a birthday and was surprised with 2 muffins in the room! Room was nice and clean and bed was comfy. There was also a fan provided incase it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zozococo101
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear zozococo101 Thank you ever so much for your great review. Happy Birthday from me too! Kindest regards Paul Wright General Manager

Reviewed 22 August 2016

Went away for the weekend. Needed a hotel/b&b close to centre of Brighton. Found this one on the seafront. Great hotel near to The Lanes, Pier and many other attractions. Staff were very friendly. Rooms very clean and tidy. would recommend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayley P
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hayley P Many thanks for your fantastic review. Regards Paul Wright General Manager

Barham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Stayed one night last Saturday - front desk service was good for check in and out. Breakfast service was good too and good selection of food. Bedroom was ok clean but bathroom was poor. The actual bath was in poor condition. Would I stay again - maybe if the price is right think there is better hotels around. Good location....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DowleS
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DowleS Many thanks for your review. Regards Paul Wright General Manager

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

We spent a Sunday night at this hotel and were very impressed from the outset. A fast check in and an upgrade to a deluxe seafront room ensured that the stay was off to a fantastic start! Once settled in, we had a relaxed drink in outside bar area - a perfect seafront spot to watch the world go by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ryan g
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ryan g, Thank you so much for your amazing review. Glad to read you had such a lovely stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Enrica, Guest Relations

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Our 2nd visit to the Ship didn't disappoint . We opted for a seaview which was bright and airy with the only downside bring the street noise below from Traffic and revellers.This is an old hotel and has plenty of character and full of history but does lack a few of the mod cons of newer hotels. It's located right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CelticTravel29
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CelticTravel29, Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience here on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Enrica, Guest Relations

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Great location on the seafront in Brighton, very close for pier and The Lanes. Lots of history with this hotel, well worth reading about it. Stayed in a sea view room which is well worth paying that bit extra for. Can be a bit noisy at night through the early hours due to clubs by the beach but this is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra E
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sandra E, Thank you for your fantastic review. We are glad you had a lovely stay and we hope to welcome you back again for your next visit to Brighton. Kind regards, Enrica, Guest Relations

Brighton
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Love this hotel and the team are really what makes it - Fab Sunday Lunch last week and ate on the terrace and watched the world go by. Great singer on the terrace and Mark was a great host Even had room for dessert Great location in the heart of the vibrant city

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul W Many thanks for your fantastic review. Regards Paul Wright General Manager

903 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (613)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (71)
Viewed
Room/Suite (155)
Viewed
Bathroom (68)
Viewed
View from Room (38)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (252)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (226)
Viewed
Accessible Guest Room (32)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Double Deluxe Room (Sea View) (32)
Viewed
Double Guest Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Superior King Guest Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)
Viewed
Twin Guest Room (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
6,652 reviews
1.2 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,339 reviews
0.1 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.9 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,093 reviews
0.5 km away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#12 of 44 in Brighton
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $119 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#8 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Ship Hotel staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Ship Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask to see the room first”
 of 5 bubbles 654saraj, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Standard sea view room is worth it, especially if the sea is rough.”
 of 5 bubbles angter, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Can be a bit loud but that's Brighton ! Worth it for sea view”
 of 5 bubbles Invicta362, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“It's Brighton, always noisy. Poor lift, get 1st floor if disability.”
 of 5 bubbles 992maggiem, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book a king room (blue themed rooms)”
 of 5 bubbles lawbuff01, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5