We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Ship Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,022 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,982: English reviews
Start your review of The Old Ship Hotel
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I have stayed at this hotel a few times in recent months and have not been impressed with any of my stays. Rooms are very small and have not been updated in a very long time. Some of the rooms smell slightly strange and the hotel is like a maze- not very easy to find your room. There are plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shyamradia
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

The location is excellent but unfortunately the staff seem to be over tourists! Our room leaked (actually more like poured) hot water from the shower which was a tad annoying in the middle of the night. Subsequently the room became steamy and a bit stuffy. This was brought to the attention of reception, nothing was done and there was no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kanwilson
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kanwilson, Please accept my sincere apologies for the flows you had experienced with our service. I can assure this is rare, and all your comments will be shared with relevant departments, for further improvements. Kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Hotel looked a little jaded and the food was average but the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is very central with The Lanes and Brighton Pier just around the corner. Would definitely use it again for a weekend getaway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erika G
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Erika G, Thank you for your review. It would be lovely to welcome you back to Brighton once again. All your comments will be shared with our Team. Kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Sadly only able to spend one night this time. However, the staff were as friendly and helpful as ever. We had a lovely second floor room with a super sea view. We had breakfast in our room and the cooked was nice and hot. Look forward to visiting again before too long.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
OSHGuestRelations, Duty Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susan P, Thank you for taking time to leave a 5* TripAdvisor review after your stay with us here at The Old Ship Hotel. Its great to read you enjoyed the sea view from one of our sea view rooms, I will share your great comments about the staff with them. We are looking forward to welcoming you back...

Syracuse, New York
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great location, although we did not have an ocean view. The room was modest in size, very clean, and with almost every amenity. Except wash cloths - they apparently don't use wash cloths in England. Lovely restaurant - excellent buffet breakfast and menu. The evening meal was not as good, and the service (kitchen) was very slow due to a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tatoland
OSHGuestRelations, Duty Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tatoland, Thank you for taking time to leave a TripAdvisor review after your stay with us. Its great to read your comments regarding our central location and you thought the room was a good size and clean, with your comments regarding the wash cloth these are available upon request. Please accept my apology with the evening meal service, I...

taffsontour
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

friendly staff in all departments, lifts are slow but it's healthier to walk. We were on 5th floor which wasn't a problem. The front can get a bit noisy at night and the nearby hotel staff wake you early with their refuse duties. If you like going to Brighton then this hotel is recommended to all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank freelander15
OSHGuestRelations, Duty Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear freelander15, Thank you for taking time to leave a great TripAdvisor review after your stay with us here at The Old Ship Hotel Brighton. Its great to read your comments regarding the staff, I will share your comments with them. I am sorry if your stay was disturbed on this occasion, we do deal with each noise complaint as...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My partner and i paid for a last minute trip over Easter. We arrived and really liked what we seen. Our king size newly refurbished room was also very comfortable. However unfortunately 3 hrs after checking in my partner got a call from family to say his dad had been rushed to hospital in a pretty bad way. This meant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gillian C
OSHGuestRelations, Duty Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gillian C, I understand this has been passed to our Deputy General Manager who has responded to your request. We are sorry to hear your stay with us was cut short and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Tommy Merrington Duty Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We chose this hotel to stay in on our last few nights in England before making the move overseas and we were not disappointed. The hotel is located right on the seaside, so perfect location to the pier and beach. The reception staff were extremely friendly and happy to have a chat, even assisting us with all our bags. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Genna R
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Genna R, Thank you so much for scoring us 5/5. I will personally make sure, your great comments are shared with our Team. We hope, that you had a safe journey home, and that you would return in the near future. Kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations

Reviewed 1 week ago

we arrived on Good Friday around 1;15pm and were able to check in straight away our room was on the second floor so we were not bothered by any outside noise. The room was roomy clean and well maintained the bed was huge and really comfortable. The staff were all friendly and welcoming. We had sunday lunch in the dining...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul B, I would like to thank you for this FANTASTIC review. We are delighted, that you had such an amazing stay and looking forward welcoming you back to Brighton on your next occasion. Kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations

chigwell
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived as a couple 16th April for a one night Easter break, when we arrived we was impressed with the new decor since last visiting as a Barcello hotel. We was a bit disappointed because the reception staff ignored my husbands request that this was a special occasion. We arrived and was allocated a tired room on the third...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dvnorton
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dvnorton, Thank you for your kind review. I'm sorry, that you had experienced inconvenience with your stay, but very grateful to learn, that you experienced high customer service by Tommy, our Duty manager. We hope to welcome you back to Brighton on your next occasion. Kind regards, Miriam, Guest Relations

913 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (623)
Viewed
Room/Suite (156)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (71)
Viewed
Bathroom (68)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (260)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (226)
Viewed
Accessible Guest Room (32)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Double Deluxe Room (Sea View) (32)
Viewed
Double Guest Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Superior King Guest Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)
Viewed
Twin Guest Room (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
6,893 reviews
0.1 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
1.3 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.9 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,120 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#10 of 44 in Brighton
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Address: Kings Road, Brighton BN1 1NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $129 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ship Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Ship Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Hotel Brighton
Barcelo Brighton
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
#8 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Ship Hotel staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Ship Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front of hotel overlooks sea and beach.”
ErikaG449, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Sea view rooms are great.”
susanpH310MX, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a seaview room”
Christie9, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I would choose a side room with views of the sea rather than directly onto the front where traffic noise would be a problem.”
AngelaMC009, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Suggest a room high to avoid small hours reveller noise, which is to be expected from a resort such as this.”
richardr270, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5