We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Artist Residence Brighton

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Artist Residence Brighton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,027 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Artist Residence Brighton
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,006: English reviews
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 8 October 2015

Despite being an 18-strong gang of women staying together in the Artist Residence Hotel, we were treated very well and welcomed with opened arms. The rooms are different, each and every one, with no two quite alike. The hotel was very clean, rooms and bathrooms very clean, with just about the right amount of 'modern' for the comfort lovers. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ciarsybobs
ArtistResidenceHotel, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Ciarsybobs, We are so glad to hear that you and your friends had a great weekend stay with us! We are so pleased that your beds were comfy and your breakfast was tasty! It would be great to welcome you back to the hotel soon. Best regards, Celia, Tara, Mel & the AR team

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2015

Stayed only for one night at the hotel, we were greeted by the lovely hotel receptionist. Our bags were taken to the room as the room was not available until 3pm, this was no bother as we wanted to take a stroll down the seafront. The hotels location is within walking distance for everywhere! Only took us 14 mins to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marianna R
ArtistResidenceHotel, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Marianna R, Thank you for staying with us in one of our original arty rooms. We are glad to hear that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our central location. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon. Best regards, Celia, Mel, Tara & the AR team

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015

We came to stay as we were attending an open day at Sussex University. The Artist Residencesx` offered so much more than a place to stay and helped convince us that Brighton would be a fabulous place to study in. The staff at the hotel could not have been nicer or more helpful and really contributed to a great stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicky G
ArtistResidenceHotel, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Nicky G, Thank you for writing us a really lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in your cosy house double room and that we helped convince you that Brighton would make a great place to study in! We hope to see you again in Brighton soon. Best regards, Celia, Mel, Tara &...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015

Excellent location at the head of a regency square and convenient for everything. We were lucky with sunshine and enjoyed our balcony and extra space (the !360 tower construction is unlovely but the sea was still there). The food in 'the Set' is really really excellent and not to be missed. The bed was comfortable, the shower very good, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
ArtistResidenceHotel, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Clare M, Thank you for taking the time to write us a really lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your balcony room and your food in The Set. We hope to welcome you back to AR Brighton soon. Best regards, Celia, Mel, Tara & the AR team

Paris, France
Reviewed 30 September 2015

A very great place for spending a week end or more. Good location, fantastic design, very clean and welcoming. A great place for spending time in Brighton and on the room ! Great Breakfast included. I just want to come back ! Great place for romantic city break

 Report
Helpful?
Thank benenin
ArtistResidenceHotel, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review

Dear benenin, Thank you for staying with us at AR Brighton and for writing us a lovely review. We would also definitely recommend our balcony rooms - they make for gorgeous sun traps when the weather is right! We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Celia, Mel, Tara & the AR team

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 30 September 2015

Me and my girlfriend spent 7 nights in the Artist Residence and it's been nothing but amazing. We were looking for a cozy, laid back vacation and that's exactly what we found. Our Cozy Double room was lovely. Comfy bed, tiny but modern bathroom, fancy interior here and there. The entire staff is absolutely great. Friendly, helpful and all the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Markus L
ArtistResidenceHotel, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Markus & Lara, Thank you both for staying with us at AR Brighton for 7 nights! We are thrilled that you had an amazing stay at the hotel and a laid back vacation in Brighton. We are delighted to hear that you're coming back next year - we look forward seeing you then, hopefully to try out The Set...

Kingston Upon Thames
Reviewed 30 September 2015

Quirky and fun place in a fab location with great seaviews for now (alas there is a big tower being built slap bang in the middle of the view that will kill it - god knows how they got permission). Not overly comfortable - we had the family room and it was fairly basic and dark but great staff, good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NicL
ArtistResidenceHotel, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review

Dear NicL, Thank you for staying with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed the hotel bars and burgers. We are so sorry to hear that your room was not overly comfortable - we expect all our guests to enjoy a comfortable room and this is something we will be looking into straight away! Best regards, Celia, Mel, Tara...

Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2015 via mobile

Another great weekend at the artists - the hotel has grown -it now boasts the set a great - though impossible to book restaurant and a kind off fast food cafe.We had a bigger balcony room and splendid it was - resplendent in hipster flat colours - copper bath - great shower - huge high bed, what not to like....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Will E
ArtistResidenceHotel, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Will E, Thank you for writing us a great review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Also, glad to hear you enjoyed your smokey house beans - one of our favourite dishes on the menu too! We are very lucky that our restaurant is proving so popular. This does mean, however, that we get...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2015 via mobile

We were tourists in our home town, having a night away and artist residence was an excellent place to have it. Really cool decor, small but perfectly formed rooms, great staff and great atmosphere. Only disappointment was not being able to book in the restaurant as its still so popular (only open since March this year). Breakfast was amazing. Coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claudiner
ArtistResidenceHotel, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Claudiner, Thank you for staying with us and for writing us a lovely review! We are so glad that you had a great stay in your stay in your "small but perfectly formed" room! We're sorry that The Set was fully booked during your stay. We do get booked up quite far in advance and we recommend that guests...

Sydney
Reviewed 29 September 2015

We stayed at the Artists Residence on Friday night and I I was really disappointed. The website pictures looked fantastic, all the rooms looked bright and airy but this wasn't the case in reality. The bedroom we had was really tired. The carpet was dirty, the paint was peeling and the blind was filthy. The room was TINY. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Naomi A
ArtistResidenceHotel, Front Office Manager at Artist Residence Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Naomi A, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are so sorry to hear that you were let down by your stay with us. We want all of our guests to have a remarkable stay and we're so disappointed that we didn't live up to your expectations. We really appreciate all of your feedback...

395 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (379)
Viewed
Room/Suite (105)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (157)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.5 km away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,094 reviews
1.4 km away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
Drakes Hotel Brighton
#4 of 44 in Brighton
951 reviews
0.3 km away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
6,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Una
Hotel Una
#2 of 44 in Brighton
956 reviews
0.8 km away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#12 of 44 in Brighton
2,129 reviews
0.5 km away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Set
The Set
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fun and quirky rooms with imaginative design, featuring award-winning cocktail bar and two restaurants in a unique double-fronted townhouse hotel in the heart of Brighton. Located on the seafront in historic Regency Square this hotel is a 10 minute walk from Brighton train station. Dine at one of Brighton's best restaurants The Set, which features seasonal British tasting menu's, or opt for the more casual Set Cafe for a selection of small plates and craft beers. Each of the 23 guest rooms at Artist Residence are either individually designed by an artist or by the house and feature vintage and retro furniture, limited edition prints, graphic murals, flat screen TVs and en-suite bathrooms. Some rooms have sea views overlooking the West Pier. All rooms and communal areas have free Wi-Fi and there is also a ping-pong room which doubles as a meeting room. In addition to being a home-from-home and unique place to sleep, The Artist Residence serves as a gathering place and hub of community activity for locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Artist Residence Brighton

Address: Brighton 33 Regency Square, Brighton BN1 2GG, England (Formerly Malvern Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $149 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Artist Residence Brighton 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Artist Residence Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artist Residence Brighton Hotel Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Artist Residence Brighton staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Artist Residence Brighton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Everything we saw looked unique”
 of 5 bubbles S2556ILguyb, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The 'tiny rooms' are very small indeed. The rooms with balconies, come at a premium price and may not necessarily be a useful extra.”
 of 5 bubbles AppleTREE28, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“get the room with the balcony, bit small but cozy!”
 of 5 bubbles miseryanddespair, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with a view are well worth it!”
 of 5 bubbles laraernst, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 was great - no sea view but fun decor and great value”
 of 5 bubbles LizzieH89, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5