We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Acton Field Camping Site

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swanage
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 42: English reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2016

We stayed at Acton Field in the late part of October, although quite a risk from a weather perspective, we were extremely lucky. The location is absolutely stunning, great facilities and breath-taking walks. The nearby towns of Langton and Worth Matravers offer great watering holes in the form of the Kings Head and The square and compass! Must visit -...

Thank Paul T
Management response:

Thank you for the positive review. Happy Christmas and a great 2017 and hope to see you again at Acton Field.

Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Second visit to Acton Fields. You need to be equipped but the site is more than adequate and very clean. Love the fact that you are allowed to just 'get on with it'. We are confused by the pricing BUT it is still cheap and we are happy to pay what is asked. See you again soon Acton Fields!!

Thank 1963est
Management response:

Thank you for the positive comments. We have always charged by the size of the tent as it is easier, we feel than by the person. Not to say we don't listen to what folk have to say and maybe we will look into changing in 2017? NB we are happy to negotiate charges if folk ask the charge includes...

Reviewed 12 September 2016

I don't really want to write a review in case we can't get in next summer but felt, having read the last one, I should! We found this campsite last summer after 25 years of camping in the Purbecks and wished we had found it earlier! The owners are just the best ever and can't do enough for you. They...

1Thank hugh r
Management response:

Thank you so much for your kind words we are grateful for your support. We try very hard to make "a basic camping experience" one to remember but you can't "please em all" springs to mind. We must be doing a few things right as we have many folk return year on year, we have third generations camping with us...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

The facilities are adequate and the location is great, but they have a really erratic pricing structure implemented with bizarre and aggressive behaviour. Small pitches are £8-£12, medium £12-£14 and large are £14-£18. As a couple with two tiny tents we were charged £16, putting us on a level with large families with vans, awnings and gazebos. For comparison, last...

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

The view of this user is some what distorted. I did get angry as I was approached in a unprofessional way in the middle of the site in front of many campers. I returned their money and asked them to leave as they were clearly unhappy. They obviously thought I did not mean what I asked in the morning. I...

Reviewed 25 August 2016

The site itself is surprisingly on a sloping field but the owners have flattened pitch areas. Owners were really friendly and helpful, coming round to collect fee in the morning. Showers were a nice hot bargain for 20p or 60p if you fancied 15 minutes, i guess some people have a Lot more hair than me :) The nearest pub...

1Thank si d
Management response:

Thank you for the review. Unfortunately where you have a stunning view you get a breeze,wind or slight movement! This is our 33 year as owners so I guess we are used to the wind!!!! Mick and Val

Reviewed 24 August 2016

We went to Acton Field on a busy bank holiday weekend and had a fantastic stay. Not a flat field but lots of space to find your camping spot. It was quite windy while we were there, so we found a sheltered spot by the wall! The view from every pitch is just stunning. Facilities all in good condition and...

1Thank Nina B
Management response:

Thank you for the positive and informative review. Mick and Val

Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

I visited Acton campsite for 3 nights in a group of 14 friends and family. The campsite is quite hilly however finding a suitable area wasn't difficult! Wonderful sea views from the campsite. The facilities were decent and were kept clean and tidy. Only negative was that 20p was required per 3 minutes for a shower. The owners Mick and...

Thank Macy F
Management response:

Thank you for the review. We decided a long time ago to have 20ps rather than tokens getting things right for everyone is always a difficult balance but do hope to see you again, Mick and Val

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We spent 2 nights at Acton Field, we were intending to stay at Toms Field but it was full, so had Acton Field in mind as a reserve! We had a warm welcome from the owners and found a spot to pitch, we were quite late arriving on a Sat evening so it was quite busy but we found a...

Thank RuthB550
Management response:

Thank you for your comments. As we state on our board Acton Field is a basic camping experience.

Reviewed 15 August 2016

A free-for-all in a very lumpy field. No designated pitches. People left to do whatever they please- pitching up on roads and wherever. Toilets woefully inadequate for the size of the field. The charming woman who collected the cash for our pitch in the morning seemed only too happy to take the money but not to enforce any of the...

Thank TarquiniusFlange
Management response:

Sorry the site was not suitable and you left dissatisfied. We do not have a full site licence therefore operate for 70 days a year. Acton Field is not Tom's Field and is, as stated a basic camping experience. We try our best to let folk take responsibility for their own pitch,enjoy the views and not disturb others. We walk...

Havant, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2016

We stayed here for the weekend because we couldn't get into Tom's Field. Well, I'm glad we couldn't because we would've missed out. We paid £14 per night for a medium sized tent (6 berth) which is very reasonable during a school holiday period. There was a mobile cafe which served breakfast & evening meal for a reasonable price. A...

1Thank 54Nigel
Management response:

Thank you for your positive review.

4 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (4)
View from Room (1)
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
4.5 km away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
864 reviews
4.6 km away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
858 reviews
16.6 km away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 3 in West Lulworth
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
3.1 km away
Kingston Country Courtyard
2.0 km away
Downshay Farm
Downshay Farm
#2 of 14 in Swanage
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Acton Field Camping Site

Address: Acton Field, Langton Matravers, Swanage BH19 3JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Also Known As:
Acton Field Camping Site Swanage, Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Acton Field Camping Site staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Walk down to the dancing ledge!”
 of 5 bubbles F777FIpault, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles TarquiniusFlange, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“get there early!”
 of 5 bubbles ChrisL370, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Pick a pitch at the top of the site.”
 of 5 bubbles LizL922, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Amazing views, peaceful location, old school camping”
 of 5 bubbles Wylie3Peakers, 31 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5