We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Swanage Haven

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Swanage Haven
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

584 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 582: English reviews
Start your review of The Swanage Haven
 Click to rate
Dover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Swanage is one of our favourite places and this is the best B&B that we have stayed in. It is really well presented ,spotlessly clean and very homely- lovely situation with easy access to all amenities and eateries. The breakfasts were just amazing! The rooms are spacious and well thought out- loved the little touches in the rooms such as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barbarasartain5
Bures, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Well we found a gem when we stayed here! Breakfast was beautifully prepared and presented and it was a really nice touch to be able to take a homemade flapjack or granola bar away to enjoy later. Our room was immaculately clean and tastefully decorated, very good tea/coffee facilities too. Perfectly placed in a quiet road to access Swanage and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _susan_dolling10
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review

Your so kind _susan_dolling10 for taking the time to write such a nice review, we try to make sure the relaxed atmosphere and local breakfast ..with homemade local produce is enough to set you up for the day. Thank you for the recommendation. Dianne & David Cole

Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for two nights for our valentines weekend. We enjoyed every second of our stay here. It exceeded what we expected. Very friendly staff Very tasty food and homemade- (The homemade banoffee muffins were out of this world!!) Very clean and loved all the extra touches of hot drink packets and chocolates Private Slots in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine C
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review

Jasmine C, Thanks for the great review and the appreciation of the muffins :) we try hard to meet everyone's expectations and thrilled we managed to exceed them :) David & Dianne Cole

Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dianne and David are excellent hosts, very friendly and welcoming with nothing to much trouble. Breakfast was cooked to perfection with a wide range to choose from, lovely fresh fruit and juice. Room was stunning, very modern and stylish but warm and cosy at same time. This is our second visit and was just as good as first, we will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank popmol08
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review

popmol08 always great to see people who love what we do and come back for another stay, so nice to see you both again and hope to see you again. Thank you Dianne & David Cole

South Petherton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The breakfast was amazing using lots of local produce Our room was very comfortable good views well stocked amenities Just 5 mins from the beach & some very good places to eat nearby We felt at home in the very friendly atmosphere

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mlovett275
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review

Hi mlovett275, thank you for choosing us to and delighted you enjoyed your stay with us

Southwater, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Superb! Beautiful decor and amazing attention to detail for the perfect stay. Quiet location and a lovely walk by the sea into Swanage. Best breakfast ever (vegan- and veggie-friendly). Great homebaking - especially the Welsh cakes. Can'twait to go again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review

Hi Julies S, thanks for the lovely review and your appreciation of the welsh cakes :) David & Dianne Cole

Rye, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2016

We were delighted to find that this excellent choise exceeded expectations. Arriving too early after a long journey was no problem. A very warm welcome,cafeful instructions, and change of room when mobility problems were seen. A large confortable bed was wonderful and the breakfast catered for all tastes.Flapjacks ' On the House' for a morning snack were a lovely touch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TERESA C
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review

Thank you TERESA C, it was our pleasure to meet you and thrilled you like what we have to offer and for spending your special time with us. Dianne & David Cole

Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We have stayed at Swanage Haven three times now, and it just seems to get better every time. Comfortable bed, large well-equipped bathroom, an armchair each, lots of drawers and hanging space as well as a delicious and varied breakfast. We wouldn't stay anywhere else now!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank robertbL7225NY
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review

robertbL7225NY , So nice to meet and great travellers from far and distant lands, thank you for taking the trouble to write such a great review.

Romford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Well what can I say about the Swanage haven what an amazing stay the rooms are beautiful and clean and they breakfast is out of this world the owners David and Dianne are two of the nicest people I've met will definitely be coming back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank essexred2016
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review

Hi essexred2016, Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you had such a good time with us as we did meeting you. Look forward to your re-visit :)

Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed two nights and we were very impressed with the facilities. Clean and modern. Fabulous breakfasts in a relaxing environment. A lovely stay and we would go again. The area is wonderful for exploring and the beach is clean. Plenty for a family to do in Swanage. We visited our favourite place just down the road...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally-ann T
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review

Hi Sally-ann T, thank you for your review. glad you loved Swanage & Studland and what Purbeck has to offer. now you have discovered us you have to come back :) Dianne & David Cole

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
2:37
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.1 km away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
862 reviews
1.3 km away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.2 km away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
869 reviews
0.8 km away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
1.3 km away
Millbrook Guest House
Millbrook Guest House
#4 of 55 in Swanage
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Swanage Haven is situated just 300 yards from the glorious sandy beach, offering peace and tranquility in the heart of The Isle of Purbeck. The rooms are generously proportioned & sumptuously decorated . The breakfasts are generous, the towels are fluffy and the linen crispy and delicious. Dianne & David Cole welcome you to The Swanage Haven in the heart of Swanage, an ideal base for exploring the beautiful county of Dorset. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swanage Haven

Address: 3 Victoria Road, Swanage BH19 1LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Price Range: $143 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Swanage Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Swanage Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanage Haven Hotel Swanage
The Swanage Haven Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Swanage Haven staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Contact the owners direct.”
 of 5 bubbles 208teresac, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Superior double was beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles essexred2016, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Back bedrooms if you want a view.”
 of 5 bubbles Lesley899, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book early to avoid disappointment”
 of 5 bubbles DebbieEssex52, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Pay the little extra for a superior room, you will not be disappointed.”
 of 5 bubbles lindahI1482PX, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5