We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast,

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swanage
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast,
See the most recent reviews
Showing 38: English reviews
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2014

We were looking on the internet for a B&B in Swanage for a last minute weekend as all our usual venues were full. We found the Hermitage and rang, they accepted a late booking. On arrival we were met by 2 people sunbathing, who were the owners. Not very professional in our view. Sue showed us around the B&B, the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Philip D
rogerpic, Owner at Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast,, responded to this review

on your arrival we were sat in our private garden reading our books, we don,t have a checking in time so await our guests arrival enjoying the sunshine, not sure what,s unprofessional about that. after breakfast on the first day you came to me with complaints which as soon as could I addressed the issues, iwas serving other guests at...

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2014

Stayed at this charming guest house ( looks like a mansion house as you view it ). We were met by Sue the landlady, really jolly lady who showed us to our room. We knew then that our stay was going to be really pleasurable. Stayed there for five days. we had a room with a view to die for,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank john a
rogerpic, Owner at Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast,, responded to this review

we are delighted with your recent review, so pleased you had a good holiday especially as you mentioned to us that both of you have had health issues this year.you are a lovely couple and we hope to see you again.

Reviewed 3 September 2014

Made a last minute booking with the humourless landlady she insisted we pay for 2 nights although only stayed for 1,sheer greed as the dated early 80's decked out room was'nt going anywhere that late in the day! Something is better than nothing ? As I run a small decorating business I offered her a quote for re-decorating her bedrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Hermanato
rogerpic, Owner at Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast,, responded to this review

In response to your recent review I wish to clarify, the price of the room was discussed and agreed to on the morning of your arrival.as explained we book min. 2 nights at weekends, this was accepted by you all. This humourless landlady does not partake in being the scapegoat to senseless humour aimed at impressing his friends. however I...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2014

stayed here for three nights from 22 august , as soon as we arrived sue made us feel very welcome , we had room 1 with amazing sea views the room was very comfortable and my daughter was very excited to sleep in the bunk beds. There was seperate toilet with shower and bath on the same floor as our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joanna B
rogerpic, Owner at Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast,, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to send your lovely review,we were so pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us, especially ella,s sea view from the top bunk bed[ and fury friends] also must mention THE BIRTHDAY BOY, hope to see you again.sue and roger

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I have been staying at the Hermitage for the last 10 years.We have been visiting Swanage for at least 30 years and i'ts a shame we didn't know about the Hermitage before. This guest house has one of the best views in the town and the location couldn't be any nearer to town and seafront but having the benefit of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eppm
rogerpic, Owner at Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast,, responded to this review

thank you for taking time to review your, recent stay with us.so pleased you both had a relaxing break and the sunshine was a bonus.looking forward to your next visit.

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Started the week in Swanage on a camping holiday but due to my wife's sudden back problem we had to look for a B & B for four nights. The Hermitage was the only place that could offer us four nights so we accepted rather than return home. My first impression was of amazement at all the old fixtures and...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank DerbyDave2014
rogerpic, Owner at Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast,, responded to this review

The title of your review isn,t entirely accurate, there are several hotels that had availability for your 4 nights stay at a considerably higher cost than ours. On your arrival to us having checked out of the campsite due to your wife,s bad back I was delighted we had 1 family room vacant., as you were shown around your exact...

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Excellent few days in June - very welcoming, good sea views and Roger's amazing breakfast - very good local knowledge and nothing is too much too much trouble and the sea views from the front rooms are lovely - we were also blessed with wall to wall sunshine!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sceatsie
Rawmarsh, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This was our first time at Swanage. The hermitage is in a lovely scenic location (ask for room 1, beautiful views) the hotel was very clean and full of traditional character. The breakfast was lovely. My husband and I booked to go walking and found Roger and Sues knowledge of the area excellent and informative, nothing was too much trouble....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jamie G
rogerpic, Owner at Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast,, responded to this review

we were very pleased your first visit to our loverly area was enjoyable,the weather was kind so the walking was good.we were happy to have made your stay with us comfortable and look forward to your return visit.

sheffield
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Our stay at the Hermitage was nothing short of DELIGHTFUL!! Sue and Roger were the most excellent of host and nothing was too much trouble, the breakfast was amazing and the warm welcome after a day of hill walking was most welcomed. The location was just perfect as was their home - we will be returning early next year. A...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank carole m
rogerpic, Owner at Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast,, responded to this review

thank you for the loverly review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, I promise I didn,t order the squirrel entertainment.looking forward to your return visit

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Owner not at all helpful on booking. We saw rooms available sign and rang to book at 5.42 we were told to call back at 6pm. When we called back at 6pm we were told we could have a room but would have to pay for all the beds as it was a family room, also would not accept booking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank S K
rogerpic, Owner at Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast,, responded to this review

our policy in august being peak season is min. 2 night stay, as we had 1 room vacant on this sat. night when the lady rang I said if she could view the room after 6pm we would let her have 1 night and told her the tarrif.she promptly arrived looked at the room and bathroom facilities, I explained it...

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.3 km away
Easter Cottage
Easter Cottage
#26 of 55 in Swanage
50 reviews
0.8 km away
Amberlea Guest House
Amberlea Guest House
#24 of 55 in Swanage
43 reviews
0.1 km away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#13 of 55 in Swanage
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
0.1 km away
Clare House
Clare House
#5 of 55 in Swanage
482 reviews
0.5 km away
Caythorpe House
Caythorpe House
#8 of 55 in Swanage
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast,

Address: Bed & Breakfast 1 Manor Road, Swanage BH19 2BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast, Swanage, Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast, staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hermitage House Bed & Breakfast, staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room that I was in on the upper floor had great views.”
 of 5 bubbles MILLCAT, 10 Mar 2015 | Read review
“all rooms are comfortable, but we love the sea view”
 of 5 bubbles Z3971VXjohna, 12 Sep 2014 | Read review
“room 1 sea view”
 of 5 bubbles 981joannab, 26 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Room 1 - seaview”
 of 5 bubbles Eppm, 9 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Avoid room No 6 if you have young children.”
  • Top floor shared shower room.
 of 5 bubbles DerbyDave2014, 4 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5