We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Britannia Inn Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Britannia Inn Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 111: English reviews
Start your review of The Britannia Inn Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I couldn't have been happier with my stay. At the price charged, this hotel vastly over performs. OK so it's a bit of a rabbit warren upstairs but it is a historic building so that's part of the charm. The attention to detail and quality was outstanding. In particular, the breakfast was first class. Couldn't have been more satisfied.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Grantersun
Plymouth ~UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

Well I haven't actually stayed at this hotel - luckily enough - I booked a room for two nights and the following day cancelled due to reading reviews online - I know sometimes people can exaggerate any problems but I've since seen that one person hasn't received a refund, although I do not know the circumstances - I am still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Windows11
Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in the hotel in October. A week after my stay I realised I'd been charged twice. I contacted the hotel straight away, they acknowledged the mistake and said they would process a refund. Since then I have phoned and emailed a number of times, and still no refund. My communications are now being ignored and I get the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amyhines2017
Axmouth, , United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

There were 8 adults and 1 child for my daughters birthday. We had a wonderful meal - those who had steak said it was as good as they had ever had. The venison main course was fabulous. The starters and desserts were excellent as was the service. Highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter B
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016

We were very pleased with the afternoon tea that had been gifted to us by our son for his mothers birthday. Plenty of very good [vegetarian] sandwiches, cakes and limitless hot cups of tea. Very pleasant atmosphere, warm and welcoming.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bazwheatley
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

Take a good look at the photo That is GRANT the "so called" manager, Because if you have a complaint once you have left the hotel he is impossible to get hold of! We booked through groupon a two night/breakfast stay.Upon arrival we were told the room was still being cleaned so we went for a wallk around the town....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Su P
diningroom2014, Owner at The Britannia Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Oh dear. This is not true is it??? You and your partner who left the review below arrived at our hotel on a Groupon deal for a two night stay mid week bed & breakfast at £69. This deal we were running whilst the hotel rooms were being fully refurbished including new furniture, beds, artwork and ensuite's was used to...

Swanage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

I have stayed in some hotels in the past but this is by far the worst and its lucky that it got one star . I have never been in a hotel that is worse than fawlty towers . It is by far the dirtiest ,grubbiest dated furniture. It was by far the worst night of my life . Me...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dave P
diningroom2014, Owner at The Britannia Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Oh dear. This is not true is it??? You and your partner who left the review above arrived at our hotel on a Groupon deal for a two night stay mid week bed & breakfast at £69. This deal we were running whilst the hotel rooms were being fully refurbished including new furniture, beds, artwork and ensuite's was used to...

somerset, uk
Reviewed 1 November 2016

After a long walk at Montacute House and grounds - we had built up quite an appetite for our afternoon tea As it was Sunday, parked on the road opposite the pub. We hadnt been here before and both agreed it had a very welcoming feeling on entering and we were seated immediately. Enjoyed a glass of prosecco before our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LAD63
diningroom2014, Owner at The Britannia Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us and look forward to welcoming you back to The Britannia again. Best Regards Grant & Sarah

Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on Saturday 22/10, I am delighted to say we made a very good choice. We received a warm welcome, we were early so the room was not ready but they were happy to look after our overnight bag. We had a quick drink and went off exploring Sherborne. It's such a pretty place, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nickie B
diningroom2014, Owner at The Britannia Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to The Britannia again. Best Regards Grant & Sarah

Dorset
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Proprietor Grant has made extensive improvements to the accommodation, which continue. Charming and quaint the rooms each have an individual character and are presented immaculately clean and warm, with fluffy white towels and fragrant toiletries. Breakfast in the downstairs dining room was delicious with several cooked options available. There is also a popular restaurant downstairs, separate from, but adjoining the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mike2vc
diningroom2014, Owner at The Britannia Inn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to The Britannia again. Best Regards Grant & Sarah

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sherborne hotels
0.1 km away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
215 reviews
0.4 km away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
650 reviews
2.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Bakehouse
The Bakehouse
#7 of 23 in Sherborne
233 reviews
0.6 km away
Cumberland House
Cumberland House
#6 of 23 in Sherborne
32 reviews
3.6 km away
Munden House
Munden House
#1 of 1 in Alweston
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Britannia Inn Hotel is an 18th century building that was originally a school house for girls which opened in 1743 and was funded by the then Lord Digby. A character structure, this is located all but a stones throw from Sherborne Abbey and only a five minute walk from the train station.There are other local attractions found in this historic town such as Sherborne House, the home of Lord Digby, Sherborne Castle, former home of Sir Walter Raleigh as well as many which are within an hours journey such as Shaftesbury, the Cerne Abbas Giant, Dorchester and Shepton Mallet. Wincanton Racecourse is just half an hour away and we can arrange transport for you should you wish to make a day of it and spend your winnings on a celebratory drink or two!We offer a choice of rooms, double, family, twin and single and provide an extensive breakfast menu to set you up for the day ahead. After your day you can relax with a drink from our choice of award winning real ales, fine wines, Brandy and Whisky. We also have our own restaurant The Dining Room,which serves modern British cuisine seven days a week. Free wireless internet access and all rooms have freeview TV's plus tea and coffee making facilities ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Britannia Inn Hotel

Address: | Westbury, Sherborne DT9 3EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne
Price Range: $105 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Britannia Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Travelocity so you can book your The Britannia Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Britannia Inn Hotel Sherborne, Dorset, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Britannia Inn Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Britannia Inn Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a family en suite room. It was large and comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles SueLSharkey, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms are not enough suite but are in the process of upgrading”
 of 5 bubbles ElizabethD60, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms have shared bathrooms.”
 of 5 bubbles hantslily, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in room 2 excellent wifi”
 of 5 bubbles ExeterDevonDenise, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back will have less street noise”
 of 5 bubbles steviec1211, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5