We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel

Booking.comUSD 80*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 115*
USD 80*
USD 115*
USD 80*
USD 115*
USD 80*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

343 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 343: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel
 Click to rate
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Being positive the hotel has comfortable rooms, friendly staff and a good location. However the restaurant evening menu is disappointing and has been better in the past The hotel car park is very small and it can be difficult to get an average car in and out. You can make on Princes St for 50p or free on the High...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
Manager W, Manager at BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter H Thank you for taking the time to rate the Wessex Royale Hotel. Sorry you found the restaurant evening menu disappointing. We have recently launched a new restaurant menu. Lovely to see you found your hotel room comfortable and hotel staff friendly.

Staffordshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had arranged for an informal business meeting at the Wessex Royal yesterday. Hotel looks pretty average from the outside, parking was a little hectic but we managed to find a space just outside which was pay and display. Once inside, the comfortable lounge area was quite welcoming. We hadn't booked a meeting room but was able to sit in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel1837
Manager W, Manager at BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rachel1837 Thank you for your feedback. Lovely to see you found the Wessex Royale Hotel's lounge a convenient meeting place and that you would visit again.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Never again. If you're a return customer you've been warned. We used to visit on the regular, but now we won't ever been visiting again. What's happened to this place!! Utter chaos round reception too. Over heard people next to us saying they weren't happy with the place either.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank billshot
Manager W, Manager at BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you have had a bad experience with us. We feel we try hard to make all our guest's experience a good one. We have sent you a direct message asking for the dates of your stay and the issues you encountered so that we can look in to it further for you. We are all very approachable...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

An interesting place. Overall a bit pricey for what you get. The rooms are ok but small and not the best quality although very clean. All in all the general feel is not quite there. The staff try hard but for example the evening porter wasn't sure how to work the bar. The corridors were noisy as the floors creaked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kazza2609
Manager W, Manager at BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kazza2609 Thank your for taking the time to rate the Wessex Royale Hotel. Your comments about the rooms and corridors have been noted. We do have limited free parking which is unusual for a town centre Georgian hotel, there are car parks close by.

Runcorn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely stay for the two of us! Excellent bedroom with a huge comfy super king bed! They even gave us free bottler water and Dorchester chocolates. Great staff and nice bar area. Beautiful building and great atmosphere! Will be coming back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hayliella
Manager W, Manager at BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hayliella Thank you for rating the Wessex Royale Hotel so highly. Good to see you enjoyed our 'home from home' comforts and we look forward to giving you a warm welcome on your next visit.

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed one night had a really good room overlooking the small car park. You can walk all over town from hotel so very central. Lovely old building with lots of character. Breakfast was quite chaotic with dirty tables in restaurant so we sat in the lounge area. Everyone that was in there ended up with the wrong breakfast. Service very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisb1233
Manager W, Manager at BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear chrisb1233 Thank you for taking the time to rate the Wessex Royale Hotel. Sorry you were not happy with the breakfast service. It was very busy and guests did have to wait. I noticed one table had been waiting a long time, mentioned it when they were checking out and it was lovely to be told they understood and...

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel has a great central town location. Everything from bars, restaurants and shops are within close walking distance. It's easy to find on a Main Street. The building has an interesting character inside. It feels warm and welcoming with exceptionally friendly and attentive staff. Being given your room key and personally being taken to your room is a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MartynP2
Manager W, Manager at BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martynp2 Thank you for your fantastic review. We look forward to giving you a warm welcome on your next visit.

Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

As I said I would here I am dropping you a HUGE thank you for looking after me. A truely amazing team! Helpful, friendly, polite and fun too! After having worked in a hotel before I understand the efforts you guys put in to try to keep the public happy and WELL ... you certainly are faultless!! Gorgeous food, cosy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Remember2Smile
Manager W, Manager at BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Remember2Smile Thank you for your lovely comments. We look forward to seeing you again.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2017

Good central location. The hotel and room was clean enough and the staff were very helpful and pleasant. Poor bathroom though - .no bathtowels, very small handtowel and very poor water pressure in bathroom...the basin taps each produced a dribble!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cynogwen
Manager W, Manager at BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cynogwen Thank you for taking the time to rate the Wessex Royale Hotel. Sorry you had problems with the water pressure, most unusual. A quick call to reception and your towels would have been replenished.

Cheltenham England
Reviewed 24 March 2017

Stayed here with my 95 year old mother who is a little disabled (2 sticks). Whilst we were parking, a member of staff came over to offer help. She stayed with us, carrying our cases into reception, then checked us in. Took us to our room, made sure we had everything and could not have been more friendly and helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OBOCheltenhamEngland
Manager W, Manager at BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear OBOCheltenhamEngland Thank you for your lovely comments. Great to see you found the staff friendly and you enjoyed the Wessex Royale Hotel's 'home from home comforts.' We look forward to giving you a warm welcome on your next visit.

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Dorchester Hotel
0.5 km away
The Casterbridge
The Casterbridge
#3 of 6 in Dorchester
143 reviews
10.7 km away
The Greyhound Inn
The Greyhound Inn
#1 of 6 in Dorchester
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 km away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.4 km away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dorchester
99 reviews
8.8 km away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Room To...
Room To...
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Wessex Royale Hotel is a delightful Georgian era hotel located in the centre of Dorchester. With classically designed rooms and an excellent central location, The Wessex Royale is ideal for a relaxing break.The Hotel was built in 1756 and features all of the elegance and classic features you would expect from such a property, including fireplaces, panelling and a magnificent grand staircase.Bedrooms display a charming and traditional character with supremely comfortable furnishings to help you feel well rested.All rooms have modern en-suite bathrooms with a bath and power shower, premium digital channels and Wireless Internet connections to help you wind down with “home away from home” comforts and little touches that truly make you feel welcome. The á la carte restaurant is open each evening and offers a variety of traditional and exciting new dishes. The meals on offer are of a consistently excellent standard, making the restaurant popular with guests and locals alike. Fully refurbished with air conditioning, offering a wide range of traditional and new world wines to compliment your meal, you are assured a meal of the highest quality.The Wessex Royale Hotel is a family friendly option near the many activities and attractions in the area, including Maiden Castle, Roman Townhouse, Thomas Hardy’s cottage, the Tutankhamun Exhibition, and Dinosaur Museum.Food and wine aficionados will appreciate the in house restaurant, which offers specialty cuisine, homemade desserts, and an impressive wine list. There is also a locally popular bar and lounge, perfect for afternoon tea or a quick glass of beer. This hotel is a popular venue for weddings and other intimate occasions. Limited free parking is offered. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel

Address: 32 High West Street, Dorchester DT1 1UP, England (Formerly Wessex Royale Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Dorchester
Price Range: $116 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Wessex Royale Hotel Dorchester
Minotel Hotel Wessex Royale
Minotel Dorchester
Dorchester Minotel
BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel Dorchester, Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Oxford, United Kingdom
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Wessex Royale Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“front of hotel rooms , noisy high street. but heavy sleepers no trouble!”
888lindash, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Top floor ,being in the attic space, some rooms are a lot bigger than others. Some with just a shower and some with a shower in a bath.”
483kateg, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I had a room facing the back, which was quiet. It might be better views overlooking the front, but I'm not sure how noisy it might be.”
doctorj42, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“103 was a good room”
paulp981, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 200 was very quiet”
SallyD469, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 80* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 80
Expedia.comUSD 80
TripAdvisorUSD 80
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates