We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Winter Dene

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Winter Dene
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for The Winter Dene
See the most recent reviews
Showing 94: English reviews
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

Just stayed one night as I was working in Bournemouth. I chose the hotel from the reviews and was not disappointed! Friendly hotel very clean! Lovely comfortable beds and clean sheets. Breakfast was freshly cooked and excellent selection. Will definitely stay again! Well done to the owners it was a pleasure!

Thank binnie-7
rompipalla, Owner at The Winter Dene, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay here and hope to welcome you again. More 

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Just spent 3 excellent evenings at the Winter Dene. A lovely Victorian building 10 mins walk from the beach and clifftop walks. Close enough to the town to walk to but far enough away from the hustle and bustle. The hotel owners were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very nice with a good selection of food to choose from. The... More 

1 Thank spikeynorm
rompipalla, Owner at The Winter Dene, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review - it has done wonders for our morale! More 

Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Renzo is of not asset to this hotel especially with his smart comment of "Good Afternoon" when we arrived at breakfast at 9.05am. This kind of humour does not work for me maybe in Como it might.. As soon as you put any cutlery down he clears the plate away with seconds.. how they achieved Excellent Breakfast is beyond us.... More 

1 Thank mallie6666
rompipalla, Owner at The Winter Dene, responded to this review

We are extremely sorry you took offence at Renzo's comment it was meant light heartedly. With regard your other points: Our guests are usually grateful that they do not have to sit for prolonged periods of time with a dirty plate in front of them. We have the Breakfast Award because we provide an excellent choice and well cooked fresh... More 

1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2016

The location was excellent, less than 10 mins walk to the beach and the city centre. We had a large and beautiful room with tv and fully equipped bathroom. Lovley garden and living room. Excellent breakfast!. Friendly and helpful owners. They made us feel welcome

Thank Natalia H
rompipalla, Owner at The Winter Dene, responded to this review

Thank you for your taking time to write a comment and we hope to welcome you again sometime. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights for a girly weekend away and was great. Room was big and bed very comfy. Very friendly and welcoming staff and in a great position near town and beach within 5-10 minutes. Would definitely recommend. Also does great breakfast too!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

Needing a base for our day trip to Guernsey and having studied the reviews of Hotels in Bournemouth, we decided to give The Winter Dene a try. The previous reviews were correct, everything about our time there was excellent, the Owners are great, the whole Hotel is spotless, our room was comfortable with top quality linen and had a newly... More 

Thank wadlowphil
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed the weekend in this hotel. The room was large and the bathroom was newly refurbished. Everything was clean. The large bed was very comfortable. The hotel was quiet. The full English breakfast was very tasty. The owners were very friendly. We would definitely stay here again. The sat nav directs you to the back of the hotel but... More 

Thank RS187634
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2016

Stayed the weekend, good place for a roomy stay. We had the large front room overlooking the road but it was very quiet at night. everything here is very clean and new bathroom made it a delightful stay. great hosts who serve the breakfast which is more than ample to keep you going well into the afternoon! the only problem... More 

Thank Frances M
Level Contributor
90 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2015

The brilliant breakfast was the highlight for me - especially good having my favourite newspaper waiting everyday. Overall, the place is very well run, I loved the attention to detail; smart white linen on the dining tables; the bedroom was very comfortable; fresh clean linen.

1 Thank Joanne S
rompipalla, Owner at The Winter Dene, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2015

This is a medium-size family run hotel not far from the town centre. It has ample free parking and it shouldn't take more than 15 to walk to the pier. Rooms are a good size and free wi-fi is provided throughout. Of particular interest is the guest lounge, with its original features and paintings, a selection of board games for... More 

Thank John J
rompipalla, Owner at The Winter Dene, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the book collection. We are lucky to have the lounge for guests to enjoy and we also have seating in the garden during the summer. This year we won Gold in "Bournemouth in Bloom" which we are very proud of. More 

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (9)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Room/Suite (4)
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (13)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Room/Suite (5)
Dining (2)
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Montague Hotel
BEST WESTERN Montague Hotel
#44 of 79 in Bournemouth
453 reviews
0.2 km away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#27 of 79 in Bournemouth
342 reviews
3.2 km away
The Rosscourt
The Rosscourt
#9 of 144 in Bournemouth
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
#37 of 144 in Bournemouth
237 reviews
0.4 km away
The Chocolate Box Hotel
The Chocolate Box Hotel
#5 of 144 in Bournemouth
651 reviews
2.2 km away
#6 of 144 in Bournemouth
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Visit Britain 4 Star Guest Accommodation with Silver Award and Breakfast Award. An elegant Victorian villa which has been lovingly refurbished to offer comfortable surroundings for your holidays. Situated in a quiet area of the West Cliff, just 5 minutes walk from beach and 10 minutes walk to Bournemouth International Centre and town centre, pier, etc. All rooms are en-suite with bath and/or shower, TV with freeview/radio, hairdryer, safe and tea/coffee making facilities. Superior doubles and family rooms have king size or superkingsize beds. Large car park within hotel garden. Refrigerator for guest use and ice. Free WIFI. Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Winter Dene

Address: 11 Durley Road South | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range: $163 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winter Dene 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Winter Dene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Winter Dene staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Winter Dene staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room at ground level, room 1 was good size and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles martinades1, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Top floor, if you don't mind the climb!”
 of 5 bubbles FizzyJazzle, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles oge12365, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Not good if you dont do stairs as the breakfast room is in the basement.”
 of 5 bubbles 887francesm, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Family room overlooks garden”
 of 5 bubbles KozakReading, 2 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay