We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chelsea Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Chelsea Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Chelsea Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 163: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for one night whilst in Bournemouth on business. I chose it for the £35 rate and central location (it's very close to the train station). As I would be at an evening meeting and gone by 7.30am, I really just needed a place to get my head down. This was on a Wednesday night. I arrived at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jess M
BeereA, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

The young girl in question was my granddaughter who is quicker than me at 66 years of age, these days to get to the intercom to let people in for me. The bell at the front door is not smashed in as you put it, but the strip that you put a name into was missing and has been for...

Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

This hotel is the best one I stayed while staying in Bournemouth, I have stayed here more then once and will stay here as often as I can. The staff and owners are friendly and welcoming, I feel content and relaxed, the bed's are really comfortable, the shower and bathroom are very clean and work well. My last stay I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mick B
BeereA, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review we do try our best to accommodate you and your stay at the Chelsea Hotel.

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2016

Lovely warm welcoming homely feel, the owners are very helpful and friendly... bedrooms are comfortable and cleaned daily, I've stayed here a few times and I've never been dissapointed. Very good value for money

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Coled3
BeereA, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words.

Havant, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Nice little hotel, five minutes walk from train station. Very friendly staff, the rooms were clean and tidy and its location is reasonably near to the main strip of bars and clubs but far enough away from it so as not to affect your stay at the hotel. This hotel is really ideal for stag and hen parties I would...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Elliott P
BeereA, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I noticed that you didn't mention the rest of the breakfast, croissants, waffles, choc o pans, cheese's, yogurts, fresh fruit, juices, ground coffee, but hey ho I have.

Reviewed 28 January 2016

This is not an hotel but a shelter for people as it doesn't meet the minimum standard. The worst is that the owner is so rude with customer. Note You are not allow to receive any visitor what you'll never been told before you'll be put in shame by this rude owner. The funny thing is that she can take...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Herve M
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2015

The room was very small, the shower was at waist height, and the beds were very uncomfortable. To top it all off the staff were rude, and unhelpful. My advise would be to stay well away! Breakfast is also a rip off - its £5 extra and you get some toast for that.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank GeorgeVeys
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Actually you didn't pay for your stay, your company did, and as it was winter they asked for a special rate which I gave them, and it was well below the weekly price. You had the luxury of a twin room for 1 and you had the largest ensuite in the hotel. No they did not ask for breakfast to...

Reviewed 30 October 2015 via mobile

Stayed this week and was very pleasantly surprised for such a reasonable peice I found it very good value room good size, nice shower. Everything you need for a short stay. Hotel centrally located and 5 minute walk from train station. Can definitely recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angie B
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2015 via mobile

First of all, I think some of the reviews on here are unfair, for £35 a night for a last minute booking I don't think the price for the room can be faulted, as a group of 6 visiting football fans a lot of hostels/b'n'bs didn't take us, so was glad to find this hotel. Location of The Chelsea Hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KTHFC
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2015

The rooms were very clean and well kept. The en suites were clean and of good quality, the staff very friendly and accommodating (especially in the bar) and the locations is perfect for stag/hen parties! Good value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carl M
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for you review, you were a great group and thank you for your kind words.

Reviewed 7 September 2015 via mobile

This hotel advertises itself as a stag/hen do hotel, so for those that have posted negative reviews you really should consider what you really expect from a stag/hen do! In my opinion this hotel is ideal. It is a five minute walk from the Inferno bar, from which you can pretty much pub crawl to whichever bar you like. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBck
ChrissyBeere, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, your comments and suggestions have been taken on board. You were the ideal stag group! Thanks guys it was a pleasure having you here, Regards Chrissy

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 km away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
567 reviews
0.7 km away
Burley Court Hotel
Burley Court Hotel
#58 of 66 in Bournemouth
259 reviews
0.0 km away
Lea Hurst Hotel
Lea Hurst Hotel
#21 of 133 in Bournemouth
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Kantara Guest House
Kantara Guest House
#75 of 133 in Bournemouth
39 reviews
0.3 km away
Ingledene House
Ingledene House
#107 of 133 in Bournemouth
101 reviews
0.0 km away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#99 of 133 in Bournemouth
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Chelsea Hotel is ideally situated only a three minute walk from the Bournemouth train & coach station, and the bus stop, and eleven minutes to the cliff top with its fabulous views across the bay, the cliff lift and Zig Zag path to the famous nine miles of sandy beaches.All rooms are fresh and clean, and constantly upgrading. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel

Address: 32 St. Swithuns Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range: $81 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chelsea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Chelsea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chelsea Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Chelsea Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dont stay here!”
GeorgeVeys, 16 Dec 2015 | Read review
“room one good size for groups”
christopherrS7231YQ, 28 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Look for another hotel.”
18Phill79, 6 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Rooms at rear are quieter. Occasional passing traffic and pedestrians at front.”
595DaveH595, 8 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms are cooler in the summer.”
debcoath, 9 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5