We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hinton Firs Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hinton Firs Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

351 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 349: English reviews
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

There were 24 of us attending the event from Saturday afternoon until Sunday afternoon. From the time of our arrival until we left we were looked after very well with every detail being attended to. Rooms have had some refurbishment since our last visit in January 2916. The food and service were both excellent. We will certainly be returning again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yorky T
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Yorky, may I just say it was a pleasure to look after you and your party as ever. It is always nice to have nice people stay with us here at the hotel. Thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to comment on your stay with us. Much appreciated. Look forward to the...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely night here and walked to the town to eat and do some Christmas shopping. The welcome on arrival was warm and friendly. The room was clean and tidy and had recently been refurbished. It had everything you need for an overnight stay. Breakfast was lovely. We had a full English. Really liked it here. Cannot comment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2012travelbugs
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Really glad you found us enjoyable. Hope to see you again in the future. May we wish you a great 2017.

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is our second visit to the Hinton Firs and will always return when we come to Bournemouth. We had a private function room for dinner which we had with family and friends and it was lovely. Staff polite and accommodating,free parking and the beach on your doorstep.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments on your stay with us. Really glad you enjoyed the private dinning experience that we can offer our guests. May i take this opportunity to wish you all the very best for 2017, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

stoke on trent
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

We visited this hotel for 1night seeing room 28 it was a bit of a shock very outdated bed sheets clean very dirty bed valance and creased dirty marks on carpet .Bathroom shower got mould on but bathroom clean .Beds were comfy though.On the plus side the reception dining room and lounges were updated the evening meal was lovely also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bunnyStokeOnTrent
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BunnyStokeOnTrent, Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I am really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, I will of course be speaking to the Housekeeper with regard to the marks on the carpet and the creased / dirty valance, this is not to our standard. I don't quite...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Overnight stay December 11th. Pleasant welcome,lovely staff ,room comfortable and warm.plenty of hot water.Really good menu and if there wasn't anything for you, the staff ask if the chef can prepare you something. Good breakfast menu , and I am vegetarian but found plenty to eat.. A short walk takes you go the seafront. All In all, good value and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maureen R
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maureen R, Thanks for taking time to leave comments on your recent stay with us. I do appreciate people leaving us valid / constructive comments, as there are so many idiots using TripAdvisor as a stick to beat places with just because they did not have the courage to ask when they were there. It makes the job worth...

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2016

The hotel was spotlessly clean, the staff were helpful and friendly. The rooms were lovely and big, great decoration. The hotel is just a 10/15 min walk to the city centre and a 5 min walk to the seafront.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JacksH1960
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jacks H, Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay with us here at the Hinton Firs, really glad you enjoyed your visit. Look forward to welcoming you back at anytime. We are only as nice as our guests.... Have a great Christmas.

Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

I have no problem with dated hotels, especially with the price we paid, but I would not recommend this hotel as a place to stay for more than a night or two and certainly not if you are planning on spending a lot of time in the hotel. Bar is expensive, full English breakfast average. The stick out thing for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LAC172
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay with us. Sorry you found us cold. We have altered the time clock so that the heating is now coming on earlier and going off later to try and make sure this problem is sorted. We do state in the guest compendium, that if you need more...

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Was looking forward to my sea bass; came out uncooked as did a lot of others in party. Manager advised I should have said something- why I would then be dining on my own! Chef should know how to cook!! I wasn't even offered a complimentary drink...poor customer service

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debbie N N
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Debbie NN, I am very sorry that you felt that your fish was under cooked, this of course was not to our usual standard, as the party have been coming to us several times now as they are aware of our high standards of food. If you had made me aware at the time, we could have replaced it...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2016

stayed here before and we were happy so came back. went to have a shower and discovered that we didn't have any hot water. The shower was over a bath and this was filthy. after complaining twice they moved us to another room with a walk in shower, which was much more modern. breakfast service was very slow and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teresab35
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us this time. If you do change your mind about giving us another chance. Please give me a call so that i can organise a room and rate that reflects the problems you encountered. You know we are better than this. Thank you for your comments, we are in...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2016

We stayed in this hotel for one night, our room was on the top floor. Room was cosy, but we had very little in the way of toiletries. Limited hot water and no hot water for a shower. The service in the restaurant for breakfast was awful with my tea arriving but my husband having to ask for his coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

So sorry you feel we are only average. I apologise if you had to wait for your breakfast, As we are one of the few places that still serves breakfast to the table rather than putting it all out on a hot buffet, and letting people lose on it. I know this seems like it takes longer, but a lot...

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 km away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#40 of 69 in Bournemouth
761 reviews
2.2 km away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 69 in Bournemouth
446 reviews
0.2 km away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#29 of 69 in Bournemouth
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Village Hotel Bournemouth
Village Hotel Bournemouth
#35 of 69 in Bournemouth
1,439 reviews
0.1 km away
The Ocean View Hotel
The Ocean View Hotel
#49 of 69 in Bournemouth
361 reviews
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#17 of 69 in Bournemouth
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We would like to offer you a warm welcome to Hinton Firs Hotel, set in tranquil gardens on Bournemouth's prestigious East Cliff, just a few minutes' walk from the sea. Our traditional three star hotel is family owned, which means that we create an ideal atmosphere to ensure that your stay is a real home from home. We take pride in offering a truly personal service, and firmly believe that our hospitality is unrivaled. With beautiful beaches a stone's throw away, two theatres on the doorstep, as well as excellent shopping and many leisure activities, Hinton Firs Hotel is the perfect place to explore, be entertained or just unwind. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hinton Firs Hotel

Address: 9 Manor Road, Bournemouth BH1 3ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range: $45 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hinton Firs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hinton Firs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hinton Firs Hotel Bournemouth
Hinton Firs Bournemouth
Hotel Hinton Firs
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hinton Firs Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hinton Firs Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“none of the rooms are beach”
 of 5 bubbles MsMMM, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“i stayed in room 29 and it was very comfortable for a single room.”
 of 5 bubbles CRAZ57MAY, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There is a lift but some rooms are up a few steps from the lift so ensure you make your position clear.”
 of 5 bubbles 483mrshc, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Very little outside noise in the room we had on ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles HonestJohnofKent, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on top floor, rooms were really nice!”
 of 5 bubbles JoseycmT, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay