We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hinton Firs Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hinton Firs Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

357 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 355: English reviews
Start your review of Hinton Firs Hotel
 Click to rate
England
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just got back from a two night stay here with my friend. After reading some of these reviews we were a bit worried but in fact we were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was, the staff were friendly and helpful and the only negative would be that the shower wasn't great. Yes it could do with a bit of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heeidiii
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your positive comment, really appreciate you taking time out to leave you feedback for others to see. We look forward to welcoming you back anytime you wish. Many thanks

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed as a family group having three rooms - just for one night. All of the showers were terrible, with one not being called a shower in reality as the amount of water was about that which you would get from a poor performing watering can. With all three either the shower water was scalding or freezing. The bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul M. Thanks for your comments, it is very clear you did not enjoy your stay here at The Hinton Firs. I do feel you should have looked at what you were booking, if you wanted all modern and new hotel you really should have booked that rather than an older style traditional hotel. But prices are very attractive....

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A great location just a short walk from the beach. The hotel has good facilities and willing helpful staff. The pool and sauna are an added bonus although there is a £5 per head charge. Some of the interior was dated but didn't detract from our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment about your recent stay. Glad that you enjoyed your time with us, and we would love to welcome you back in the future. Once again thanks for your time.

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here with a large group for two nights. Not the most modern hotel I have ever stayed at but it was clean and comfortable and the food was superb. One down side was the price of beer. £4.50 a pint is a bit steep. Very pleasant serving staff. Would stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michael186363
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. I am the first to agree with you ' a modern, stainless steel, glass and chrome place we are not'. If you like all of those things you will hate us. We are an older more traditional style of hotel. Most of our guests understand and like this about...

Westbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We have just returned home from a three day stay at Hinton Firs. Arriving on a very cold dull February Thursday we were given a very warm and friendly welcome from the Manager and checked in without fuss. We were allocated a room on the ground floor as we also had our dog with us but were informed we could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hencoop
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay with us, really glad you enjoyed. We are the first to say we are not all modern, stainless steel and glass. But more a home from home sort of hotel. Sorry about the pool, let us know if you come again and we will do you a special deal, because...

Ely, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Have been going to this hotel for the past 10 years, over the years the staff and accommodation has been up and down, this stay the staff and food greatly improved and some improvements in the room, but still the bathroom needs work and up-dating, hopefully next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

Very pleased to hear that you have noticed our recent improvements, we are in the middle of trying to refresh and update the hotel. really glad you enjoyed the stay. Thanks for taking the time out to pass on your comments.

Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night with my partner. For the price I paid you can't go wrong. However I wouldn't have liked to have spent more than one night in this hotel. If you aren't looking for anything fancy then this is the hotel for you. Positives: Big room with massive bed Big bathroom Nice clean bedding and towels Plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time out to comment on your recent stay with us, glad you enjoyed it. Hope to see you again in the future when we have complete our refurbishments.

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2017

There were 24 of us attending the event from Saturday afternoon until Sunday afternoon. From the time of our arrival until we left we were looked after very well with every detail being attended to. Rooms have had some refurbishment since our last visit in January 2916. The food and service were both excellent. We will certainly be returning again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yorky T
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Yorky, may I just say it was a pleasure to look after you and your party as ever. It is always nice to have nice people stay with us here at the hotel. Thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to comment on your stay with us. Much appreciated. Look forward to the...

Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely night here and walked to the town to eat and do some Christmas shopping. The welcome on arrival was warm and friendly. The room was clean and tidy and had recently been refurbished. It had everything you need for an overnight stay. Breakfast was lovely. We had a full English. Really liked it here. Cannot comment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2012travelbugs
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Really glad you found us enjoyable. Hope to see you again in the future. May we wish you a great 2017.

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

This is our second visit to the Hinton Firs and will always return when we come to Bournemouth. We had a private function room for dinner which we had with family and friends and it was lovely. Staff polite and accommodating,free parking and the beach on your doorstep.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
NickJLane, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments on your stay with us. Really glad you enjoyed the private dinning experience that we can offer our guests. May i take this opportunity to wish you all the very best for 2017, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 km away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#42 of 68 in Bournemouth
25 reviews
2.2 km away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 68 in Bournemouth
455 reviews
4.1 km away
Village Hotel Bournemouth
Village Hotel Bournemouth
#33 of 68 in Bournemouth
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
0.4 km away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.2 km away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 68 in Bournemouth
1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We would like to offer you a warm welcome to Hinton Firs Hotel, set in tranquil gardens on Bournemouth's prestigious East Cliff, just a few minutes' walk from the sea. Our traditional three star hotel is family owned, which means that we create an ideal atmosphere to ensure that your stay is a real home from home. We take pride in offering a truly personal service, and firmly believe that our hospitality is unrivaled. With beautiful beaches a stone's throw away, two theatres on the doorstep, as well as excellent shopping and many leisure activities, Hinton Firs Hotel is the perfect place to explore, be entertained or just unwind. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hinton Firs Hotel

Address: 9 Manor Road, Bournemouth BH1 3ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range: $60 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hinton Firs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hinton Firs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hinton Firs Hotel Bournemouth
Hinton Firs Bournemouth
Hotel Hinton Firs
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#19 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hinton Firs Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hinton Firs Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take a higher room if you are mobile”
 of 5 bubbles michael186363, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“very quiet in room 70”
 of 5 bubbles hencoop, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“none of the rooms are beach”
 of 5 bubbles MsMMM, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“i stayed in room 29 and it was very comfortable for a single room.”
 of 5 bubbles CRAZ57MAY, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There is a lift but some rooms are up a few steps from the lift so ensure you make your position clear.”
 of 5 bubbles 483mrshc, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5