We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel

Booking.comUSD 142*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 142*
USD 142*
USD 142*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,752 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,735: English reviews
Isle of Wight
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Last minute booking for a work trip. Was roomed in the lodge, which is next door. If I had a choice I would stay in main hotel as easier for using spa facilities and dining. I had a single room so small but perfectly adequate and well priced. Breakfast was a very good choice and I found all staff to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sillybillyiow
BW-Connaught, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Billy, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes, Simon Hartwell General Manager Executive rooms booked direct with the hotel are guaranteed their own, personal parking space!! Book direct - 01202 298020 - we guarantee the lowest prices and it ensures you get the room...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay. The rooms are good enough and very clean both in the room and en suite. The spa facilities are good with the gyms being ok. The food in the restaurant is really good and the breakfast is excellent. Best of all are the staff who are very nice and helpful, especially the restaurant manager. Thank...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert S
BW-Connaught, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Robert, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes, Simon Hartwell General Manager Executive rooms booked direct with the hotel are guaranteed their own, personal parking space!! Book direct - 01202 298020 - we guarantee the lowest prices and it ensures you get the room...

Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff were very welcoming and friendly. We were in "Rose Suite" which had 2 rooms, one with a very comfortable double bed, and one with a rather uncomforable pull-out sofa bed. Plus a shower room. Everything was in good condition and looked freshly decorated. We pre-paid for breakfast which was very good. Full English cooked breakfast available (bacon, sausage,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DorsetDweller
BW-Connaught, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review DorsetDweller, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes, Simon Hartwell General Manager Executive rooms booked direct with the hotel are guaranteed their own, personal parking space!! Book direct - 01202 298020 - we guarantee the lowest prices and it ensures you get the room...

Coventry
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

excellent room with balcony so nice to sit in sunshine Restaurant was very good as was the spa definately recommend and would stay again. The location is good and is 2 minutes walk to the cliff and 2 mins down the slope to the sandy beach (1 word of warning for the less mobile) the slope is steep so might...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andrewkB222MB
BW-Connaught, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Andrew, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes, Simon Hartwell General Manager Executive rooms booked direct with the hotel are guaranteed their own, personal parking space!! Book direct - 01202 298020 - we guarantee the lowest prices and it ensures you get the room...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stay in this hotel when going to a show in Bournemouth. Whilst it is part of a chain, it doesn't feel like it. All staff are accommodating and friendly and the food is very good. Lovely lounge area and a choice of two restaurants. Breakfast is very good too. It is convenient for walking to the BIC or Pavilion,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CaroleCAT
BW-Connaught, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Carole, all Best Western hotels are privately owned which is why we don't feel like a chain. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in August. Best wishes, Simon Hartwell General Manager Executive rooms booked direct with the hotel are guaranteed their own, personal parking space!! Book...

Essex
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in the adjoining Connaught lodge. Booked with Booking. com so got a very good price. Very friendly and helpful staff. Very nice breakfast included. Had a lovely evening meal in the restaurant. Location was great, just a short walk to the beach, restaurants and shops. Did not have time to use the spa facilities downstairs. Unfortunately the swimming pool...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tracey F
BW-Connaught, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Tracey, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay overall - apologies for the spa being closed on the day you were with us, it was closed for essential maintenance ans is now fully up and running again, we did try to give everyone advance notice which I hope you received. We look forward to welcoming...

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arrival we had no problems parking in the car park, however check in was very slow - otherwise we were very happy with our basic room which was a decent size, with a comfortable bed and a bright light bathroom too, we weren't worried about not having a fridge as we stayed just the one night, but I think...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MG100surrey
BW-Connaught, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review MG, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay overall - if you would particularly like a fridge for your next visit please book one of our executives or suites as they have fridges installed. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Best wishes, Simon Hartwell General Manager Executive rooms booked...

Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Love this hotel, so relaxing and the staff are special, nothing is a issue. We used the spa facilities which was fantastic, Lovely ladies. We are visiting again in August 2017 and are going to stay in the Orchid suite and use the spa again. Highly recommended. Thanks you Connaught.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markfl1960
BW-Connaught, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Mark, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in August. Best wishes, Simon Hartwell General Manager Executive rooms booked direct with the hotel are guaranteed their own, personal parking space!! Book direct - 01202 298020 - we guarantee the lowest prices and it ensures you get the...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our first visit to Bournemouth to meet up with friends. Booked the Connaught after reading reports. The décor is fresh but 'dramatic' - not to everyone's taste. The bedrooms are spacious and well designed and furnished. However although the lift serves every floor there is invariably a number of steps thereafter to the bedroom corridor - not the easiest for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank welders
BW-Connaught, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Welders, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes, Simon Hartwell General Manager Executive rooms booked direct with the hotel are guaranteed their own, personal parking space!! Book direct - 01202 298020 - we guarantee the lowest prices and it ensures you get the room...

bigbum0204
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stay for 3 nights in a balcony room. Staff are wonderful helpful always smiling. Breakfast wonderful. Lovely staff. Rooms small but clean .ok bathroom. Would have liked a bath.shower a little poor. Nice location. Swimming pool lovely. We had a lovely stay. Weather helped. We would return a lovely stay in a very nice hotel. very clean. fantastic staff. Nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigbum0204
BW-Connaught, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review "bigbum", I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes, Simon Hartwell General Manager Executive rooms booked direct with the hotel are guaranteed their own, personal parking space!! Book direct - 01202 298020 - we guarantee the lowest prices and it ensures you get the room...

587 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (269)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (102)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (297)
Viewed
Amenities (51)
Viewed
Orchid Suite (52)
Viewed
Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (25)
Viewed
Other (74)
Viewed
Superior Double (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.7 km away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,333 reviews
1.2 km away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
844 reviews
2.3 km away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,463 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#8 of 66 in Bournemouth
586 reviews
0.3 km away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This AA 4 star BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel is Trip Advisor's No 1 Bournemouth Hotel with a magnificent spa, an award-winning double rosette restaurant and 54 beautifully decorated en-suite bedrooms, including 3 junior suites, 6 executive rooms, superior, standard and single rooms, some with their own private balcony or terrace. The hotel is centrally located on the West Cliff and is less than 500m to the town centre, with all its bars, clubs and restaurants, the BIC, Pavilion Theatre, pier and beaches. Free WiFi, Free Parking and Free Membership of the Spa and Leisure Club await you. The Bluewater Spa offers 2 gymnasiums, an 18m swimming pool and spa pool, a luxurious, fully tiled eucalyptus steam room, a superb sauna and a beauty and 3 massage therapy suites, to include a double. After a relaxing day in the Spa enjoy a fine dinner and top class wine in our award-winning, double rosette restaurant, Blakes, where Nick Rutigliano, the Maitre d', and his team will serve you with superb food, freshly prepared by Ben Nicol, the Head Chef. The hotel was again awarded the highly coveted Silver Shield in 2013 by Green Tourism for Business for its contribution to the environment and local community. Trip Advisor has once again awarded the 2014 Certificate of Excellence to the Hotel, the Spa and to Blakes Restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel

Address: 30 West Hill Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range: $151 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bournemouth
Bournemouth Best Western
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#1 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for room in main Hotel over next door lodge if possible.”
sillybillyiow, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our room was very quiet - apart from the seagulls squawking outside!”
DorsetDweller, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“have a room with balcony”
andrewkB222MB, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Tulip Suite was well placed within the hotel”
_garyleewalsh, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Research room accessibility if you have mobility problems.there is a lift but can still encounter stairs as split landings”
kd_seniorsgolf, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 142* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUSD 142
TravelocityUSD 142
TripAdvisorUSD 142
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates