We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kings Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

382 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kings Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 367: English reviews
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on the recommendation of previous Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. There was only one room left when we booked and it was the smallest room but there was everything we needed. It was spotlessly clean with tea and coffee facilities, fluffy white towels, tv and toiletries. Brian welcomed us with a cup of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yorkyld
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We agree that our smallest room should cater for most people and appreciate your acknowledgement of our cleaning schedule to ensure that all rooms are extremely clean and there is no evidence that a dog may have been the last visitor. Thank you.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We had a wonderful stay at King's Lodge. The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was delicious and we were able to order each morning rather than the night before. Everyone made us feel very welcome and we loved the relaxed atmosphere, having the dogs around made us really feel at home. The location is great it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharonannhale3
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review

We do tend to work out if Willow and Scoobie are welcomed by guests before allowing them alongside guests and are happy that they contributed to the relaxed atmosphere. We agree that Kings Lodge is great base for both Torquay and Devon. Thanks for taking the time to write a review and for your kind words.

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2016

The rooms here are lovely and clean, breakfast is tasty and there is an outside area which really catches the evening sun. The owners are friendly, helpful and informative, we will definitely be returning.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vespagirl85
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Thank you for acknowledging our breakfasts which is made soley from local and premium produce along with the cleanliness of Kings Lodge which we take great pride in. Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us and hope your return is soon.

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We have just returned from a lovely weekend at Kings Lodge, beautiful b&b very welcoming hosts very clean and tidy, the best on suite we have ever had, we will definitely going back.Thank you Brian & Amanda for making our stay so enjoyable

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andygroves7
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review

It was our pleasure to welcome you to Kings Lodge and will be an honour to welcome you back where you can be assured of great accomodation, service and facilities when visiting Torquay.

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

This was our second stay at Kings Lodge, and yet again, it was wonderful.. Everything was the same, great hosts, great service, lovely room and scrumptious breakfast.. We couldn't see ourselves, staying anywhere else..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ButtonsPerry77x
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us again. This lets us know we are maintaining the same high standards and making improvements wherever possible for the benefit of all our guests. We are glad that you cannot see yourselves staying anywhere else and look forward to welcoming you once again.

Reviewed 13 September 2016

arrived at kings lodge to a warm welcome from brian &Amanda immaculate room and excellent breakfast lovely place to stay next time we go to torquay we would stay here not to far from any of torquay's attractions m Collins and freinds

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review

Mike, thank you for taking the time to write your review to let us know that you had a great stay with us and would stay here again.

Reviewed 12 September 2016

We only booked 2 nights, as going away is not always easy for us due to health and mobility issues. The kindliness of the whole family lifted us from the moment we arrived. Bryan took trouble to set a ramp so I could access our room comfortably - even the lovely garden area was accessible! The food was delicious and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Radish285
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Jackie and David, for your very kind words. It was our pleasure to accommodate your needs whilst staying with us which helps us move towards an enabling environment for all guests and see where we can make reasonable adjustments to a Victorian property. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you both back to Kings Lodge where...

Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Everything!! The hosts, the room, the food and information!! Everything was excellent!! I now see why they have so many Thank You cards!! :D We're going to recommend the Kings Lodge to everyone we know!! :D They are a dog friendly place and all the dogs were on their best behaviour and made friends! It was lovely having them around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taz8860
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review

Jenny, A huge thanks for such a comprehensive and wonderful review which you obviously dedicated some time to write. It makes us extremely proud of the service, facilities and personal experience we provide at Kings Lodge that helps us cater for all of our guests. It was a pleasure to welcome you to Kings Lodge and we too would love...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We only had 2 nights at the Kings Lodge but were so impressed by the quality and cleanliness of the rooms, the warm welcome from Bryan & Amanda, the excellent breakfast and of course the well-priced bar. We will definitely be back. :)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leisel G
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review

We firmly believe that providing quality accomodation and breakfast along with ensuring that guests are happy with a bar that does not have inflated prices ensures that they are willing to make use of it. We appreciate your comments and would love to see you again soon.

New Mills, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

A big thank you to Bryan and Amanda for an enjoyable stay with our boys Bill and Ted. From the moment we arrived nothing was too much, Bryan took our bags from the car to our room while we booked in, Amanda asked us if we would like some coffee once we had unpacked. Our room had a four poster...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mark5281
Kingslodge, Owner at Kings Lodge, responded to this review

We are really pleased that it wasn't just Bill and Ted who had the "Excellent Adventure" on this occassion and that you were all so pleased with your stay at Kings Lodge. Our sincere appreciation not only for your kind review comments but also for singing praises to family and friends which we know only too well that guests will...

221 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (179)
Viewed
Double Room (17)
Viewed
Family Room (30)
Viewed
Four Poster Room (16)
Viewed
Gold Double Room (27)
Viewed
Ground Floor Family Room (30)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (16)
Viewed
Wedgwood Room (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.1 km away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#4 of 148 in Torquay
763 reviews
0.9 km away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#3 of 148 in Torquay
216 reviews
1.7 km away
The Redholme
The Redholme
#2 of 148 in Torquay
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 148 in Torquay
287 reviews
0.2 km away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#7 of 148 in Torquay
358 reviews
1.7 km away
Kingsholm Hotel
Kingsholm Hotel
#9 of 148 in Torquay
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kings Lodge Guest House is a situated in a tree lined avenue and is perfectly placed for enjoying the facilities within Torquay or for sightseeing around Devon. Our Sunny terraced garden and our relaxing conservatory are perfect for enjoying an evening drink from our well stocked bar. We have onsite parking spaces for guests, along with plenty of on road parking. We are a family and pet dog friendly guest house. We are located within easy access to the beach, marina, town centre, Torre Abbey, the Riviera Conference Centre and Torquay Train Station. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kings Lodge

Address: 44 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England (Formerly Kings Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $101 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kings Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kings Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I stayed in double room which was a good size bright room with ensuite shower room.”
janeyloo2017, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are nice”
elizabethbU8222JN, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do email the Kings Lodge if you have any requirements, I'm sure they would be only too happy to help.”
Wowaline, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“large family room on ground floor with a double, bunk beds and a travel cot if required”
sue_r_abbott, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There is a downstairs family bedroom ideal for disabled”
milforge, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Booking.com
Priceline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates