We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bancourt Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bancourt Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

208 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bancourt Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 207: English reviews
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2014

I stayed at the Bancourt Hotel for 5 days I must say I had the most pleasant holiday I could wish for as this was the first time I traveled alone the food was good too I met some lovely people Thank You so much Mrs L Rounding

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 355lynn
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

You're welcome. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2014

My wife & I stayed in this hotel in August 2014 whilst on a David Urquhart "Torquay 5 day Superdeal " holiday. We were allocated spacious family room (No.30 ) on 1st. floor which we found acceptable with lots of wardrobe & storage space. Paintwork & décor would benefit though from a bit of freshening up, and carpet cleaned. We...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank jockfraebrig
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2014

Stayed here and from the start customer service was above and beyond. Menu and food service outstanding..Slightly tired decor but overall outstanding value and fabulous staff.Gardens and outside seating areas lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adele H
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

May I take this opportunity to thank you for taking time to review the hotel and your positive comments. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2014

i stayed here in this hotel for a week and i have to say the staff are great but the hotel lets its self down this is not a star rated hotel and all decor is outdated if the owners put some time and money then they could achieve a star rating the food i found to be small potions...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank trustsmartd
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review the Bancourt, and your positive comments regarding the staff. I’m sorry the décor did not live up to your expectations. Unfortunately, due to the number of guests for dinner, it would not be possible to give the choice of potatoes/vegetables as well as the main meal. Regarding the breakfast, either mushrooms, hash browns...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I've seen a few bad reviews about this hotel, please do not believe them.....This hotel clearly isn't a 5*, but you know that when you book with them. The staff are absolutely fantastic, especially our waitress Nina. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and as a guest I was made to feel completely at home. The nightly entertainment...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Elaine W
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review about your recent stay, and for your many positive comments. I have displayed this review for the staff to see as it is great to know that our hard work is appreciated by the guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Booked this last minute for following day. On arrival hotel looked great, really good location,the double room was very old fashioned but lovely & clean. A bit disappointed there was no food opportunity such as dinner or breakfast, no wifi neither.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mifandmif
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on your recent stay, however I am disappointed that the hotel did not meet your expectations. Breakfast and dinner is available on most evenings throughout the summer months, so it is unfortunate that it wasn't available on the night that you stayed. Is is advisable to check with us before booking if you were wanting...

Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Found this establishment online with no availability to book, so telephoned to make an enquiry for a particular room . Was advised to call back the following day as the person I was speaking to was the night porter/receptionist who was unsure. Called as asked & was told they were fully booked but they would call me back should the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Angela C
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

I am shocked that you have left this review about your recent stay at the Bancourt Hotel. It was due to unfortunate reasons that the room you requested was not available for you during your stay, which we apologised for, and were given another suitable room. You left us a note on departure to ‘Thank us for the nice surprise,...

Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2014

After reading the reviews about this Hotel before we went I was not sure what to expect.We have just returned after our few days on a leisuretime tour and have to say it was a very enjoyable stay. The breakfast was a perfect it was well presented and tasty, there was an extensive evening menu to choose from as well...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David K
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

May I take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your numerous positive comments regarding your stay. I hope this will help other prospective guests to make a decision about booking with us. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Bancourt for another enjoyable stay.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Review on behalf of my grandparents. Their words: Visited on a coach holiday. The hotel really skimped on every little thing they could. They didn't give tea or coffee with/after dinner. They charged for extra milk cartons if you wanted a drink in your room. The dinner service was slow. They couldn't cope with the number of customers. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Michael798
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that the hotel did not live up to your Grandparents expectations. As we are a hotel, having a walk in shower does not necessarily mean that there will be handrails, we do not advertise having disabled rooms. If the problem with the hot water had been mentioned during their stay, we could have rectified the issue. We...

candolim
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Did Mon-Fri with national coach holidays my friend and myself. We had a family room which was very clean, comfortable and spacious. The food was good and a varied menu although we didnt like the meal times. Breakfast 8.15-8.45 Dinner 7.00-7.30. Woo betide you if you was late. Entertainment Tues Wed & Thurs was passible. I thought the prices of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank leeds2011
BancourtHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Bancourt Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Bancourt. Unfortunately we had a major maintenance problem with the swimming pool which has taken longer than anticipated to repair. We're glad you enjoyed you stay and would return.

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#59 of 89 in Torquay
650 reviews
0.6 km away
Marquis Hotel
Marquis Hotel
#39 of 89 in Torquay
324 reviews
0.6 km away
Rainbow International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#89 of 89 in Torquay
1,103 reviews
0.8 km away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#22 of 89 in Torquay
1,002 reviews
0.6 km away
Seascape Hotel
Seascape Hotel
#46 of 89 in Torquay
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in Torquay, South Devon, at the Heart of the English Riviera, this family run no smoking hotel is perfect for exploring the surrounding Devon coast and countryside. The Bancourt is open all year and offers great value for money. The hotel makes an ideal destination for groups, individuals and families, whether you are looking for a short break or holiday. You can relax and make use of the hotels facilities. We have a large secluded gardens, WiFi available at no charge and Car Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bancourt Hotel

Address: 55-65 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $86 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bancourt Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Bancourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bancourt Hotel Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bancourt Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms along the corridor numbered in the area of 50 have no central heating”
 of 5 bubbles josie2015561, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“36 double 4 poster”
 of 5 bubbles jennifer1950, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Run down but would be ok to sleep as long as your bed is not broken- otherwise it makes for a very noisy night!”
 of 5 bubbles LondonTaffi, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother room 52 can't see out of window”
 of 5 bubbles MALNWEN, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Listening to the comments of other holiday makers most of the rooms were the same very basic don't expect any luxurys such as toiletries!!”
 of 5 bubbles brendad310, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5