We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Headland Hotel

Show Prices
#12 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

771 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Headland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 771: English reviews
New Forest, UK
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Spent a long weekend in january at the Headland Hotel, previous home of the Romanovs. The food was excellent as was the entertainment. Warm welcome from the staff. Single room a little small, but all in all an enjoyable break and eccellent value

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank junedomNewForest_UK
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear junedomNewForest_UK, Thank you for your lovely review of your stay here with us. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that you saw what we offered at excellent value. We are very lucky to have a such a grand building to work in and believe all of our rooms to be of a very...

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2016 via mobile

My wife and I visited for five days. The room and facilities were excellent. The six course dinners every evening were fabulous. The staff were very friendly and obliging. The views from the hotel were very nice indeed. Overall this hotel deserves a higher star rating than what it has.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Keith2450
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Keith2450, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am extremely happy to see that you had a lovely stay here. We like to offer a 5* service and are proud to say that we are still the highest rated 3* hotel in Torbay! We all hope to welcome you back again...

Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2016

Went in January for my wifes birthday, at the time of booking I told them this. We were welcomed on arrival and we were upgraded to a very good duel aspect room and the top floor with wiews over both bays. The staff from reception, bar, waiting and managment were all very helpfull and myslef and my wife would like...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yorkies5964
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Yorkies5964, Thank you for taking the time to review you lovely stay with us in January. I am so pleased to see that we took great care of you whilst celebrating your wife's birthday. We are all very excited that the leisure club, our newest addition to the hotel, will be ready very soon for all of our hotel...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2016

Just had a long weekend at the Headlands . They have recently had refurbished the entertainment lounges . Stunning views and lush furniture . Staff , welcoming and always willing to help . Dinning , staff very helpful , food delicious and plenty of choice . Rooms we had were very spacious and lovely decor . The evening entertainment was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jillymarriott
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jillymarriott, Thank you for taking the time to review you stay with us and your wonderful comments. I am so pleased to see that all the team took great care of you and that Charles was good at multi-tasking! I think you most certainly need to come and visit us again before the New Year to see our newest...

Reviewed 3 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a 3 day stay in April 15.Nice hotel in a nice location more or less on a cliff overlooking the sea. Nice rooms and decent food , what more do u want .Never got round to seeing it but theres also a nice garden in the grounds

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark T
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark c, Thank you for your lovely comments. I do hope that you will be returning to see the further improvements that we have made since your last visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Lucy

Wellington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2016

Spent the weekend of 22-25 January at this gem of a hotel as an anniversary getaway. Have stayed several times over the years and have watched it being upgraded to being an extremely nice place to stay. We took advantage of a special offer for the weekend and were not disappointed. Had a lovely sea view room - bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tina F
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tina F, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It was lovely to see that you enjoyed all aspects of your break here. I will be passing on all of your lovely comments to all of the team and I do hope that you will be returning to see us again very soon. Keep...

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2016

We would have enjoyed our stay at the hotel,but for the room we were allocated in the basemen .It was unbearably hot,with no windows in the bathroom.we had french doors in the bedroom,which we did not like to leave open at night for security reasons.so we had three sleepless nights,feeling we were in a sauna. I did ask to be...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank angy1962016
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear angy1962016, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry that you were unhappy with your room allocation, but I must point out that we do not have 'basement rooms'. As we are on a steep incline, our rooms to the rear of our property are on our garden level which is effectively...

West Midlands
Reviewed 24 January 2016

Tea and biscuits were waiting for us when we arrived. We were then given a welcome talk by Lucy the hotel manager explaining times of meals etc. There was entertainment each night in the Grand Lounge. Breakfast and dinner were taken in the Romanoff room. The décor was superb. Beautiful chandeliers and pictures to die for. The staff were very...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank joyful6
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear joyful6, Thank you for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review of your stay here. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that all aspects of your break were so good. We are in a very enviable spot on the headland overlooking some of Torquay's most beautiful coastline and are aware...

Barry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2016

Although we have visited the Headland on many occasions , this was our first visit since the refurbishment and what a transformation aided by the excellent Christmas decorations which blended nicely with new lighting particularly in the revamped lounge/bar area . We were fortunate enough to be allocated an upgrade ( not requested ) to one of the Royal rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank John E
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John E, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! I am delighted to see such wonderful comments and praise for the hotel, the food and service and all of its team members - praise which I will certainly be passing on. You are correct in thinking that our 3 Royal rooms are names after...

Bournemouth
Reviewed 11 January 2016

On our second visit to this excellent hotel, we found even more to enjoy and appreciate. Public areas and the bedroom were spotless, spacious and in an excellent state of decoration. Staff are most efficient and handle the large number of guests with practiced skill. Dining, at breakfast and dinner, is a real treat. There is a good choice of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Colin M
Lucy P, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Colin M, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am so pleased to see that we exceeded your expectations and you enjoyed you time here. We all work extremely hard to ensure that every guest is given the best possible food and service and I'm delighted to see that we achieved this. We...

262 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (159)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (58)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (78)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Beach (1)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.6 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
2,593 reviews
1.8 km away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
2.1 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#38 of 89 in Torquay
2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 89 in Torquay
462 reviews
0.5 km away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
590 reviews
0.3 km away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#29 of 89 in Torquay
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel

Address: Daddyhole Road, Torquay TQ1 2EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $123 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Headland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and LateRooms so you can book your The Headland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Torquay
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#24 Family Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Headland Hotel staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
2 months ago
Prestatyn, United Kingdom

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from The Headland Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room overlooking the sea / landscapes at front or back.”
PJB291, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“choose an executive or royal room”
678cathyo, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“A sea view room is great”
janTamworth, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing the bay offer the best views”
BigDai70, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A sea view room was very nice and comfortable with shower”
, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5