We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Headland Hotel

Show Prices
#11 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
The Headland Hotel
Panoramas (1)
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

740 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 740: English reviews
Start your review of The Headland Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

this is one of the best if not the best hotel in Torquay. we stayed there Sunday and Monday night. The moment we walked through the door we were greeted by Neil the Manager and from then on were on first name terms. All the staff were some of the friendliest we have encountered anywhere in the world which made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carpetman56
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I just can not work out how they do it for the money. We stayed for three nights in mid Feb, our room was on the side of the hotel over looking the bay and very well kept gardens. The staff were polite, friendly and the service was very quick at both breakfast and dinner, very good choice of menu...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank retto970
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went here on a 5 day coach holiday and was NOT disappointed, from the word go you were made welcome,with the manager coming on the coach to welcome you and tea and biscuits when you got inside, free drinks at six o'clock on first night, the food was superb could not fault it with six courses, service was very quick...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank diane e
Duchy H, Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure to have you at the Headland Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards Neil

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in late September 2016 At first we were not too happy with room allocated only find out a day later that someone had made a mistake with booking. ..... The owner Steve could not do enough to correct the situation and we were very happy with the outcome. The Headland is a great hotel ... great staff and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Redadaire
Duchy H, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, were pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Regards Neil Heaven

Hampshire
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here once before and thought we would return. We were so glad we did, we loved both visits. Such a friendly hotel. Staff were all so professional but friendly. Unfortunately I have to have a gluten free diet and the staff were so helpful just advising me what to avoid and adjusting what I had. But the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PennyHampshire
Duchy H, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review and we look forward to greeting you again in the near future. Headland team.

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had booked a midweek break saw it advertised in the paper at a good price, so we booked it. We were booked in at the basic room but were upgraded to the Club room, the bedroom was large and we also had a sea view which we were not expecting but it was very nice. The only downside was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank perodua
Duchy H, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Firstly I would like ti apologise for the issues you encountered with reception. Two of the reception team had started that week and we still in training, Unfortunately the supervisor was called away from the desk at the time of you query so was not there to support...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is a converted Royal residence which is located directly on the Headland at Torquay.The views across the bay are stunning.However if you are looking for a nice comfortable Hotel with fantastic food then this is the place to go.Breakfast is both full English and continental and is alwAys served hot.The evening meal is six courses and served to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paulcliffsmith
Duchy H, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Headland Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Neil Heaven General Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I with friends dinned at The Headland Hotel restaurant, we weren't residance of the hotel mind. Walking into the hotel from the street the place looks very nice and up market, inside is just the same. Not modern but it does have that old world 1940's charm. With a friendly welcome to the restaurant, seated and given...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Alan A
Duchy H, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alan A Thank you for your review regarding the restaurant. I was disappointed to read that the restaurant food did not live up to your expectations. It is very unusual to get poor reviews on or restaurant and for the food to be called bland! however food is a matter of taste and I'm sorry that your pallet did...

St Austell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed here before. We booked a club room last time which was very nice. This time we booked a Royal room. Nice big room and big en-suite, very clean in room and hotel overall. Use of new spa facilities which was a bonus. Food was excellent breakfast and evening meal included in break. great hotel would defiantly return...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Craig B
Duchy H, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review and I look forward to welcome you the Headland in the near future. Kind regards Neil Heaven General Manager

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a great 2 night break for my 51st birthday staying in an Executive rooms. Fantastic large room with window seats and the best views. We managed to get this for a special offer price in Jan/Feb and will definitely try to stay here again next year. The whole hotel is classy, warm and cosy. Everywhere is very clean...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Flibbertigibbet48
Duchy H, General Manager at The Headland Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review and I look forward to welcome you the Headland in the near future. Kind regards Neil Heaven General Manager

257 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (154)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (57)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (78)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Beach (1)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.8 km away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.6 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
2,457 reviews
2.1 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
571 reviews
1.9 km away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 89 in Torquay
1,008 reviews
1.8 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel

Address: Daddyhole Road, Torquay TQ1 2EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $118 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Headland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Headland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Torquay
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#24 Family Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Headland Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
16 days ago
16 days ago
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Rowley Regis, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from The Headland Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best rooms face the sea”
 of 5 bubbles carpetman56, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't ask for room 161 or the one above it, very creaky floor boards”
 of 5 bubbles 84dianee, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If your lucky you could book the sea view rooms which are exceptional”
 of 5 bubbles paulcliffsmith, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't eat in the restaurant for dinner.”
 of 5 bubbles Alan_and_Moya, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Front if you can get it for the view”
 of 5 bubbles muddyflats, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5