We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Colindale Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Colindale Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Colindale Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 72: English reviews
Provence
Reviewed 23 August 2009

I booked our room through Tripadvisor/Booking.com 5 days in advance of our stay but on arrival it appeared the owners had "forgotten" to write it in "their" book and consequently had let the room to soemone else. The owners seemed unperturbed and set about ringing other guest houses to find us a room. They eventually found one (The Netley) which...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Packidge
UK
Reviewed 21 July 2009

This guest house just good looking of the decoration. my husband and me stayed 3nights very disappoianted we got top floor a small room(60pounds per day) and I saw a little spiders on wall and 2 of white bathrobes quite dirty(some hair & make up on there oh ~ OMG ~ disgusted). Every time when my husband requested some milk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank piano197
LondonMajordomo, Owner at Colindale Guest House, responded to this review

We were very sad to read the above review as we feel we always go the extra mile here to make our guests enjoy their stay with us. If the reviewer had been unhappy with the room allocated we would have done our upmost to move them.We tried on each of the 3 days to enter the room for servicing,...

southampton in UK
Reviewed 16 July 2009

My wife and I love to stay in classy hotels. For some reason we book Colindale Hotel by mistake. OMG what a lovely mistake, we made. As a person has no time for gardens, I was totally besotted by the immaculate front garden. It's beauty and serenity can only be appreciated when you are standing in front of it. Then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank studentnursecheung
southhampton
Reviewed 19 June 2009

I found that Barry and Sven were excellent hosts, extremely friendly and helpful, suggesting interesting places to visit and restaurants to go to, but also providing excellent evening meals when required. The rooms were decorated with care and always well maintained. The Hotel is situated in a quiet position ,close to the front and walking distance to the town centre....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jesters1
Aussie in Guildford, UK
Reviewed 17 June 2009

We stayed at the Colindale after I'd read the recommendations on Trip Advisor. The Colindale is simply charming. You receive a warm welcome from the owner Paul, and the lovely Sven is more than happy to go out of his way to make local recommendations (i.e. where to go for a nice dinner....which by the way, 'The Elephant' Brasserie was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sessa76
Nuneaton
Reviewed 13 June 2009

As as Business Traveller, I am regularly staying in Hotels and Guest Houses around the UK. I found the Colindale a well presented, Friendly and excellent place to stay. Barry and Sven were very friendly and hospitable. The breakfasts were excellent with well cooked and plentiful portions. The rooms are immaculate and pleasantly decorated. I found the entire stay enjoyable...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MickeyWhit
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewed 27 May 2009

We had a very nice stay at the Colinadale, me, my husband and my parents. The house and the garden is beautiful. and the landlords were very kind and responsive. The decoration is very cozy but a bit crowded for my liking. Different rooms are decorated with different colours and also there is a cat theme. They have a lovely,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evrim78
Preston, Lancashire
Reviewed 24 May 2009

After a long and tedious drive from Lancashire for a five day break in Torquay, my wife, her sister and I were relieved to arrive at the Colindale and quickly discover the value of reading Tripadvisor reviews before booking a stay. The 5* reviews are deserved. On arrival, Barry the owner offered us tea and biscuits before we had dropped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RTST
leicester
Reviewed 17 April 2009

From the perfectly manicured front garden its obvious this is no ordinary guest house. The warmth of the host along with his staff; coupled with the luxurious surroundings make the Colindale an absolutely first class place to stay. It's conveniant for all local amenities and quality restaurants. Our only complaint was that we didn't stay longer!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mattnamy
Gold Coast Queensland
Reviewed 25 August 2008

We stayed at Colindale Guest House for 4 nights in July and thoroughly loved the experience. From the moment we arrived, Barry, the proprietor, made us feel very welcome, inviting us to relax and take tea in the sitting room. Our room, which was on the first floor overlooking the front garden, was well furnished and beautifully decorated. It wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MikeAndMarj

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.5 km away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#30 of 89 in Torquay
108 reviews
4.5 km away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#7 of 89 in Torquay
426 reviews
0.4 km away
Elmington Hotel
Elmington Hotel
#41 of 89 in Torquay
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 89 in Torquay
2,131 reviews
1.9 km away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
571 reviews
1.8 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
2,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A small charming very individual Victorian guest house in a quiet location very near to the sea. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Colindale Guest House

Address: 20 Rathmore Road | Chelston, Torquay TQ2 6NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $81 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colindale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Colindale Hotel Torquay
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Colindale Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't get the Blue room. Neighbours dogs barking and train noise Don't come 5min early for breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles Rose62nev, 20 Nov 2013 | Read review
“Blue room is on the rail track side with very small en-suite, avoid.”
 of 5 bubbles LeeD334, 5 Aug 2013 | Read review
“All rooms of very high standard.”
 of 5 bubbles Warriorblue, 8 Feb 2013 | Read review
“I was leaving on Sunday afternoon, and when all the other guests had checked out I was given a tour by Sven. I can honestly say I would mind staying in any of the rooms as they were all decorated to a high standard.”
 of 5 bubbles RAOCLondon, 18 Sep 2012 | Read review
“if you want a good hotel to stay in book direct with Barry Greenwood the owner do not use Laterooms”
 of 5 bubbles cookie1006576, 16 Sep 2012 | Read review
5 of 5