We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Anchorage Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

343 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Anchorage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 341: English reviews
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2015

Me and my partner were a little skeptical about this place after reading so many negative reviews but we tried it for ourselves none the less. We came up and stayed last weekend and had a very pleasant experience. The hotel staff were friendly and informative, and were able to help us navigate our way around the town as Babicombe...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sasha747
anchorageBabbacombe, Reception at Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Sash747 Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are really pleased that you enjoyed yourself and we hope to see you back again sometime soon! Best regards Anchorage Hotel

Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2015 via mobile

As a young family we regularly visit this friendly and family run hotel. The beauty is that it's open to non-residents, so as locals we get to spend fabulous sunny afternoons together with other friends with their families in the garden, having a drink and something to eat all whilst the children play safely and happily in the outdoor heated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank weddingchoice
anchorageBabbacombe, Reception at Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We had a lovely summer around the pool with hotel residents and locals alike. We are glad to hear that you all enjoyed yourself and hope that we see you back at the Anchorage again next summer! Best regards Richard

Reviewed 29 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed here in September with a group of friends on a coach trip. There were 2 coaches staying at the same time, but that didn't phase them. We had a great time, entertainment was brilliant, food was good! The manager was serving in the restaurant as well, which was nice to see! All in all a great stay!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John W
anchorageBabbacombe, Reception at Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your lovely review. We are glad to hear that you had a good time with us and hope to see you again! Best regards Richard

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2015

We stayed at this hotel for four days late september, and was pleasantly surprised after reading so many bad reviews. Room was superb at the back overlooking the pool, food was ok but those young waiters and waitresses were run off their feet. We had no cause to complain about anything other than the so called bar which failed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bjork94
anchorageBabbacombe, Reception at Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We make a great effort to ensure that all guests are looked after in the same way here at the Anchorage Hotel. It doesn't matter to us how you arrive, by car or by coach, all of our guests are equal. We offer a 24 hour bar service. With...

Reviewed 24 September 2015

I and my husband booked to go to this hotel for the 11th September we had to cancel because of illness so we sent a email to them asking if we could have are £50 deposited back there sent us a email saying it's not returnable which ok that's what we thought but in the email they had the dates...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Skids500
anchorageBabbacombe, Reception at Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. All deposits are non-transferable, non-refundable. The terms and conditions of bookings are clearly set out on your confirmation which was emailed to you on the day you made your reservation. If at the point you received your confirmation and read the terms and conditions, realising that you were unhappy with...

Assen, Drenthe, Netherlands
Reviewed 22 September 2015

this hotel is the worst we ever have seen ,the rooms are not the same as the pictures on internet ,the hotel stinks the beds where very bad the bathroom was very very bad and the food was so bad it was poor and shamefull,breakfast was poorly and whe were very sorry that whe payed for this very bad hotel

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Henny H
anchorageBabbacombe, Reception at Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I can assure you that the pictures on our website are definitely of the Anchorage Hotel and are of a fair representation of the facilities on offer. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your time with us, if maybe you had alerted Reception to the fact that you were...

Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

Being an optimist I'll give you the positive's first:- Jamie very friendly Lovely local beach. That's where the positives stop!!!! Please see my photos of the 'high tech' shower (not!!!) The dirty bedding and the horrendous wallpaper. Breakfast very low quality, rooms are awful, when you can find staff they are unpleasant, with the exception of Jamie. My advice, save...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank welshwizardmon1971
anchorageBabbacombe, Reception at Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments about Jamie and for taking the time to write your review. We have 56 bedrooms here at the Anchorage Hotel and we are a small family run business. Most of our bedrooms are different and whilst we have a continuing programme of refurbishment and updating works we are unfortunately not a Travelodge or Premier...

Reviewed 16 September 2015

Greeting on arrival was ok, but had to find your own room. As soon as you went through the doors to head to rooms there was a distinct smell of must and what could only be described as urine. Inside the room our shower either shot out boiling hot or freezing cold water and the loo needed two flushes each...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Dave O
England
Reviewed 15 September 2015

There is a very nice promenade at Babbacombe Downs with lots of pretty flowerbeds. The model village was very good and took some time to get around.. Also, there was Bygones to visit - a Victorian sort of museum. Went to Dartmouth and then cruise up the River Dart so really enjoyed my stay at Babbacombe and found it a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie14
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2015

We have visited this hotel many times. Staff are always friendly and helpful. Nice quiet location, with free car parking. Outside swimming pool is a bonus when the sun is shining. A special thank you to head receptionist Richard Dewey, always cheerful. Looking forward to our next visit to Torquay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LindsayEH

243 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (56)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (168)
Viewed
Double Room (26)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)
Viewed
Triple Family Room (29)
Viewed
Twin Room (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
2.3 km away
Red House Hotel
Red House Hotel
#51 of 89 in Torquay
177 reviews
0.5 km away
The Babbacombe Hotel
The Babbacombe Hotel
#44 of 89 in Torquay
145 reviews
1.7 km away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#49 of 89 in Torquay
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 89 in Torquay
2,442 reviews
0.2 km away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#89 of 89 in Torquay
1,103 reviews
1.9 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Anchorage Hotel

Address: Babbacombe Aveland Road, Torquay TQ1 3PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $63 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Torquay
Torquay Minotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Anchorage Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Poole, United Kingdom
28 days ago
Gloucester, United Kingdom
somerset
over a year ago
Cardiff, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Anchorage Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“you get what you pay for”
 of 5 bubbles xSineadx1, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Poor customer service”
 of 5 bubbles I5107TBmattp, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Dont Bother”
 of 5 bubbles Baza9, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Look for alternative place”
 of 5 bubbles dadyard, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Trust the staffs choice.”
 of 5 bubbles 42patchw, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5