We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Templestowe Hotel

Show Prices
#10 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Templestowe Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

535 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Templestowe Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 534: English reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

Just returned from a five day break with friends (25) of us had the most fantastic time. The management should be extremely proud of all the staff who could not do enough for you. The entertainment was second to none. I strongly recommend a visit to this hotel you will not be disappointed. Well done everyone

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christine T
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

Great to have your recommendation. Really encouraging. Thanks from all the team

Liverpool
Reviewed 3 July 2016

Will recommend this coach trip and hotel. Staff, food, entertainment excellent. Enjoyed my 5 days 4 nights, well worth it. Coach trip was with Majestic and is also well worth the money and experience. Drivers are also a pleasure to have as guides.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank babyblue55MERSEYSIDE
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

Great to have you travel down from Merseyside. Hopefully, we will be running many more coach trips from the area to Torquay so we look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks from all.

Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Brill .great hotel .fabulous staff.and top class shows each night.well done guys.rooms spotless nothing bad to say only one hell of a journey by coach due to road works .all in all a great place to stay enjoy and meet new friends

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robbie D
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

Fabulous review. Thank you so much. Torquay is a great place to relax, away from the hub-bub. We are delighted you had a great time.

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2016

just back from our hols it was our first stay & it wont be our last the staff & i mean all of them, made our stay fantastic .The entertainment was so good (thanks Paul) the rooms clean & comfy thanks (Kirsty) i can honestly say that the food was top nosh & served with smiles thanks to everyone .Our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank carole m
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

The staff very much appreciate your thanks. So glad you aim to return. We will make sure we have plenty of coaches departing from the Midlands and North, so hopefully lots of opportunity for you to join us for another holiday. Thanks again.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Just back from an excellent long weekend at the Templestowe Hotel, usual excellent service, good food, clean and comfortable room, friendly staff, and superb entertainment. A really enjoyable long weekend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vicandvera
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

Lovely to have you back. Great to hear you had an excellent holiday. Thanks from all.

devon
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Just returned from a weekend in this hotel. It was a themed weekend "Rock n roll". The whole experience was brilliant. The hotel is quite close to town and beach and is very clean. Food was very good and restaurant staff can't work any faster/harder. The same goes to the bar staff. Rooms are quite outdated but decent size. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dandy66
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed our new 'Rock n Roll" holiday and thank you for your recommendation. I agree those trees are a bit of a pest in the summer. However, many clients still prefer these reception level rooms as they are slightly larger than normal and are very light (facing south) and away from any traffic noise. We should maybe rename...

Gower Peninsula, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016

We chose to stayed at the Templestowe Hotel for its entertainment and it was just great. The staff were lovely the food was good and the hotel was really pleasant. Every evening we sat on the terrace which overlooked the pool with a nice cool drink before we went into dinner. The bedroom were very comfortable and it had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gwynfacwmdu
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

Great to have you stay and have such a good time. Hope to see you for our Early Xmas Fun breaks. They are simply the best of everything we do. If you are coming back, please don't miss them. Thanks for the review.

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2016

Lots of issues with this hotel, not enough staff for the amount of guests so the staff are stressed and snappy. The dinning room is chaos, asked for some tea while we waited for breakfast told they were too busy to do tea, wait for breakfast up to 45 minutes. Pre-ordered dinner at 8.30 am only to be told at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 333hobbit
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

Exceptionally upsetting to hear of your dissatisfaction with the hotel. I have held a management meeting to discuss your issues and gone over the questionnaires (we received forty completed for the weekend - having placed one in each of the sixty rooms occupied on the last night , so really puzzled why you you say many people didn't receive one)....

Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

We've just arrived home from a great week end at the Templestowe hotel. Thanks to staff and the great entertainers that gave us three wonderful evenings of entertainment especially the gala evening on Sunday, Ruby the singer, and Ben the comedian,he had us laughing all night plus the trio of dancers,a class act. Our room was clean and roomy, thanks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Templestowe. Great to know you had a wonderful fun-filled holiday. Look forward to seeing you again next year.

South Wales
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Just come back from the Templestowe Hotel there were 25 of us went and would like to Thank all the staff for a wonderful weekend .the entertainment was fantastic every night Have been many times and have always had a great time but this weekend was just fab From start to finish . The rooms were cleaned every day and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RollySouthWales
mark w, Owner at Templestowe Hotel, responded to this review

So great to have your group stay at the hotel again. It was a pleasure to look after you and wonderful to know you had such a great weekend. Can't wait to have you back in October.

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.6 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#23 of 89 in Torquay
2,527 reviews
1.0 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#35 of 89 in Torquay
2,169 reviews
0.3 km away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 89 in Torquay
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
577 reviews
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.2 km away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Torquay's Premier Entertainment Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Templestowe Hotel

Address: Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $98 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Torquay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#15 Family Hotel in Torquay
#16 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Templestowe Hotel staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question
Southampton, United Kingdom
20 days ago
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Cardiff, United Kingdom
10 days ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 months ago

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Templestowe Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try and get aroom facing the swimming pool it will aslo face Torquay Bay.”
 of 5 bubbles ErictheredPlymouth, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea view is the quiter side”
 of 5 bubbles michaelmL8267TE, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not a good idea to have a room above the ballroom if you retire early, so ask for a quiet room.”
 of 5 bubbles _chriswarner765, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the rear for sea views.”
  • View from our room (107) across the bay to Paignton and Brixham.
 of 5 bubbles CheltonianSteve, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a sea view and it was delightful.”
 of 5 bubbles wudgy40, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5