We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bay Torbay Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Bay Torbay Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

656 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bay Torbay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 656: English reviews
Montgomery, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2015

The hotel is in a good location for shops and sea front. The staff were excellent and could not be faulted. Bed linen was lovely and soft. That's all the positive comments. Many negatives include.. Dark, dingy depressing room that took me back to the 1970,s with its avocado bathroom suite, with no view of the sky and stuffy with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Andy M
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

It is with regret that you did not enjoy your recent stay at the Torbay. It is unusual to get comments such as these, as other reviewers do enjoy what we have to offer here at our hotel. I would point out that we do cater for al types of guests and we do have ramps entering our hotel and...

Reviewed 17 July 2015

We recently spent a week here with Shearings. Whilst we had a great time as Torquay and the surrounding areas are lovely not to mention gorgeous weather some aspects of the hotel could be better. Our TV had a terrible signal and we had to request new towels as they were stained! Mealtimes could do with starting earlier rather than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Serafina71
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou Serafdina71 for reviewing your stay with us. I am pleased that like so many other guests you found our location difficult to beat in Torquay. I am sorry if you encountered some issues with our staff as they are usually very highly praised for their friendliness and service. I will pass on yo9ur comments to Andy who will be...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2015

very good hotel on sea front staff good one downside if in front hotel noise gose on o early hours morning tip ask for back room handy for shops buses and taxies if you go to zoo get zooper ticket it gives you access tozoo and livinging coasts

 Report
Helpful?
Thank littlejohn424
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you littlejohn424 posting a review of your holiday at the Torbay. I am pleased that you enjoyed your break with us and that our staff looked after you and our hotel was to your satisfaction. Hopefully we will see you again in the near future.

Shropshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2015

our waiter for the week we stayed 3rd 10th july 2015 was a chap called gabel helpful is an understatement my wife has an allergy to onions so every morning at breakfast there was a hand written menu onion free to choose from which saved my wife a very uncomfortable holiday the room was comfortable.and the location was spot on

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maljones2015
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us and I am glad that you were well looked after by our staff and in particular, Gabor in our restaurant. He will be pleased to know that he looked after you and your wife and that you both enjoyed your holiday at the Torbay.

Bristol
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Noisy, and dirty room, waited so long to be sat for breakfast, asked The lovely, helpful Aaron on the front desk to help, he instantly sorted it for us to be sat. Hotel is cheap and on first appearance our room looked nice in fact decorated clean and white. However windows were so dirty, i had a job to see...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bristolbridge
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Bristolbridge for your review and its with regret that you were not happy with certain aspects of your stay. Room 200 is usually one of our most requested rooms because of the three large windows and views as well as being spacious, so it is unusual to hear of any dissatisfaction with this particular room. I will look...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2015

What a great place , the people were so helpfull and friendly . Breakfast was perfect and dinner . Clean room No complaints . we stayed half board one week Would recommend love the location and we would stay again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael97513
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Michael97513 for your review and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us. It's always good to hear that our staff and the service you received form us was well received. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to your return sometime in the near future.

Reviewed 8 July 2015 via mobile

My wife and I spent 3 nights at this hotel early July 2015. The building is nicely situated near the marina and to all local amenities. Staff very friendly and rooms more than adequate - but, and this is a BIG BUT - don't expect much with the food. Our first evening meal consisted of a starter, main course and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Shaun W
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Shaun w and thank you for posting a review of your stray and I am very glad that you enjoyed your room, service form the staff and of course our great location. I am glad that you enjoyed a hearty breakfast but am disappointed that you did not enjoy your evening meals with us. we do get some great...

Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2015

We haven't visited this hotel before, although a little research on the Internet, we decided to pay just a little extra for a sea facing room. We also paid for parking, as the hotel is right on the front, we figured that parking would be an issue. The views from the hotel room were obscured by trees and the Wheel....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank JRMorris5
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi JRMorris 5 and thank you for posting a review of your stay with us at the Torbay. I am glad that there were many parts of your holiday that you enjoyed, especially the room and service that you encountered from our staff. We have recently refurbished the restaurant and I hope that you found it agreeable, it can get...

Bendigo
Reviewed 5 July 2015

Do not expect high quality and modern. Older property with some nice upgraded rooms. Paid extra to have room facing the beach to the front of the hotel. Top floor, 4th floor but has trees all along the front so do not gain a good water view. One only lift in hotel which needs a complete upgrade. Very, very slow....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robyn1006
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Robyn1006 for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Torbay. We do invest time and money in the hotel to hopefully provide good value for money holidays and I feel that we do this very well. I am sorry if you felt that there were certain aspects of your holiday that caused...

Reviewed 4 July 2015

Arrived in torquey for Monday to Friday break .weather great ,our room 236 pretty good overlooking harbour and big wheel ,Monday night evening meal chaos I think the coaches arrived at the same time just before evening meal the waiters staff rushing about trying to do ten jobs at once waited twenty minuets for someone to take order for my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lily W
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi lily W. thank you for your review. It can get busy when everyone arrives for dinner at the same time but the staff who work very hard to look after our guests and usually receive great praise from other reviewers - as does the food, but I am sorry if on this occasion you felt it was not as...

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (140)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.5 km away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#23 of 89 in Torquay
461 reviews
0.6 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 89 in Torquay
2,383 reviews
1.0 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#37 of 89 in Torquay
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
0.8 km away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#24 of 89 in Torquay
992 reviews
1.2 km away
Livermead House Hotel
Livermead House Hotel
#50 of 89 in Torquay
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Right at the heart of beautiful Torquay, the Torbay Hotel benefits from stunning views over the lovely harbour. The hotel can be summed up as, 'grand features in warm surroundings,' and includes front-facing rooms with modern facilities - the Premier and Superior rooms are particularly desirable. It has a large ballroom, two bars, an indoor heated swimming pool and a sun terrace. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the town centre's shops, boutiques and restaurants. After two years of extensive restoration Royal Terrace Gardens (aka "Rock Walk") has been returned to its former glory with a modern day twist. Located just next to the Torbay Hotel, Rock Walk offers spectacular views across the bay, and at night when it is beautifully lit up, it makes for the perfect evening stroll. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Torbay Hotel

Address: Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $109 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Torbay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Travelocity so you can book your Bay Torbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Hotel Torquay
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Torbay Hotel staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question
birmingham
8 months ago
over a year ago
Bedford, United Kingdom
Sheffield, United Kingdom

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Torbay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“back facing are better”
 of 5 bubbles Brian-Snellgrove, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do not pay for a front facing room ask for a quiet room on first floor so you can use stairs as only one lift”
 of 5 bubbles BarbaraD566, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“pay extra for a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles witcheshouse, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best views are on the front of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles PET67H, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Front rooms have a great view of the marina.”
 of 5 bubbles Di_Traveller11, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay