We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bay Torbay Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Bay Torbay Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

644 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bay Torbay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 644: English reviews
Penzance
Reviewed 24 June 2015

We booked a short break from Friday to Monday. We travelled by train, no problem at all with a short taxi ride to the Hotel. We were delighted with the location of the Hotel, central to absolutely everything we wanted. Our very large room was obviously recently refurbished very tastefully and was extremely comfortable. Although we were on the 3rd...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Elaine G
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Elaine G for reviewing your weekend stay at the Torbay. I am really pleased that we looked after you and that you enjoyed all that we had to offer here. The location is hard to beat and it is always good to hear that the food service and our staff met your expectations. You of course are very...

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2015

Excellent position just seconds away from big wheel and promenade weather amazing hot every day......however parts of hotel leave a lot to be desired some of the rooms are appalling ,paint peeling off windows and frames falling to pieces,window old sash type wouldn't close so could hardly hear tv for traffic.we travelled in a party of 5 had 1double which...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Taylor205
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Taylor205 and thank you for posting a review of your holiday at the Torbay. We are in a fantastic location and its always better if we get the good weather too. I am glad you enjoyed one of our refurbished rooms, we are a large hotel and we are annually refurbishing where we possibly can and I am sure...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2015

This was ourl second visit to the Torbay Hotel and we were not disappointed in fact it was better than the first visit. The room was on the 1st floor and at the front of the hotel which made access a lot easier via the stairs, the lift is small and constantly in use. The only possible down side is...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Michael H
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Michael H for your review of your weekend with us at the Torbay. Its great to read that you had a lovely time and enjoyed every aspect of the stay here. Its nice to hear so many positive comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2015

We liked the fact we had a free upgrade to a superior room, great to celebrate my partners birthday, room was situated at a great area of the hotel with view of the harbour and sea and the Ferris Wheel Being treated in a rude and school like manner at breakfast. We were not advised of the protocol at breakfast,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Peter W
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Peter w and thank you for reviewing your stay with us, Firstly thanks for the kind comments regarding the accommodation and I do agree that we are located in a great position in Torquay, I am sorry that the service in the restaurant was not as it should have been, we normally receive great reviews regarding the staff, service...

Gravesend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 June 2015

We drove down from kent, arrived at hotel at 1 30 pm, we had been warned by the hotel about the parking restrictions,whent to reception lady was very helpful, collected car park card (£20.00 deposit) dropped of luggage and parked car,a good 15mins steady walk.Hotel in nice decorative order throughout our room a standard plus on the second floor was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alan H
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Alan H for your review and I am glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us. It is good to hear that you found everything to your liking and I also believe we offer great value for money holidays. Our standard plus rooms are very popular and we look forward to your return sometime in the near...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2015

The Hotel looked lovely from the outside,and we were not dissapointed.Member of staff came on our coach handed out our information pack,then went to the inside desk to get our room keys.We then were told which way to our rooms,we were on the first floor and we had a room overlooking the Marina,Promanade and a big WheeIl which you could...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank GAYLE R
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi GAYLE R. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your recent holiday with us at the Torbay. The wheel is a great addition to the town and is a very popular attraction. It is reassuring to hear that you were happy with all other aspects of the hotel, especially the food and your bedroom. We do cater for many...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2015

Stayed 26th of September 2015 for three nights, room overlooking the 'Eye' I only ventured into the dining area once for breakfast which was fine but I ate out the rest of the stay as I like to see a bit of the surrounding area like Dartmouth and Brixham. Hotel was perfectly positioned for the Town, Harbour and the ferries...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Alan L
SimonwMurray1, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Alan L and thank you for your review. I am glad that you found everything to your satisfaction, we are in a great position and hopefully we will see you here once again.

United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2015

arrived at the Torbay hotel as a sole traveller with a shearings holiday the hotel was very modern and clean lovley friendly staff fantastic views from my lovley bedroom and plenty of space around nice food cannot complain at all hotel should be a 4 star and not a 3 star in a very good place bus stop only opposite...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank orklucy72
SteveWStott, Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for the lovely feedback which is very much appreciated by me and the entire team here at the Torbay Hotel. It was our pleasure having you here and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Regards Steve Stott

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2015

This is the first coach holiday we have done and we will definitely be doing another. Our front facing room was fab. Very spacious and bed very comfortable- slept like a log. We have never shared a table at meal times but can actually say it was quite nice. The food was lovely. I have seen previous comments saying that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sue D
SteveWStott, Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sue, Thank you so much for the lovely feedback and I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay. I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Torquay. Regards Steve Stott

Portland. UK
Reviewed 4 June 2015

Well,The Torbay was not our first choice but Torquay for some reason was very busy and we have stayed there before so.. Goodness what a makeover the restaurant is so much better,much more stylish although tables are still too close for comfort lots of 'excuse me may i just get through ' sort of thing going on. Our room 2nd...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank dancingqueendorset2
SteveWStott, Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, I'm pleased to hear your room was to your liking and that you appreciate the refurbished Restaurant. I am so sorry you felt the way you did as a Self Drive guest, I can assure you it is certainly not the case that any other guests are...

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (140)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.5 km away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#22 of 89 in Torquay
456 reviews
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
1.0 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#36 of 89 in Torquay
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 89 in Torquay
2,348 reviews
0.8 km away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#24 of 89 in Torquay
972 reviews
1.2 km away
Livermead House Hotel
Livermead House Hotel
#50 of 89 in Torquay
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Right at the heart of beautiful Torquay, the Torbay Hotel benefits from stunning views over the lovely harbour. The hotel can be summed up as, 'grand features in warm surroundings,' and includes front-facing rooms with modern facilities - the Premier and Superior rooms are particularly desirable. It has a large ballroom, two bars, an indoor heated swimming pool and a sun terrace. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the town centre's shops, boutiques and restaurants. After two years of extensive restoration Royal Terrace Gardens (aka "Rock Walk") has been returned to its former glory with a modern day twist. Located just next to the Torbay Hotel, Rock Walk offers spectacular views across the bay, and at night when it is beautifully lit up, it makes for the perfect evening stroll. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Torbay Hotel

Address: Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $116 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Torbay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Torbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Hotel Torquay
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Torbay Hotel staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
birmingham
7 months ago
over a year ago
Bedford, United Kingdom
Sheffield, United Kingdom

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Torbay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we had a standard plus room on the 4th floor, I bit of road noise but otherwise quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 945jeaniem, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Front facing and high floor”
 of 5 bubbles margarets589, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Front facing rooms best for views but also sometimes has noise from night revellers!”
 of 5 bubbles LynneKenilworth, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't pay extra for a front facing room, it's noisy and you can only see trees!”
  • My sea view or tree view! Cleverly called
  • Very impressive, large room
 of 5 bubbles lulawriggles, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in room 312 at the rear which has been refurbished.”
 of 5 bubbles D8342PRdavids, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay