We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Babbacombe Hotel

TripAdvisorUSD 141*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 141*
USD 141*
USD 141*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Babbacombe Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Babbacombe Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 165: English reviews
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2015

We stayed in a room that had not yet been refurbished, it smelled 'old' but was clean and beds were comfy. The breakfast was very good. The staff were friendly. The view was amazing. The hotel felt tired, but hopefully the refurbishment will give it a new lease of life.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tina H
Yaiza, Spain
Reviewed 14 September 2015

After reading some negative comments on TripAdvisor, we were pleasantly surprised at how good the hotel was. The evening meal, at just £10 for 3 courses, was excellent value and the dining room staff could not have been more attentive or helpful. Will definitely come again. Would recommend a seaview room and ask for a refurbished bedroom to ensure you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JennyCamp
Derby
Reviewed 7 September 2015

Stayed 3 days 4th, 5th and 6th September 2015. a bit tired in places, but to be fair it was good value at 300 quid for two of us, bed and breakfast in a "Superior" double room, which was a bit small but the view was out of this world, over Lyme bay.The balcony was easily 3 times the size...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Philip060
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2015

Extremely disappointing hotel. Breakfast poor quality, service not great and the room very shabby. I would definitely not stay here or recommend this hotel! There are far higher quality places to stay in Babbacombe.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Brandy75050
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Called in with friends for a few drinks. Sat outside overlooking the bay, stunning. Happy hour had just started so more than happy to sink a few. Bitter, lager and cider included. £2.50 a pint. Well worth a try.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Warriorblue
Reviewed 25 August 2015 via mobile

Please read the FULL review! My partner and I have just come back from the Babbacombe Hotel and we had a fantastic stay WELL APART FROM THE FIRST NIGHT! We booked through Booking.com and unfortunately we we're given a below average room on the first night (Room 10) with plug sockets that didn't work, a buzzing noise that would start...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SurreyUK82
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Late booking via internet site , booked double room with sea view 1 night , due to late travel delays arrived early hours of morning , desperate for sleep , ( attending family funeral later that day), the night porter seemed to expect us , however unsure of what room that we should be in , showed us to room...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank cheryl19591990
BrettandJo, Owner at The Babbacombe Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. To clarify the confusion regarding your booking, we received the email from booking.com at 1.30am and you arrived an hour or so later at around 2.30am. As our Night Porter does not have access to the computer system he was not aware of your booking, or what room type you should be...

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2015

I had booked rooms here but am glad now that I have cancelled, the booking agency got the details wrong when I phoned to sort it out i was talked to like a child, the man on the other end who was NOT a manager kept talking over the top of me and told me it was not their problem...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lynne R
BrettandJo, Owner at The Babbacombe Hotel, responded to this review

This is a second review from the same family/reviewer as the review below and there is not a lot more to add. All I would say is that it is a great shame that Tripadvisor is abused in this way - posting multiple malicious reviews and I would urge any guests considering staying at our Hotel to ignore their comments....

Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

We made a booking for September 2015. However there was an error with our booking and therefore we called the hotel to get it sorted. Only to be met with a very rude and aggresive member of staff. Who PERSISTANTLY shouted over the top of me. Told me it was not their problem and that i was being rude and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Maria R
BrettandJo, Owner at The Babbacombe Hotel, responded to this review

Generally I would not contradict a guest review as I believe everyone is entitled to their opinion, however I feel it is a great pity that instead of using Tripadvisor for what it is intended - to provide constructive criticism for Hotels to act on and to inform other guests about what to expect, you have used it to maliciously...

clevedon
Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile

We were given a large room with a balcony over looking the sea. The hotel is in a great location with nice bar and gardens looking out to sea. The room rate was quite low, so although the room was in need of a little love this was reflected in the price so I can't complain. The food however was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kjay_7

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
2.2 km away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 88 in Torquay
600 reviews
0.5 km away
Anchorage Hotel
Anchorage Hotel
#79 of 88 in Torquay
369 reviews
0.3 km away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#88 of 88 in Torquay
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 88 in Torquay
2,674 reviews
1.0 km away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#55 of 88 in Torquay
773 reviews
2.4 km away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#33 of 88 in Torquay
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Babbacombe Hotel is situated on the Babbacombe Downs overlooking the sea, just a minutes walk to the cliff railway which takes you down to the beach. A number of our rooms have stunning sea views, some with balconies or patios. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Babbacombe Hotel

Address: The Sea Front Babbacombe Downs Road | Babbacombe Downs Road, Torquay TQ1 3LH, England (Formerly Sefton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Price Range: $120 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Babbacombe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Babbacombe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sefton Hotel Torquay
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#18 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Babbacombe Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Coventry, United Kingdom
cirencester gloustershire
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Torquay, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Babbacombe Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I believe there is a room without a window to actually see through, so make sure you ask for a room with a window you can see through.”
196helenh, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose a sea view room”
  • View from the room
  • Great view from the our room
felicianomelanie987, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Double rooms may have a sea view but only if you pay a supplement, single rooms are tiny and at the rear with little or no view.”
lynnet310, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra £5 per person a night for a sea view with balcony ..”
bhgoodwin, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“room 2 for accessibility and room 19 for gorgeous uninterrupted sea views”
alisonprobert, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
USD 141* /night
View Deal
PricelineUSD 141
Booking.comUSD 141
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates