We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all 85 hotels in Torquay

The Babbacombe Hotel

204 reviews
Save
Traveller (79)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (2)
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good32%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“sea view”(21 reviews)
“sefton hotel”(5 reviews)
“evening meal”(17 reviews)
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (204)Write a Review
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
89
65
21
7
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
89
65
21
7
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewsefton hotelevening mealfunicular railwaymodernised hotelcoach tripironing roombig showerrecommend this hotelhuge balconywonderful views over the baylovely buffetmodel villageandy oakleyoddicombe beachhotel offerscheese and biscuits
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

rude in-compassionate staff who need to learn how to smile, rude management. i really don't enjoy writing bad reviews, but when i have taken the time to write a letter to management which is ignored, then a (public) bad review is deserved.More

1  Thank mango510
Response from BPowis, Owner at The Babbacombe HotelResponded 3 days ago

Not a lot of information to respond to, I can only assume that this was an attendee at a wake (a niece), who left a hand written letter, with some comments, and which didn't appear to ask for a response, so we didn't reply. You...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel has fabulous views, however, the first thing I noticed on entering the hotel was that it smelt a bit, stale food. The room was ok they had obviously re-decorated it which was nice, although some of the furniture was a bit dated/damaged. The...More

Thank Margaret E
Response from BrettandJo, Owner at The Babbacombe HotelResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your review regarding your stay over the New Year. As you said, we have an enviable position on the Babbacombe Downs with spectacular views across to Lyme Bay. We were not aware of the hotel smelling of 'stale' food, this had not...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived on the 23 December for a Christmas break we had a lovely welcome our room was on the ground floor with a lovely wet room and a lovely sea view the broadband is first class and the food is beautifully cooked but what...More

Thank avkev
Response from BrettandJo, Owner at The Babbacombe HotelResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay over Christmas. We are glad that all aspects of your stay were exceptional and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent helpful staff, could not be faulted. Nice clean room. Superb setting. Great evening entertainment provided. It could be a wonderful hotel but was badly let down by poor dining experience. The small tables tightly crowded together, no table cloths... the dining room felt more...More

Thank Doug W
Response from BrettandJo, Owner at The Babbacombe HotelResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we are pleased that the majority of your stay met your expectations. We are sorry that the dining experience was not to your liking, as far as the tables are concerned, we very often...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived as a member of a coach tour. A member of staff boarded the coach. made us welcome and explained a few details After that was impressed by the restaurant service and quality of the food. Not luxury standard but excellent value fo money. Nothing...More

Thank alandawil
Response from BrettandJo, Owner at The Babbacombe HotelResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and the service and food in the restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345640
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Beachfront
Free Internet
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
USD 75 - USD 1,349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#16 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
USD 75 - USD 1,349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#16 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (79)
Room & Suite (25)
Dining (2)
Pool & Beach (2)
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Bathroom (5)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
wonderqirls
29 October 2017|
Answer
Response from BPowis | Property representative |
Unfortunately we can't guarantee there won't be any refurbishment in March as this is the quieter time of the year and when we tend to be refurbing/painting. All work Is carried out between 8am and 4.30pm and any noisy work... More
1
Vote
WalesTracy
13 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Diana46285 | Reviewed this property |
Hi. Yes, There was a hairdryer in the room.
1
Vote
jessbrind30
16 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from BPowis | Property representative |
The menu changes daily over a 7 day period, with 3 different starters, 4 different main courses including two meat, one fish and one vegetarian option and 4 different desert options each day, if you would like further... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Try to book a room with view of the sea"
Read review
"if you have difficulty with stairs avoid the third floor ,the lift does not reach this level"
Read review
"All rooms are decorated to a high standard"
Read review
"There a lift to all rooms"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite