We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Elfordleigh Hotel

Expedia.comUSD 98*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 98*
USD 98*
USD 98*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Elfordleigh Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

417 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Elfordleigh Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 410: English reviews
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2016

A huge thank you to management and staff for another great visit. A friendly, helpful and caring 'Team' once again resulted in my husband and I being able to relax. The weather was superb and the golf course was excellent. Paul in the pro. Shop an asset and so helpful. Gym facilities and pool lovely. The refurbishment of the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank margaret50421
mikel462, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Margaret, Thank you for your kind comments. We have recently employed a new Head Chef who has done a marvellous job for us. The refurbishment of the hotel is looking superb, we have had to put on hold anymore work until October so as we do not disturb our summer guests. We look forward to your next visit. Take...

Tavistock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

We had our wedding there on Saturday 28th May. Many of my guest stayed. Value was fantastic for everyone. Bar wasn't expensive food was lovely. Breakfast is a buffet which was lovely. Grounds are stunning. Staff really helpful especially Sarah and Sam. Half the hotel has been refurbished which is looking really good. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank farrah0502
mikel462, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Farrah, We are pleased to read that your Wedding Day was one to remember, I will ensure Sarah and Sam are made aware of your comments. All the team at the Elfordleigh work tirelessly to ensure all our events are a success. We all wish both a long and Happy Marriage. Take Care Mike Lee General Manager

Wokingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2016

We stayed for one night with our dog, we spent most of the day using the facilities such as the swimming pool, tennis, squash, golf and jacussi. The view from our room was amazing, and the place itself was quiet and relaxing. The breakfast was ok and the staff was very friendly. The one thing that could be improved on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirley K
mikel462, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shirley, Thank you for taking the time to review the Elfordleigh. We are pleased to hear that you made use of all our facilities and enjoyed your stay with us. I have taken note of your last comment, if you could contact me I would very much appreciate it . I do hope we can welcome you back to...

Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Travelling on a Bank Holiday weekend we were unable to book our hotel of choice and ended up at the Elfordleigh Hotel. It is very close to civilisation, but seems to be in the middle of nowhere. On arrival, the only thing we heard was birds, the only thing we could see was greenery. After check-in we found our rooms....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
mikel462, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Steve We are all so pleased to read that we lived up to your expectations, the team at Elfordleigh always strive to ensure our guests relax from the moment they arrive until they depart. We are only 3 miles off the beaten track but have an abundance of wildlife that visit us over the different seasons, its a pleasure...

Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

Chose this hotel for family bank holiday break based largely on availability and the reviews which indicated the hotel had been refurbished. Delighted I took the chance. The grounds are stunning and the terraces are a great space for an outside drink on returning from a day's outing (also saw deer grazing). The rooms (which are large) and common areas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pinguin
mikel462, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your review, the team at the Elfordleigh will be delighted to read your review. We have put a stop on the refurbishment now as we have a busy season ahead of us and would not want to spoil our guests peace and quiet. We are very pleased that our designers have produced a style throughout...

Maesteg, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2016

Golf weekend with three mates, not our 1st visit never disappointed, could not find fault with our stay,staff wonderful,we had four rooms which were very clean,large with bath and power shower,food excellent served by very attentive staff who were both friendly and professional, chef should be commended for quality of food produced. In the process of booking next years stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank amitalolo
mikel462, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Guys, Pleased to read that you are still enjoying the hospitality of the Elfordleigh after all these years. I am sure you noticed all our improvements from your last visit, Lounge, dining room and bedrooms have been refurbished. Yes we even have a new Chef who has made a fantastic impact on the quality of food served. We look...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed mid week for 2 nights. Location is fabulous with wooded golf course right on the door step. Very large but cold and relatively sparsely decorated rooms. Very good customer service, food was very good both for breakfast and dinner in the clubhouse.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerry_Baker
mikel462, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gerry, Thank you for your lovely review, I will ensure the Team at Elfordleigh are made aware of your kind comments. Take Care Mike Lee General Manager

Bridgwater, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

The spa is looking tired. The rest of the hotel is being renovated. The treatment a 1/2 hour back massage was lovely. But the chill out space before or after a treatment is in a corridor. I was disappointed that there was nowhere to chill out and read a book. I expected to be able to sit on a lounger....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Giggles725
mikel462, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your comments. We are looking to upgrade our changing rooms and refurbish the pool area in the near future. We have some tables and chairs now on the oasis patio area for our Spa Guests. Take Care Mike Lee General Manager

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2016

All I can say is thank you to all the staff, had a absolutely brilliant spa break. 12 people in our group friends and family ,not one of us had a complaint. We had ground floor rooms which have just been refurbished to a high standard. Three course evening meal, breakfast and afternoon tea was lovely. Will be booking again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debyork1966
mikel462, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Deb, Thank you for your fantastic comments, we are all so pleased that all your parties expectations were met. We would love for you all to visit again. I will ensure the team get a copy of your review. Prosecco on me next time. Take Care Mike Lee General Manager

Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2016

It was spa day as a present.. There were 3 attending. The place looks a little tired and although it was ok it was not as expected or as we had anticipated. The falsities were fine, the staff helpful although it varied . Refreshments were reasonable although we were offered only on choice orange juice. The meal had to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael D J
mikel462, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael, Thank you for your review, I am sorry you did not enjoy all the aspects of your day with us. I Have taken on board your comments and will ensure we discuss at our next Head of Departments meeting so as to ensure we do not repeat our mistakes. Thank You. Kind Regards Mike Lee General Manager

95 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (73)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
1.0 km away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
8.6 km away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
5.5 km away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
The Smithaleigh Hotel
The Smithaleigh Hotel
#3 of 3 in Plympton
204 reviews
8.3 km away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
593 reviews
8.4 km away
New Continental Hotel
New Continental Hotel
#12 of 21 in Plymouth
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
For that somewhere truly extra special, why look anywhere else? You are warmly invited to relax, unwind and saviour the unique atmosphere that is, the Elfordleigh. Set within spectacular South Devon countryside, yet only minutes away from the main A38, Devon Expressway and the heart of Plymouth, the Elfordleigh offers the perfect location whether your visit be business or pleasure. At Elfordleigh we pride ourselves on offering the finest food and wines. At the very heart of the hotel is the spacious and comfortable Brasserie serving light meals and tempting snacks throughout the day. Enjoy the splendid views from the Brasserie Terrace. Just a step or two away is the classically styled Churchill's Restaurant. With its adjoining airy conservatory, this elegant restaurant provides the perfect setting for fine dining, with menus to suit even the most discerning palettes. All residents have free use of the leisure centre, which includes a fully equipped gym, indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Elfordleigh Hotel

Address: Elfordleigh Colebrook, Plymouth PL7 5EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Price Range: $131 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elfordleigh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Elfordleigh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elfordleigh Hotel Plymouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Elfordleigh Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
Belfast, United Kingdom
5 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Elfordleigh Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Side of hotel have larger rooms & would be quiter unless a function on. still get a lovely view of the golf course,”
deniseannstorey, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Find a different hotel”
961MarkH, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We visited 5 rooms over the Large patio and I wouldn't want to stay in any.”
lindkaa, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“has spa and golf course”
70Maddy, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go to another Hotel”
cecilmagovern, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 98* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 98
PricelineUSD 98
Hotels.comUSD 98
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates